SAND out now!

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Mannymac
Member
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:32 am

Re: SAND out now!

Post by Mannymac » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:35 pm

Will we be able to buy the compressor as a stand alone?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:43 pm

No...

User avatar
tumburu
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by tumburu » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:52 pm

I completely understand the reason to keep it simple. Less headache, less work. But TBH, the internal HP filter is not just 'keeping adding things', it is the most requested feature (and a basic one nowadays) in bus type compressors (yours included).

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:12 pm

This compressor for most of cases doesn't need it.
We are doing it that way, feel free to use or not!
My target is a nice addon, maybe addressed to the ones buying in presale. It is not the tool. It is a free nice addon.
For the normal task (a bus compressor) the whole sand is not overkill, cpu load is reasonable even on old computers for few bus channels.

User avatar
DeNto
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:13 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: SAND out now!

Post by DeNto » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:18 pm

@ Giancarlo: Whats going on with this crazy "no Sound" bugs by switching the pre amps ?
Crazy but on one mix this happens and on a Mastertrack not...sam pro x here...
Aquamarine, Murano, EQP1, Green, Navy, Orange, Pearl, Titanium, Trinity Eq, Ochre, Red, Amethyst.F*******e,SPL, Drawmer,N*****n KH 310a

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:20 pm

There will be an update tomorrow in the morning (I hope both Windows and Mac). If the problem persist just contact support.
Tomorrow I'll spend the whole day on a crash bug raised on mac osx, maybe related with your exact issue.

User avatar
DeNto
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:13 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: SAND out now!

Post by DeNto » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:36 pm

giancarlo wrote:There will be an update tomorrow in the morning (I hope both Windows and Mac). If the problem persist just contact support.
Tomorrow I'll spend the whole day on a crash bug raised on mac osx, maybe related with your exact issue.
Thank you. I 'm sure you'll solve this ;)

Best regards from Stuttgart
Aquamarine, Murano, EQP1, Green, Navy, Orange, Pearl, Titanium, Trinity Eq, Ochre, Red, Amethyst.F*******e,SPL, Drawmer,N*****n KH 310a

User avatar
tumburu
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by tumburu » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:39 pm

So difficult for Acustica to find a middle ground. It's either too much or too little...

User avatar
be a gorilla
Member
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by be a gorilla » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:50 pm

giancarlo wrote: If you really need a filter you need the whole strip.
true

User avatar
jfjer379
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by jfjer379 » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:43 am

im running 70 pink with absolutely everything engaged including insane mode on the compressor at 4ghz clock speed on my i7 5820k in Reaper
the only reason i cant add more is because im running out of ram LOL (16 GB)
so the test Will T W did is absolutely correct on a i7 5820k in Reaper :)

the reason i had to do this test is because i can only add 20 Sand with a CPU hit at 30% and ram hit at 50% with just eq`s
whats off to me is that if i add one more Sand after 20 instances Reaper crash
i tried so many times now and same thing happens no matter what, i even tried Sand regular and the ZL versions
even if i bypass them all and add another instance of Sand it crashes Reaper

i think i can easily say its not my CPU or ram that is the problem

so is there a bug in Sand that is causing this ?
I7 5820k • RME • Audient • Reaper64 • Win7 64 • Amethyst • Coral • Ebony • El Rey • Emerald • Gold • Honey • Ivory • Lemon • Lime • Magenta • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Ruby • Sand • Tapue • Titanium • Virgo • White2 • N3s • N4

User avatar
DavidMeShow
Member
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:29 am

Re: SAND out now!

Post by DavidMeShow » Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:02 am

Wow ! Just tried the demo of SAND and I love it ! Everything sounds great ! EQs, Filters, Compressor... Wow ! I imported some music demos I did a long time ago and just to add SAND and to adjust a few settings just give a new dynamic and dimension to the sound ! Great job guys !! :o

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:28 am

Crashes: a version we'll release maybe today will fix them. Anyway I'm going to spend some time today on further stability checks
Cpu load: you will load more sands than pinks if you don't need routing. We'll post pictures within hours and they are amazing. You will understand the whole plan. And we are not charging money for that.

User avatar
jfjer379
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by jfjer379 » Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:38 am

WOW WOW wOW, thats incredible Giancarlo :)

you where right
Sand is incredible good :)

i wont be reaching for nebula
for the same typeish of eq`s anymore
the bar in Acqua is raised to another level
the G comp in Sand is the best ITB G comp i have ever used

congrats on a fantastic release AA :D

cant wait for the update :mrgreen:
I7 5820k • RME • Audient • Reaper64 • Win7 64 • Amethyst • Coral • Ebony • El Rey • Emerald • Gold • Honey • Ivory • Lemon • Lime • Magenta • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Ruby • Sand • Tapue • Titanium • Virgo • White2 • N3s • N4

User avatar
be a gorilla
Member
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: SAND out now!

Post by be a gorilla » Fri Sep 30, 2016 9:39 am

giancarlo wrote:Crashes: a version we'll release maybe today will fix them. Anyway I'm going to spend some time today on further stability checks
Cpu load: you will load more sands than pinks if you don't need routing. We'll post pictures within hours and they are amazing. You will understand the whole plan. And we are not charging money for that.
you're great man G

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: SAND out now!

Post by giancarlo » Fri Sep 30, 2016 10:28 am

FIRST.
Free of charge NOW. Sold as sand upgrade TOMORROW (tomorrow = after the presale time). Planned release: next week.
Same cpu hit and latency as tan (more or less, we'll tell you more about that on monday). Very small upgrade installer.
Wait for next updates.... :geek:
Attachments
SAND_BUS400_004.png

Post Reply