No Harmonic Content in Navy

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by basaristudios » Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:38 pm

Am i doing something wrong or? It is a 1KHZ Sine Wave.

Image
image host

Image
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2758
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by mathias » Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:46 pm

it is lower in level (extend the level axis in span to -140 db) and especially low, if you have input and output amps switched on together (a decision of acustica development).

for more harmonic distortion with in and out-amps together, put a second instance of navy behind the first in the chain, and activate only the outputamp in it.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude pro x3, waveform 9 (tracktion), reaper
system 2: mac osx el capitan - reaper(64bit), waveform 9 (64bit), mixbus 6

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by basaristudios » Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:54 pm

Hmmm...i will try that but if you look here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrajhxFvQ2w
its also somewhere between 1-3KHZ.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2758
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by mathias » Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:00 pm

you speak about freq, i spoke about levels.
the analyzer in the video shows much lower levels than your one ( Span) in the picture. also the inputtrim is set near 0db in the video, you have it at -24 db.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude pro x3, waveform 9 (tracktion), reaper
system 2: mac osx el capitan - reaper(64bit), waveform 9 (64bit), mixbus 6

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2758
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by mathias » Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:25 pm

by the way, i don't like your imagehoster, it keeps nagging with app-downloads :x

you can upload images directly here in the forum.
.png files work for me.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude pro x3, waveform 9 (tracktion), reaper
system 2: mac osx el capitan - reaper(64bit), waveform 9 (64bit), mixbus 6

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
DeNto
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:13 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by DeNto » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:25 pm

[quote="[email protected]"]Am i doing something wrong or? It is a 1KHZ Sine Wave.

Image
image host

Image[/

check out your input scale it's at -30 dB?! What Kind of harmonic content do you expect at -30 dB?
Turn up your intup trim!!
Aquamarine, Murano, EQP1, Green, Navy, Orange, Pearl, Titanium, Trinity Eq, Ochre, Red, Amethyst.F*******e,SPL, Drawmer,N*****n KH 310a

User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by basaristudios » Sun Dec 27, 2015 11:39 pm

I think the problem is actually in my Analyzer...because no
matter what i can not get what he gets, i just get the very
low Harmonics but nothing in the third and fourth.
The discrepancies you saw in the picture were due to the fact
i took the snapshot afterwards, i know i have to drive it to
0 or over to get some content from it.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2758
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by mathias » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:10 am

did you try with only input pre?

did you change viewable levelrange in the analyzer (SPAN). it is highly customizable.

edit: in the upper right corner of the analyzer window, where it says "mode", press "edit" and tune the analyzer-view to show lower levels.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude pro x3, waveform 9 (tracktion), reaper
system 2: mac osx el capitan - reaper(64bit), waveform 9 (64bit), mixbus 6

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by basaristudios » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:14 am

Now i finally did see...i was hiting Navy with -18dbvu Sine Wave
and there was no Harmonics. When i hit it at 0dbvu not fs then i
can see the The exact Harmonics...but...does this mean Navy has
to be hit hard to get Harmonics? 0dbvu would destroy everything, lol.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2758
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by mathias » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:17 am

not hard, but enough to get as much harmonics going, as your ears consider useful for the sound you want to achieve.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude pro x3, waveform 9 (tracktion), reaper
system 2: mac osx el capitan - reaper(64bit), waveform 9 (64bit), mixbus 6

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by giancarlo » Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:25 am

In your picture you have -24, in such case it should be rather clean. It means you are hitting the hardware at -6 even when your digital audio is 0dBFs.
I would expect a very minimal distortion

User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by basaristudios » Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:16 pm

Thanks GC.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

Mannymac
Member
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:32 am

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by Mannymac » Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:51 pm

@basarstudios

If you want to make sure you hit Acqua plugins at a good level I recommend this tool

http://www.hornetplugins.com/plugins/hornet-vu-meter/

If you switch auto gain on the audio will automatically be set to -18 dbfs RMS which is a perfect level for dynamic distortion. Then you can dial the input knobs on your acqua plugin to set the harmonic distortion as you like ;)

Don't use this with Drums!! Drums have such fast peaks that an RMS meter can't catch them and you will overload your tracks with this. But it is amazing for bass, vocals, guiatrs, synths etc!

RE301
Member
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by RE301 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:08 pm

Interesting looking plugin / tool - thanks for the link!

User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: No Harmonic Content in Navy

Post by basaristudios » Mon Dec 28, 2015 8:36 pm

Thanks Manny, i actually own few high end Meter plugins.
I never checked the Hornet VuMeters. For drums i use other
type of meters though, VU meter wont do nothing to drums.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

Post Reply