SAND out now!

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
nicolasmasset
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:51 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by nicolasmasset » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:02 pm

Don't know if this has been asked before, but how would one use SAND to truly go all out console emulation?

Doesn't Alex B's emulations have like a gazillion presets for everything possible on the console, like: line in, Pre, Sum, Bus line in, Master bus line in, etc...

When using sand on tracks, would I go:

Sand Mix A (to get in the console so to speak)
Sand Mic A (to get to the mic pre)
Sand Eq
Sand Comp
Sand Mix A (again? As a sort of summing output per channel?)

Is there any suggested workflow regarding this to get the most realistic console emulation? I know there's a channel strip, but on the channel strip you have to choose between Mix or Mic, though I would've thought you would need both, one to enter the console, and one to use the mic pre?

------

Or If I would want to use a Lime N**e Pre for my kick drum for instance, would I go:

Lime Mic A (as first thing when "tracking" so to speak)
Sand Mix A (to get in the console line level)
Sand EQ
Sand Comp
Sand Mix A (for summing to master bus)

User avatar
davidgary73
Expert
Expert
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:08 am

Re: SAND out now!

Post by davidgary73 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:37 am

nicolasmasset wrote:Don't know if this has been asked before, but how would one use SAND to truly go all out console emulation?
Full console emulation (Mixing):
Sand Mic A (mic pre) > Sand Eq > Sand Comp on tracks.
Sand Bus > Group Bus
Sand Mix A > Masterbuss.

Lime Pre for kick drum with SAND (Summing)
Lime Mic A (first insert for "tracking")
Sand Mic A (optional if you want more color)
and add Sand Mix A > Masterbuss.
MacPro 2 x 2.4 Ghz 6 Core Intel Xeon • 28GB Ram • Logic Pro X 10.4.6 • OSX 10.13.6 • VEP 6 • Console 1 •


Please join us - Facebook Acustica Audio Official Group page @ https://www.facebook.com/groups/2161186247437661/

nicolasmasset
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:51 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by nicolasmasset » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:33 pm

Thanks

namooz
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:07 am

Re: SAND out now!

Post by namooz » Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:48 am

I would like to know why Sand uses less processing power than some of the Aquas when used as individual plugins. Only 1% / instance on my old mac (the eq w/2 instances). Amethyst needs much more, for example. Cool.

User avatar
DavideBurattin
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:36 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: SAND out now!

Post by DavideBurattin » Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:02 am

namooz wrote:I would like to know why Sand uses less processing power than some of the Aquas when used as individual plugins. Only 1% / instance on my old mac (the eq w/2 instances). Amethyst needs much more, for example. Cool.
Amethyst is continuous, this costs in terms of CPU.

namooz
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:07 am

Re: SAND out now!

Post by namooz » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:32 am

Thanks. Can you explain, continuous?

Synonym Music
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 8:34 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Synonym Music » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:26 am

No steps for controls. Gain and frequency selection etc are continuously variable, they don't "snap" to values.

namooz
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:07 am

Re: SAND out now!

Post by namooz » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:07 am

Ah! Thank you!

Post Reply