SAND out now!

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: SAND out now!

Post by ngarjuna » Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:51 pm

Acustica actually did explain it:

The product that they developed and released is Sand, a channel strip which features all of the sub-modules in question.
Sometime after the release they had this idea (based on feedback) that they could offer improved performance to people with low resource machines by offering these standalone sub-modules. But the whole point of the standalones is offer users the bare minimum of the sub-module in order to fully reduce that load.

I get why people want an internal side chain anyway, it makes sense that you would ask; I also get (and more or less agree with) Acustica's reasoning that one should either externally filter the sidechain or just use Sand, the actual product. Doesn't really seem like such a horrible compromise. And if people keep rewarding Acustica's really good decisions (like breaking these down into components, something they didn't have to do) with constant complaints they could just stop doing cool stuff like that.

User avatar
be a gorilla
Member
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by be a gorilla » Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:15 pm

ngarjuna wrote:Acustica actually did explain it:

The product that they developed and released is Sand, a channel strip which features all of the sub-modules in question.
Sometime after the release they had this idea (based on feedback) that they could offer improved performance to people with low resource machines by offering these standalone sub-modules. But the whole point of the standalones is offer users the bare minimum of the sub-module in order to fully reduce that load.

I get why people want an internal side chain anyway, it makes sense that you would ask; I also get (and more or less agree with) Acustica's reasoning that one should either externally filter the sidechain or just use Sand, the actual product. Doesn't really seem like such a horrible compromise. And if people keep rewarding Acustica's really good decisions (like breaking these down into components, something they didn't have to do) with constant complaints they could just stop doing cool stuff like that.
what he said!
the fab4 as plus is great. the fab4comp have external sidechain, also great!
for me if i need hp in a sidechain i will most of time do it with an eq. much more flexible with imho better results. so if need so, i take the whole strip. if i just want to duck something i go for fab4. and i'm on an old machine.
Last edited by be a gorilla on Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Phelix
Member
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Phelix » Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:20 pm

Among other people I’ve also requested int. sc.

Closest answer I have found would be:
http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... 00#p107109

But the AA concept about splitting up strips, have come a long way since then.

To my understanding the independent units is no longer just free reduced add-on. They have become an new important part of a comprehensive solution, to satisfy different types of workflow, machine power, etc.
.
Ableton⎜Studio One⎜Reaper⎜VST2⎜macOS10.13⎜[email protected]/32GB⎜RME ADI-2 Pro⎜ATC

User avatar
jammer2nd
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:53 am
Location: London UK

Re: SAND out now!

Post by jammer2nd » Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:22 pm

jammer2nd wrote:
Also as ticketed, Pre4 asking for authorisation and eq4 not responding to mouse move and reset after mouse click, I CANT USE THEM BY THEMSELVES they were ok after install but now dont work

Will post youtube video soon to demonstrate :roll:
ok guys, the fault was all mine I currently use 48khz 16 bit but didnt think when downloading (drugs are bad)

everything working fine thank you
PINK BUNDLE, HONEY, NAVY, SAND+Fab4, pEArL2, Diamond
Win 10 / Reaper i7 479x, 8GB sdd (apps), 2 x ide (data)

User avatar
jfjer379
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by jfjer379 » Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:35 pm

im not ungrateful, not at all

im just seeing a missed opportunity

not everybody is as fortunate as me and have a i7 5820k or better to play with
so i do not only speak for my self

full Sand also has a serious flaw that limit the instances to 20
after that the computer crash even i barely hit 30% of my CPU
even if i bypass all those 20 instances its impossible to add anything Acqua after it

the Sand thread on GS is full of reports of the exact instance problem

from a sales point i would say it would be a vice decision to add a internal sidechain :)

im positive it would add more sales for Sand
as it also would add more value
and it would be darn practical :)
the Sand FAB4 will also be a more attractive deal for those who buy Sand later after the presales
which will lead to more funds for AA
and better reviews in magazines that will also lead to more sales

is that really not worth it ?
adding a simple internal sidechain that makes Sand+FAB4 as a whole a much better plugin package ?
it would simply be a better product

i would even buy a AA standalone G comp with internal sidechain that has nothing to do with Sand
if that is what it takes
im i clear enough how bad i want this hehe :lol:

there are many places i would like to use only the comp
but i need the internal sidechain

i like G comp on my 2nd bus but not the rest of Sand
the full sand eats resources even in bypass
Last edited by jfjer379 on Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:18 pm, edited 3 times in total.
I7 5820k • RME • Audient • Reaper64 • Win7 64 • Amethyst • Coral • Ebony • El Rey • Emerald • Gold • Honey • Ivory • Lemon • Lime • Magenta • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Ruby • Sand • Tapue • Titanium • Virgo • White2 • N3s • N4

User avatar
jammer2nd
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:53 am
Location: London UK

Re: SAND out now!

