Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by gege » Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:53 am

Hello everyone,

I promised updates so here it is the last one I can give before Audio Acustica tells me if they want to use my beta wrapper solution, and when they'll fix the problem with 64bits of Nebula unable to load third party libraries with authorization (like Analoginthebox), because it's something they need to do on their source code.

Be sure to arrive at the end...there's a SURPRISE ALSO FOR ALL PRO TOOLS USERS!!


Going back to Logic..my beta AU 64bit works very well, with two glitches:

1) it passes without problems Logic validation, but the very first time it validates Logic crashes (at least on my system, Logic 9 latest version and OSX 10.6.8)

2) intense use of the graphic interface causes crashes (this is again a problem present, even if less, also in the original VST 64bit). Most of all using the 'lcd screen' of Nebula with Mast in 'guru mode' and changing between Prog/Mast/Kern too fast or too many times in a short time lapse, or keeping several Nebula plugins windows open at the same time, or changing many patches very quickly etc.
The very important and positive news is that this is not affected by moving slider/encoders, only and mainly using the 'lcd screen'.

I found a few ways around this problem: mainly keeping the MAST page to simple and non guru (when not needed) and use the plugin in a kind of 'relaxed' and cautious way. It also helps changing the GUI refresh value to something very fast (5ms) or very slow (150ms).


As I wrote previously, I was able to do sessions of hours without a crash, but also to crash it quickly for too intense/fast use of interface..if you use it like me mainly to give some 'colour' or 'character' here and there it's going to be rare to crash. But it's to be considered anyway a BETA stage (like is also the 64bit VST it's based on), so FREQUENT SAVING is important.

With the wrapper is also very easy to pack several versions of the plugin, with different names and graphics/settings (it makes much easier to read on the mixer if you are using Nebula for compressing, eq, colour, reverbs etc.

Image

http://i50.tinypic.com/16m7l3k.png (full image)

And now...another surprise for all Pro Tools users (the other half of professional music world). It's very possible to use Nebula as RTAS in Pro Tools 9 (tested here in screenshot). Like with the AU version, there are several other big plugin manufacturers developing in VST and then having their own 'modified' wrappers that work perfectly with their own plugins..and they can develop/mantain/update only one version being sure it will work then in VST/AU/RTAS.

Like with the AU, some research, test, hexediting and recompiling created a 100% WORKING RTAS of Nebula 3 server:

Image

http://i46.tinypic.com/2laxzk4.png (full image)

This is all in all the same identical thing of the VST 32bit, and no...I did not use Fxpansion vst2rtas, but I cannot say/publish what I did before talking with guys at AA with this one because it uses some potentially propietary systems.


From what I heard we should expect some big good news from Acustica Audio this year, but I still think the most important thing should be in the meantime to fix all big bugs and to make the plugin available on all platforms.


Post here your comments, make your voice loud..it is very possible to make this all available to all customers, I did my part but now it's really the turn of AA to put their effort into making an official AU 64bit and Pro Tools RTAS :)

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by andiw » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:25 pm

I'm running the Mac server 64bit beta with Studio One 2 and it sometimes crashes. This is the error report (if it is helpful to anyone):

Oh, and I cannot load any protected programs with it (aitb)...
0 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x000000012210c850 VSTGUI::CViewContainer::drawRect(VSTGUI::CDrawContext*, VSTGUI::CRect const&) + 756
1 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x000000012210ced0 VSTGUI::CFrame::drawRect(VSTGUI::CDrawContext*, VSTGUI::CRect const&) + 346
2 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x00000001220f61f5 non-virtual thunk to VSTGUI::CFrame::platformDrawRect(VSTGUI::CDrawContext*, VSTGUI::CRect const&) + 21
3 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x00000001221075d9 VSTGUI::NSViewFrame::drawRect(CGRect*) + 289
4 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923ae220 -[NSView _drawRect:clip:] + 4437
5 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923ab093 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 3058
6 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923abb24 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 5763
7 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923abb24 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 5763
8 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923abb24 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 5763
9 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff924fa08b -[NSNextStepFrame _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 286
10 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923a5e4d -[NSView _displayRectIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:] + 4675
11 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236fd73 -[NSView displayIfNeeded] + 1830
12 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff924f9f44 -[NSNextStepFrame displayIfNeeded] + 84
13 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236f2ac _handleWindowNeedsDisplayOrLayoutOrUpdateConstraints + 738
14 com.apple.Foundation 0x00007fff8e8d7513 __NSFireTimer + 96
15 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff9601cda4 __CFRUNLOOP_IS_CALLING_OUT_TO_A_TIMER_CALLBACK_FUNCTION__ + 20
16 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff9601c8bd __CFRunLoopDoTimer + 557
17 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff96002099 __CFRunLoopRun + 1513
18 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff960016b2 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 290
19 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff90fd80a4 RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 209
20 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff90fd7e42 ReceiveNextEventCommon + 356
21 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff90fd7cd3 BlockUntilNextEventMatchingListInMode + 62
22 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236c613 _DPSNextEvent + 685
23 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236bed2 -[NSApplication nextEventMatchingMask:untilDate:inMode:dequeue:] + 128
24 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff92363283 -[NSApplication run] + 517
25 com.presonus.cclgui 0x00000001012efd1d non-virtual thunk to CCL::UserInterface::runEventLoop() + 45
26 com.presonus.studioone2 0x0000000100001ab5 0x100000000 + 6837
27 com.presonus.studioone2 0x000000010008043c 0x100000000 + 525372
28 com.presonus.studioone2 0x0000000100001974 start + 52
my music: aj-guitar.com

