Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using OSX

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
jeffbdavis
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:11 am

Re: Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using

Post by jeffbdavis » Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:50 pm

I've been on the fence about upgrading to server for a while. I really need 64bit VST so I can upgrade to Mountain Lion, etc. But, hearing things like this is very discouraging. :(

greekpeet
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using

Post by greekpeet » Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:29 pm

Also, there is a major issue with a 'fragmentation issue' which will result in a crash after using...

...1.2 GB with the 32bit version.

Thats right, according to Gian, you can NOT use or load more than 1.2 GB of libraries without it crashing.

So performance is actually worse.
Why is this not even being mentioned to users?

Also, I'm a very laid back guy that does not get angry over trivial matters at all. If something makes me angry, its for a good darn reason.

To say I'm pissed is an understatement.

To pay extra and have worse performance with the illusion of it being able to 'share' resources.

I know this is a small company that rolls things their own way, I get that, but this is borderline false advertising.

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using

Post by andiw » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:55 pm

I'm with you greekpeet. Bought also the server for Mac and cannot use it now. 50€ down the drain ...

It's a shame that we Mac users are treated like that :shock:

There's no development and the attitude from Acustica Audio is like .. :?

The problem is: I absolutely love Nebula! I don't wanna use anything else in my mixes ... :cry:
my music: aj-guitar.com

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using

Post by giancarlo » Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:11 am

server version is not ram limited if you open the server app before starting your audio host...

User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada
Contact:

Re: Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using

Post by jelmet » Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:19 am

Sorry to read that...
:/
I think I'll hold upgrading for a while...

yanickwalker
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:18 am

Re: Is upgrading to Server from Nebula Pro 3 worth it, using

Post by yanickwalker » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:50 am

64 bit for mac please please please please please!!! :cry:

Post Reply