Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
ctechdx
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:36 pm

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by ctechdx » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:03 pm

First of all I would like to say I´m using scarlet trial and I simply love it! It´s one of most musical and clean eq I ever used in my mastering chain.

The lows are very special. It excites the low end, brings energy without sound as equalization. Quite natural... beautiful.

I would like to ask if in the final version is available the 4 sample rates... 44, 48, 88 and 96. The trial is only 44 and 96. I think would be very good to have the 4 sample rates even because it´s a mastering eq... important to avoid conversions.

Also i´m having some issues... when I use it in 44 or 96k it works fine, but when I try to use it in 48 for exemple, the eq becomes quite slow. I have a huge delay when try to turn the bands on, and even after it´s on when I boost some frequency takes a long time do the eq response to the changes I did. Quite anoying to be honest.

I would like to know if someone is having this problem... if it was solved in the final version. And also the 4 sample rates would be important to me. I really would like to buy this plugin.

Thanks

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by giancarlo » Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:16 pm

yes the increased loading time happens because native 48 and 88 are still missing, so when you load a different frequency rate a real-time resampling is executed.
We'll try to add them asap (we did in the past for almost all new products).

ctechdx
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:36 pm

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by ctechdx » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:01 pm

Thanks Giancarlo!

I think will be very important to have the 4 sample rates, for a mastering eq it´s a must :D

Will be waiting for some news! :D

User avatar
Mordus
Member
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 11:03 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by Mordus » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:15 pm

just to be aware to replies on this subject... I forgot to check that option in my last post ("notify me when a reply is posted")

:?
Keep it simple, be happy.

Samplitude / Logic Pro X / RME / Italian Handcrafted Loudspeakers

kylen
Member
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 7:43 am

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by kylen » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:24 pm

I'm looking real hard at Scarlet, I tested the bottom end last night and it is very fine. Unfortunately I have an old 32-bit clunker and I'm running out of both memory and cpu cycles when I switch in more bands. I tried messing with dspbuffer (default is 1024) but I dont want to change the sound accidentally. Anyone else on an old machine using Scarlet? Any tips? Thanks. :)

User avatar
SteDal
Expert
Expert
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Northern Italy

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by SteDal » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:51 pm

kylen wrote:I'm looking real hard at Scarlet, I tested the bottom end last night and it is very fine. Unfortunately I have an old 32-bit clunker and I'm running out of both memory and cpu cycles when I switch in more bands. I tried messing with dspbuffer (default is 1024) but I dont want to change the sound accidentally. Anyone else on an old machine using Scarlet? Any tips? Thanks. :)
You can safely go ahead and change the DSPBUFFER value in the xml file. Try 2048 or more. The sound won't change at all. Only plugin latency will be increased.

As you can imagine, in the long run there's nothing like a 64bit system run by an up-to-date CPU with RAM to spare...
Win 10/64 - Intel i7-5820K - Intel i7-4510U - Reaper 6

kylen
Member
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 7:43 am

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by kylen » Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:26 am

Thanks SteDal - I bumped DSP upto 4096 and cpu is better...need more mem, looks like 64-bit is in my future says fortune cookie... Scarlet is sounding very nice again tonight...not going to be able to resist. 8-)

User avatar
beingmf3
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by beingmf3 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:28 am

giancarlo wrote:yes the increased loading time happens because native 48 and 88 are still missing, so when you load a different frequency rate a real-time resampling is executed.
We'll try to add them asap (we did in the past for almost all new products).
Will it be possible to restrict loading to 1 sample rate only - via tweaking the XML?
Last edited by beingmf3 on Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
.

tkrizic
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 12:30 am

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by tkrizic » Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:10 pm

SteDal wrote:You can safely go ahead and change the DSPBUFFER value in the xml file.
just did that, can this "hack" be applied on other AA products, will it help?

User avatar
SteDal
Expert
Expert
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Northern Italy

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by SteDal » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:52 pm

tkrizic wrote:
SteDal wrote:You can safely go ahead and change the DSPBUFFER value in the xml file.
just did that, can this "hack" be applied on other AA products, will it help?
Sure! The engine is exactly the same for every Acqua plugin.
:)
Win 10/64 - Intel i7-5820K - Intel i7-4510U - Reaper 6

tkrizic
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 12:30 am

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by tkrizic » Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:57 am

SteDal wrote:
tkrizic wrote:
SteDal wrote:You can safely go ahead and change the DSPBUFFER value in the xml file.
just did that, can this "hack" be applied on other AA products, will it help?
Sure! The engine is exactly the same for every Acqua plugin.
:)

thanks for the tip :)

User avatar
waffleneck
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:08 am

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by waffleneck » Mon Sep 14, 2015 6:41 pm

The LO-S and HI-S labels are switched!
Amber, Aquamarine, Azure, Black, Blue, Coral, D361, Diamond, Ebony, Emerald, EQP1, Gold, Green, Honey, Ivory, Lime, Magenta, Navy, Nebula, N4, Ochre, Orange, Pearl, Pink, Pink Compressors, Prime, Purple, Red, Rose, Sand, Scarlet, Silk, Tan, Titanium, Trinity, Ultramarine, White. Hardware: TLA M8 Tubetracker, Vulture Super15, Fatso, Tube Vitalizer. Apogee Symphony. N*****n KH310 monitors + KH805 sub.

User avatar
Mordus
Member
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 11:03 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by Mordus » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:02 pm

waffleneck wrote:The LO-S and HI-S labels are switched!
The labels are ok here in OSX. VST and AU showing correct labels.
I have not windows versions to test.
Keep it simple, be happy.

Samplitude / Logic Pro X / RME / Italian Handcrafted Loudspeakers

User avatar
Francesco.Tedeschi
Expert
Expert
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by Francesco.Tedeschi » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:00 am

waffleneck wrote:The LO-S and HI-S labels are switched!
Can you post a screenshot of your GUI ?
Francesco Tedeschi

User avatar
eaccin
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:52 am

Re: Scarlet MHE-400 (mastering high-end homebrew eq)

Post by eaccin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:54 pm

It is switched for me too. OSX here. I found it strange but thought the HW was the same.
Also, is there a way to link on/off buttons for both sides?

Post Reply