Titanium (multiband compressor)

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music.
garry_spectrum
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by garry_spectrum » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:04 am

Hey folks,

I noticed that you have omitted the 48khz sampling rate for this product. Why is that ?

And what will happen if I engage an instance of Titanium in 24bit, 48khz project ?

Thank you.

Kindly -

Garry

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by giancarlo » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:07 am

garry_spectrum wrote:Hey folks,

I noticed that you have omitted the 48khz sampling rate for this product. Why is that ?

And what will happen if I engage an instance of Titanium in 24bit, 48khz project ?

Thank you.

Kindly -

Garry
yes we omitted it. We could add it in the future

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by giancarlo » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:08 am

about your question: it works and it loads fast
Crossovers are good too - phase of crossovers could be better though

User avatar
ianc
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:17 pm
Location: UK

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by ianc » Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:22 am

Just had a listen to what this beast can do, class of it's own, only bad thing is I've got to wait to get my mouse on it.
Be really interested to know what frequency's the crossovers are set at, or have I missed that earlier in the thread
Great work anyway, Ripping it up guys
I wish I could drum half as well with two hands as one of Terry Bozzio's feet

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by giancarlo » Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:29 am

an important though I shared on gearslutz, I share it here too
we implemented a new kind of "math" (approach) for the "normal plug" side, fully merged with the "mojo" one. Our approach is pretty new on everything, so the sound.
There are things which an a/b comparison with original gear are not so obvious, you need to use it extensively in order to check how much close it works on ALL possible sources and ALL possible settings.

A side note, because I read here and there on this forum: I tested xx and compared with hardware yyy and even in blind tests I could not find any difference, so I don't see a point in what you are selling, I'm already happy if I can replace safetly my hardware.

Guy, let's suppose I create a minimum phase version of magenta (our flagship eq). I could guess a lot of you would be fooled in blind tests, because on complex processed sources, and you could be fooled to sell your hardware and use this "downgraded" version of our plugin. I guess just few of you (ok they exists, a lot of mastering engineers are working with us the they have amazing rooms and speakers) would recognize a dry track processed with software and hardware

So where is the point?

Try to WORK and apply this downgraded plugin to all your tracks. Similar to the final effect? sure. As much good? I'm not sure. There are things which are damaged when you use plugins that you can't hear when you process just a single track. Our products are coded in a way you can use SAFETLY, a lot of times, the WHOLE mix, and at the end you HEAR the difference. It is what hardware is doing, and you cannot detect just applying a single time to your music. And it is what titanium makes obvious. A CLEAN, LOW ALIASED, very SMOOTHED but ULTRA fast compressor. Numeric errors REDUCED, you hear them when you apply different instances in your mix. Our approach is CLEAN, transients are PRESERVED, phase is GOOD. And so on.
Do you remember the first moog virtual emulations? they NAILED it. You understand NOW it was not true, after you have sold ALL your moogs.

Sorry for the defensive OT, I'm not stating a competitor product is bad or so - there are amazing products around and they make your life BETTER - but I should explain WHY our products are cpu intensive, they feature LATENCY, but they are DAMN good compared to competition. Ok?

User avatar
heraldo_jones
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:42 pm

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by heraldo_jones » Sun Dec 07, 2014 12:49 pm

I bought it in the presale and I'm working now with it ... really impressive. The only thing is that is a little bit cpu hungry (plugin+patchwork to load in PT11),this plugin has convinced me to upgrade my 4core mac pro a an 6core :D :D :D . Are magenta and amber as cpu hungry as this?
Will be great if the AAX update is not much far in time because it will be great to reduce the cpu load. Cheers!!!
___________________________________________________________________
HERALDO JONES / Mixing & mastering engineer
http://worldpremiereeg.com/ / Online Mixing & Mastering services

User avatar
heraldo_jones
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:42 pm

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by heraldo_jones » Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:00 pm

I'm testing it now and want to share some info with PT10/11 users. I have loaded it with BC Patchwork and 20 stereo instances kill my machine (mac pro 4,1 nehalem 4x2,66ghz), but if I load it with DDMF Metaplugin it takes only a 35-40%. I'm talking about T1B, I'm going to left now and will update with T2B and T3B.
___________________________________________________________________
HERALDO JONES / Mixing & mastering engineer
http://worldpremiereeg.com/ / Online Mixing & Mastering services

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by giancarlo » Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:32 pm

heraldo_jones wrote:I bought it in the presale and I'm working now with it ... really impressive. The only thing is that is a little bit cpu hungry (plugin+patchwork to load in PT11),this plugin has convinced me to upgrade my 4core mac pro a an 6core :D :D :D . Are magenta and amber as cpu hungry as this?
Will be great if the AAX update is not much far in time because it will be great to reduce the cpu load. Cheers!!!
yes they have a noticeable cpu hit. On next year we'll release lower quality plugins but with better performances

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by andiw » Sun Dec 07, 2014 4:40 pm

Here's another video with Amber + Titanium:

http://youtu.be/KoQTHXBjClE
my music: aj-guitar.com

kindafishy
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:08 pm

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by kindafishy » Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:28 pm

giancarlo, I would like native 48 sampling (I saw that you need to know how many users would like this...).

I am very happy to say that my leap of faith was rewarded, as I have not heard another compressor that comes close to sounding like this.

I am an extremely happy customer right now.

Thanks Acustica!

User avatar
Hannes_F
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:08 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by Hannes_F » Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:59 pm

giancarlo wrote:thank you for you feedback, it is very appreciated.
Btw I'm following you on facebook

For a simple issue of backward compatibility we'll not modify the actual version, people is already using. Anyway I'll take in account your suggestions for next products.
Thank you giancarlo for considering it.

One word more perhaps about film and TV music composers and producers as target group: For those the 48 kHz is mandatory since music for film is delivered in 48 kHz always. Some projects are recorded in 96 kHz, however since there are often vast amounts of tracks the standard bitrate in this industry is 48 kHz (at least for original recordings). That world is a little different from other music producers and has perhaps been a bit underrepresented in the Nebula crowd so far - but this will change now. :-)

Andrums
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:03 am

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by Andrums » Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:09 am

+1 for 48 kHz

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by andiw » Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:15 am

yeah, 48kHz would be nice!
my music: aj-guitar.com

Andrums
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:03 am

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by Andrums » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 am

+1
for lower crossover for the 2 band version, in order to separate the low end from the rest of the mix
or HP ftlter for 1B

User avatar
Hannes_F
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:08 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: Titanium (multiband compressor)

Post by Hannes_F » Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:20 am

andiw wrote:Here's another video with Amber + Titanium:

http://youtu.be/KoQTHXBjClE
Very nice, thank you.

Post Reply