User avatar
cpwade
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by cpwade » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:31 pm

gege wrote:Hello everyone,

I promised updates so here it is the last one I can give before Audio Acustica tells me if they want to use my beta wrapper solution making an official AU 64bit and Pro Tools RTAS :)

Oh man... this is amazing! Come on G, let him release it!! I'll buy it again if you do!

gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by gege » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:34 pm

Hi Andiw,


that's exactly the problem, Giancarlo is now aware of the problem causing the crash and also of the bug for protected libraries.

There will be soon a beta release in AU 64bit for all Logic users, it will have as well the same problems of the VST 64bit beta but at least there will be a 64bit for Logic users, and when Giancarlo will sort out the bugs both versions will work without problems :)

Thanks for your logs, it confirms me it's not Logic problem but a problem of the VST 64bit on Mac...the same error/crash/log happens in Reaper.


About Pro Tools don't know what will happen...I gave them all details how I obtained my 32bit RTAS working perfectly..now it's up to them I imagine..I can't release these things myself but they're very keen on working on those. AU 64bit confirmed soon..RTAS Pro Tools if I'll know something I'll let you know! It's 32bit but it's as stable as the VST and the AU.

User avatar
cpwade
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by cpwade » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:01 pm

Thank you very much for your efforts! I look forward to this new release. Avid, I'm less excited, as I think they charge a license fee to the dev as well. I hope it works out though, I'm a PT guy all the way.

Thank you again Gege!

jus11
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:31 am

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by jus11 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:08 pm

gege wrote:Hi Andiw,
There will be soon a beta release in AU 64bit for all Logic users, it will have as well the same problems of the VST 64bit beta but at least there will be a 64bit for Logic users, and when Giancarlo will sort out the bugs both versions will work without problems :)

AU 64bit confirmed soon...
This is brilliant, thanks again!

gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by gege » Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:18 pm

Hello everyone,

being through another intensive mixing session, I can post here some more updates about the AU64bit.

First of all the good news is that from my tests seems much lighter on cpu than the same plugin/program/setting used with the Au32bit bridged..that's surprising and very promising for when the bugs will be amended.

I think it's important to remember here that there's a 64bit Mac version ONLY for the Nebula Server at the moment, don't know if AA will do one of the Pro..anyway I can say the server version seems to be more efficient (and now I don't work or earn money from AA!).


In terms of crashes, it's very random..sometimes it goes for hours, sometimes it crashes after loading a program. All recommendation of use that I posted before are still valid, and in the end I found myself using the 32bit bridged if I need to audition several programs (or to tweak/edit/save the program inner settings), but when I know what I need and it's just about tweaking a program or just having the sound I load the AU64bit and no crashes at all :)


AITB are aware now that their password protected libraries don't work with Nebula Server 64bit on Mac, hopefully very soon AA will fix this and the graphic interface issues/crashes..and the dream of all Logic users will be completely true! In the meantime let's hope the AU64bit will arrive soon in the downloads for everyone.

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by tonedeaf » Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:39 pm

hi Gege and everyone

Thanks for the amazing work u are doing, I have been following the post closely.

I do have an off topic question perhaps you or someone could help me out..

I made a post in the don't Panic threat, but as the guys are always busy so I will try my luck here as well to see if anyone can help me out.. Here goes:

I am on mac Osx 10.6.8, 64bits, running nebula server VST 64bits in Reaper version 4, which is also at 64 bits.

