Version 1.3.7 RC [to be released on monday]

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by richie43 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:27 pm

The last I heard, the success or failure to mesh with ProTools is up to Avid to cooperate with Acustica. ProTools is so proprietary and almost cryptic, they don't make it easy for other developers to make software that works on it. Who knows, they may even invent yet another new ProTools only plugin format...... :evil:

There are so many great DAW programs these days, and many studios (even bigger studios) are either migrating or at least considering migrating out of a locked down DAW system. Not flamin' anyone, just sayin'....
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

omardiaz
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:03 pm

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by omardiaz » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:28 am

I hope those great improvements be in the cpu consumption, or we will have to wait 5 years till we have more powerfull pcs to handle a decent mix project without render 10000 times xD.

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by richie43 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:42 am

omardiaz wrote:I hope those great improvements be in the cpu consumption, or we will have to wait 5 years till we have more powerfull pcs to handle a decent mix project without render 10000 times xD.
There are some great improvements coming for CPU optimization, but realistically, Nebula/Acqua plugins will always be heavier on CPU than standard plugins. I don't think we will ever see a time where many people will have the system powerful enough, for instance, to run large and complex mixes with hundreds of heavy Nebula instances all in real-time..... rendering/freezing tracks will most likely always be part of the work-flow, in my opinion. BUT....I see this as a good thing because since Nebula is hardware emulation and for any of you who have worked with a choice piece of hardware (and remember that far back... :D ) also remember rendering/freezing/PRINTING to tape that unit so it could be used elsewhere in the mix. This need to "print" the Nebula instances forces decisions to be made, and I see that as a good thing.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by Tim Petherick » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:45 am

I can do Massive mixes at 48khz with nebula! ;)

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by richie43 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:50 am

Tim Petherick wrote:I can do Massive mixes at 48khz with nebula! ;)
Bragging is not nice, Tim....... :cry:



:mrgreen:
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by Tim Petherick » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:52 am

Sorry :oops:

I guess I'm happy with the improvements!

But I guess I'm not using many Pre's and stuff of that nature.

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by richie43 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:55 am

Tim Petherick wrote:Sorry :oops:

I guess I'm happy with the improvements!
I was just kidding. I was just defending he users that don't yet have a "nuclear" beast computer. I run some pretty large mixes, but I also render Nebula instances very early in the mix, often I batch process to make the decisions and move on. But yes, the new "engine" is working much more efficiently than even the last stable release. I am excited for people to get this and start working with it.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by Tim Petherick » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:03 am

Sure....

I think also I was trying to say that the lower sample rates do me fine for mixing in most cases, I like the quickness of it.

I'm not saying what is right or wrong but for me I like 48khz!!

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by richie43 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:07 am

Tim Petherick wrote:Sure....

I think also I was trying to say that the lower sample rates do me fine for mixing in most cases, I like the quickness of it.

I'm not saying what is right or wrong but for me I like 48khz!!
Indeed. As much as I might like higher sample rates, most of my work is still 44.1 believe it or not. I love the lessened CPU load for sure, especially with Nebula doing better and better overall.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

dwagrimm
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by dwagrimm » Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:45 am

...but 96 kHz is hard with nebula...
I believe more and more for mixes without rendering to use UAD and nebula "only" for special jobs like the mojo of real or other unique tasks. but yes, to do mixes only with nebula and without rendering is a dream and will be a dream for a long, long time.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by giancarlo » Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:08 pm

dropouts, loading time, preset loading time, background processing... everything improved a lot. Still betatesting, fixing issues, but 1.3.7 will be really a revolution.

lubomba
Member
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by lubomba » Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:48 pm

sounds good! sorry for posting here :twisted: but I was wondering if I buy nebula 3 ( I need au64bit for logic so its kind of useless right now ) can we upgrade to nebula 4 for free or do we have to buy that completely apart? can someone answer to this?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:35 pm

starting from today, when you change a preset you don't have dropouts or silenced audio any more. The audio simply goes on, without a break, anything.

User avatar
Lonnie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:30 pm

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by Lonnie » Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:41 pm

giancarlo wrote:starting from today, when you change a preset you don't have dropouts or silenced audio any more. The audio simply goes on, without a break, anything.
AWESOME! At first I thought "April Fool's Day was yesterday, maybe he's joking" but you posted April 2nd :D

Probably the wrong place to say this, but my birthday is April Fool's Day (true).

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3 .700

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:34 pm

starting betatesting for mac osx too.
Mac osx was NEVER so good. No dropouts, incredibly fast, reliable

Post Reply