New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by marcpl » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:51 pm

hi, i know that you guys have contacted avid to request the RTAS SDK but never heard back from them.
i'm guessing that's because RTAS ends with Protools 10 and will be completely replaced by the new AAX format starting with Protools 11.

so i'm wondering if you have/will contact avid again to request the new AAX SDK?

as a protools/nebula user i'm getting kind of freaked out that i'll have to decide between EITHER protools OR nebula when PT 11 finally comes around.

fxpansion hasn't updated the VST-RTAS wrapper in years so i'm thinking there's not going to be a VST-AAX wrapper.

i personally rely on both protools and nebula and can't image life without nebula at this point...i just can't give it up now.

so anyway, is there a chance of seeing nebula AAX support in the future?

thanks,
marco

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2758
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by mathias » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:09 pm

neverending protools-horror ....... :roll:
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude pro x3, waveform 9 (tracktion), reaper
system 2: mac osx el capitan - reaper(64bit), waveform 9 (64bit), mixbus 6

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by giancarlo » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:36 pm

I'm almost sure we'll not support this new format. Moving all the code to texas would be a serious pain, we are a little company. Development costs are high, and I'm not sure about the future of the platform

marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by marcpl » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:41 pm

that's what i was afraid of.
and, yes, avid is a horror!

thanks for the info.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by giancarlo » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:52 pm

yes don't get me wrong, avid is a great company. But we have a different philosophy, if I close my eyes I see the word "native" only
Cuda was an exception, but just because new cpu will include a gpu inside, so gpu are an other piece of future. My forecasts in the past turned out right: I forecasted iphone and ipad several years before they were released by apple
The future? cloud + social + streaming + geolocalization + remote centralized repositories + etherogeneous devices sharing the paid content (watches, glasses...)

marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by marcpl » Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:27 am

i've been using protools for 16 years and it's a great DAW but i'll have to respectfully disagree with you about avid being a great company.

acustica audio is a great company. avid, not so much.
but i should really save the avid bashing for the DUC and gearslutz.

marco

joshnur
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:59 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by joshnur » Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:49 am

Choice made for me (see the Off-Topic PT 10 thread) and it's not Pro Tools. I got tired of it. It will be either Reaper or Logic or Samplitude.
marcpl wrote:as a protools/nebula user i'm getting kind of freaked out that i'll have to decide between EITHER protools OR nebula when PT 11 finally comes around.

joshnur
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:59 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by joshnur » Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:53 am

:lol:

Death of Avid...

OccupyAvid

Threads here:
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/pro-tools-10-hdx/

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2861
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by enriquesilveti » Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:45 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W10 1803 | OSX 10.13.6 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 GB SSD)
SP4 (W10 1903 | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 GB SSD)
Digiface Dante | Lyra2 | Rednet AM2
VM U18 | VM W10 1803 | VM OSX 10.13
N4/NAT4 | SPX4 | RX7 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT2019 | PX11 | NIK5

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by richie43 » Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:38 pm

enriquesilveti wrote:Time for think about Pyramix, http://www.merging.com/products/show?product=1

....or Reaper......
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

dwagrimm
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by dwagrimm » Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:47 pm

...sorry but Pyramix of Merging is at the moment far away to be a useful daw. It`s a great tool if you only record audio trax or for mastering. The last update supports at first time the 64 bit computers (after years) but up to date no 64 bit plug ins. No Vsti support or Vsti tracks. Whatever they is possible an interesting tool in one or more years. Solid but useless for the most of us at the moment...
...and ProTools himself...is killing himself??? or I`m foolish and so wrong... :shock:

marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by marcpl » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:23 pm

in case anyone else was losing sleep over this...here's a post that angus of fxpansion made on their forum:

"Yes. We are working on a major rev to VST-RTAS to support PT10 (and AAX, and some other goodies!). More news soon."

http://www.fxpansion.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=74721

what a relief!
it's not as good as nebula supporting AAX but i'll take it.

tomvogi
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:34 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Post by tomvogi » Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:36 pm

giancarlo wrote:I'm almost sure we'll not support this new format. Moving all the code to texas would be a serious pain, we are a little company. Development costs are high, and I'm not sure about the future of the platform
Sean Costello (Valhalla DSP) mentioned that it would be possible that one could release AAX-native plugins only.. I think this would be a great thing for ProTools users.

I understand and support your decision to leave old technology like HDX behind.... this is certainly nothing you should invest any ressources into.

Post Reply