As I understand from following your posts, serting graphics rate to either shortes 5ms or 150ms to avoid crashes. But I am still experiencing crash and at time very often. Sometimes as soon as I re-load the project, nebula instantly crash reaper when I try to touch anything nebula.. This could happen 3-4 times in a row.

I am fairly heavy on nebula. I pretty much use 90% nebula and freezing each track as I go... I try to work slow, so every time I want to touch anything nebula, I will wait about 20 secs in between actions.. Its slowing my work flow down, but as long as it stop the crash I am willing to try... but still no luck.

What else can I do to minimis the crash?? Will a re-install work? Is there something I can send u to check it out? XML?

I am moving all my programs and vectors to another hard drive, hope this will help.. I have not tested it yet..

Also I have gone through all the Nebula tips of the month and tip, #16 seems like an interesting post..

"Conclution: Using x86/x64 bridge with Nebula local server you will able to use all OS RAM plus AA CUDA bridge at x64. Use x86/x86 bridge with Nebula local server in a x64 OS has no sense".

So can I assume that from the tips that I should be running 64bits OS, 32bits DAW and 32bits Nebula Server and take advantage of the local server bridge to solve my issue mention above?

I have 20Gs of Rams at the moment, so by doing this, I can still take advantage of all the rams?

Am correct in assuming this?

Sorry for the long post and I know it's kinda like a double post, but I am trying to solve it as we speak and any help would help greatly...

Thanks everyone!

gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by gege » Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:12 pm

Very quick reply.


First of all I think the tip is just telling you that using the 64bit local server you can 'override' the 32bit limit of ram access because all sessions will share memory and will rely on server, and most of all I think it's referring to Windows mainly.

You are using a 64bit daw and plugin, so for you does not really change to load or not to load the local server (from tests here it does not change), and yes you can access your ram without problems.


For your crashes, not much can be done...Giancarlo has to fix the code of the VST because it contains some bugs in the graphics/events handling. I sent him detailed logs, he said he'll work on it...once that will be fixed crashes will disappear. Not much you can do, if not try the things I listed or adapt them to your local configuration/situation.

I noticed that it does not matter how heavy you are on Nebula, but for sure I noticed that Reaper is VERY unstable, I used it only to test the VST 64bit and even with a single track and one Nebula it crashed much more than Logic or Pro Tools (both using the same VST and even wrapped!)...so I suppose part of your more frequent crashes could be a combination of the Nebula 64bit bug that somehow is even worse in Reaper?


Moving programs/vectors does not change and does not interact with the bug...I used up to 20 Nebula sessions in the same VERY COMPLEX project and never had a crash opening the project or just keeping Nebula plugins working in realtime without leaving them open. The only crashes were due to frequent program changes or graphic interaction with the Nebula display...but all this in Logic, Reaper seem to me much more unstable and unable to handle very well heavy loads (it seems to use a sort of external 'shell container' system for plugins).

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by tonedeaf » Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:22 pm

Thanks for your reply gege...

hmmmm I went from Logic to Reaper because of the AU 64bits bridge crashing... And AA mention Reaper is what they test the plugin on...

I guess its back to try and error again to get the best balance.. lol

Thank you Gege once again got answering my question... :)

gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by gege » Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:18 pm

No problem...in terms of VST Reaper is a good choice in alternative to Cubase or Nuendo (the latter much better but more expensive).

In terms of AU, Logic has no possible competitor...and I personally think is still by far the best and most complete (and industry standard) DAW together with Pro Tools (but only from version 9 and if HD, without the stupid limitations of other formats).

I personally think today you cannot release a plugin if it does not work perfectly in Cubase, Logic and Pro Tools.

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by tonedeaf » Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:06 am

totally Agree with what u said Gege

I have both Logic and Reaper and personally I love mixing on Reaper.. sigh just got to wait and see I guess...

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by tonedeaf » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:51 am

Does anyone know is it possible to switch programs to kern mode offline? I try to look in the xml, I am not sure if I could see anything related... perhaps if this is possible I have one less thing to mess with on Nebula..

thanks all

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by giancarlo » Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:15 am

no you can't....

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Post by andiw » Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:59 pm

Hey Giancarlo,

any progress on fixing the bug not being able to load protected programs?

I'm on Mac with Studio One 64bit and bought the Server just for this reason. Now I'm not able to use my aitb programs. But I want to mix my next song in the next days .... :?
my music: aj-guitar.com

Post Reply