Post by jammer2nd » Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:57 pm

[email protected] wrote:im not ungrateful, not at all

im just seeing a missed opportunity

not everybody is as fortunate as me and have a i7 5820k or better to play with
so i do not only speak for my self

full Sand also has a serious flaw that limit the instances to 20
after that the computer crash even i barely hit 30% of my CPU
even if i bypass all those 20 instances its impossible to add anything Acqua after it

the Sand thread on GS is full of reports of the exact instance problem

from a sales point i would say it would be a vice decision to add a internal sidechain :)

im positive it would add more sales for Sand
as it also would add more value
and it would be darn practical :)

i would even buy a AA standalone G comp with internal sidechain that has nothing to do with Sand
if that is what it takes
im i clear enough how bad i want this hehe :lol:

there are many places i would like to use only the comp
but i need the internal sidechain

i like G comp on my 2nd bus but not the rest of Sand
the full sand eats resources even in bypass
+1 Internal Side chain, it makes sense
PINK BUNDLE, HONEY, NAVY, SAND+Fab4, pEArL2, Diamond
Win 10 / Reaper i7 479x, 8GB sdd (apps), 2 x ide (data)

harmonik
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:06 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by harmonik » Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:11 pm

How many kernels are used for Sand eqs and preamps? And is it consistent across Acquas?

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: SAND out now!

Post by markgalup » Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:19 pm

markgalup wrote:Hey all,

Just noticed that on the first mix I've done with Sand Fab4, the BusA Pre in both standalone and full version of Sand on the 2mix is popping in that dark digital sample drop way, even with just bass going through it peaking around -23dB.

Session is at 48k and I'm using the most recent installation.

Anyone experiencing this? Any thoughts AA?
Reposting due to no response.
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:30 pm

4 harmonics, 5 kernels. Yes it is consistent

User avatar
jfjer379
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by jfjer379 » Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:47 pm

are you guys updating the SANDFAB4 folder in our dashboards or something ?
i cant open it
i can assess all my plugins from the dashboard except sand so its not the browser

i can even access the Sand trial
but not the full version hehe

same thing happens when i try the same thing on Mac
I7 5820k • RME • Audient • Reaper64 • Win7 64 • Amethyst • Coral • Ebony • El Rey • Emerald • Gold • Honey • Ivory • Lemon • Lime • Magenta • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Ruby • Sand • Tapue • Titanium • Virgo • White2 • N3s • N4

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3676
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Support » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:10 am

[email protected] wrote:are you guys updating the SANDFAB4 folder in our dashboards or something ?
i cant open it
i can assess all my plugins from the dashboard except sand so its not the browser

i can even access the Sand trial
but not the full version hehe

same thing happens when i try the same thing on Mac
No problems today here, but box.com were reporting issues this week. https://status.box.com/
Best regards,
Acustica Audio help-desk service and support.
https://www.acustica-audio.com/
Acustica Audio is a trademark of Acusticaudio SRL.

To contact Acustica Audio support go to the ‘Support’ in your Acustica Audio account.
We do not provide support via social networks, public forums, Acustica Audio forums, or email accounts.

User avatar
Thierr7
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Thierr7 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:40 am

I can't access "SAND+FAB4" download in my dashboard either since yesterday .

I thought you were updating and was happy abt that because i had serious issues with FAB4 in Reaper and tested in S1 too with same issues ...

I know shit happens and the fact that you guys decided lately to release Single plugins out of SAND (which is a great idea btw )probably didn't get much Beta Testing time .

So , can we expect an Upgrade Soon ?

PS : I don't dare mixing with any FAB4 plugins for it ruined several almost finished Mixes for a Demo i have to deliver soon.

Cheers and congrats again for SAND ;)

EDIT : It's the very first time i came across bad bugs since i use most of your releases and i use them a lot !

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:56 am

Open a ticket, an other user reported the same

User avatar
Thierr7
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Thierr7 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:26 pm

Thanks Giancarlo , I did a couple of days ago ...

Avgatzeblouz
Expert
Expert
Posts: 537
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:13 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Avgatzeblouz » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:07 pm

Do you know when the final version will be released ?
Samplitude Pro X3 suite - Sequoia 14 / Windows 10 pro x64 / Pearl / Titanium / N4 / Pink / Pink compressors / Prime Comp+Mix+Curve + Caribou comp + Black Eq + Black comp / Sand / Lime / Acquamarine / Emerald / Ultramarine / Silk / Gold / Cobalt / Ebony / Ivory / BlueEQ / Lemon / Magenta / Azure

Post Reply