Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
kenbobplus3db
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:58 pm

Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by kenbobplus3db » Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:42 am

Noticing a couple things with the Cobalt EQ:

The manual describes the input gain control as being gain compensated at the output. This does seem to be the actual behavior. Turning the input gain down reduces signal gain at the output.

A second behavior that bears investigation: activating the pre-amp results in a 6db gain drop- which makes comparing the signal with pre and without sort of difficult.

Otherwise, let me congratulate you on a very musical and fat-sounding EQ.

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3939
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by RJHollins » Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:24 am

What plugin format are you using ?
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

kenbobplus3db
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:58 pm

Re: Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by kenbobplus3db » Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:24 pm

This would be VST 64b os versions in Windows7 OS. Running on Magix Sequoia.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2702
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by mathias » Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:04 pm

which samplerate are you running at?
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

kenbobplus3db
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:58 pm

Re: Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by kenbobplus3db » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:33 pm

At 96k and 44k the preamp insert seems to work at unity gain. Input gain is not compensated as per the manual- {this may be an error in the manual).

At 48k the inserting the preamp results in a 6 db drop. I do have the upgrade pack installed in the same vst directory as the Cobalt EQ. Also input gain trim is not compensated.

At 88k engaging the preamp throws a "please authorize this plugin" error. Aquarius reports plugin authorized, and re-authorizing it does not clear the error on a new initiation of the plugin. This is weird because running the Cobalt Compressor at 88k has no such difficulty when inserting the pre-amp.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2702
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by mathias » Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:34 am

confirmed and reported.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3589
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: Gain Bug in Cobalt EQ?

Post by Support » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:16 pm

kenbobplus3db wrote:At 96k and 44k the preamp insert seems to work at unity gain. Input gain is not compensated as per the manual- {this may be an error in the manual).

At 48k the inserting the preamp results in a 6 db drop. I do have the upgrade pack installed in the same vst directory as the Cobalt EQ. Also input gain trim is not compensated.

At 88k engaging the preamp throws a "please authorize this plugin" error. Aquarius reports plugin authorized, and re-authorizing it does not clear the error on a new initiation of the plugin. This is weird because running the Cobalt Compressor at 88k has no such difficulty when inserting the pre-amp.
Please, open a support ticket.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

Post Reply