Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by giancarlo » Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:24 am

mightymosaic wrote:
sethius wrote:I'd like an answer to this too. How long until Magenta is going to be updated to core6?
Thats a great question !
we'll announce it soon. You cannot even guess how many things we are improving ;)

sethius
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by sethius » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:52 am

Great news giancarlo!

There is also a bug with ableton live 64bit au where the gui freezes and I need to close and open the gui to unfreeze it. I'm not sure if I have the latest version installed or not.

Also I've beta tested for S*L duende and TC electronic before and use ableton 64bit on a daily basis. I would be happy to beta test some plugins.

User avatar
Phelix
Member
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by Phelix » Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:20 pm

sethius wrote:There is also a bug with ableton live 64bit au where the gui freezes and I need to close and open the gui to unfreeze it. I'm not sure if I have the latest version installed or not.
If not using latest GUI r907, I would encourage you to check up on it.
Also when testing and giving accurate information for development, its kind of an advance to beware in what versions and conditions the software is actually running 8-)

Btw. v1.3r907 (VST/x64) works fine here on daily basis, no freeze or hangs since r903.

On a sidenote - without technical explanations, you may find that Ableton in general behaves better running native VST verses wrapped Audio Units.

Furthermore, working with the VST format in Live, I personally find it more flexible when saving presets, organising projects etc.

KRgds,
.
Ableton⎜Studio One⎜Reaper⎜VST2⎜macOS10.13⎜[email protected]/32GB⎜RME ADI-2 Pro⎜ATC

sethius
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by sethius » Thu Apr 30, 2015 3:14 pm

The freeze occurs randomly and i need close and reopen the plugin GUI to get it to respond graphically to knob/buttons movements. The plugin still responds to knob and button movement when the GUI is frozen.

Magenta v1.3.811 64Bit
Ableton Live Suite 9.1.8
OSX 10.9.5

I use Audio Units because they are a better format than VSTs. Please be technical, i'm sure I will understand it.

Thanks, i'll try the update.

Are all acustica audio audio units not native audio units but wrapped vsts?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by giancarlo » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:07 pm

can you download a new version? 1.3.811 is pretty old. On your dashboard you should have 1.3.903 and 1.3.907

Btw: magenta II is on the way. We fixed almost all issues, improving the sound. It will be also Core6

Mannymac
Member
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:32 am

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by Mannymac » Thu Apr 30, 2015 8:45 pm

Core6!!! Love you guys for constantly improving. Thank you!

nonstandardryder
Member
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:23 am

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by nonstandardryder » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:26 pm

I would love to see an input trim for the preamp like Ivory has for magenta II if you guys think it will be worth it. Excited for the updates.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by giancarlo » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:57 pm

no we'll not change the design. The gui will be slighly more usable though. Workflow will be impressive.

sethius
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by sethius » Fri May 01, 2015 11:48 am

Thanks giancarlo I'll try that.

Thanks great news about magenta II I can't wait!! :)

sethius
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by sethius » Fri May 01, 2015 4:06 pm

Hey giancarlo any idea when magenta II will be available?! :)

garry_spectrum
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by garry_spectrum » Sun May 03, 2015 11:18 pm

One thing that will really set a new quality for Aqua plugins and Magenta in general is adding a mid/side matrix or at least an independent left/right channel operation (this is easily transferred to mid/side with m/s encoding decoding applied).

Any plans on making this happen ?

mightymosaic
Member
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 am

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by mightymosaic » Mon May 04, 2015 12:20 am

garry_spectrum wrote:One thing that will really set a new quality for Aqua plugins and Magenta in general is adding a mid/side matrix or at least an independent left/right channel operation (this is easily transferred to mid/side with m/s encoding decoding applied).

Any plans on making this happen ?
That would be pretty amazing. Especially the mid/side function

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3660
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by RJHollins » Mon May 04, 2015 2:31 am

It may also mean [if this was even possible], a doubling of the CPU/Ram load. I don't know.

Of course, we can still 'create' an M/S condition with 2 instances, an M/S code-decoder, and routing.
I find Plogue BIDULE or METAPlugin chainer useful for setting up templates as this.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by giancarlo » Sat May 09, 2015 10:35 am

sethius wrote:Hey giancarlo any idea when magenta II will be available?! :)
we are already working on it. The gui was improved a bit (larger elements).
We waited in order to develop a tech for making 44.1 and 48 KHz more reliable. It means perfection between interpolated samples.

garry_spectrum
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Magenta Eq (general discussion)

Post by garry_spectrum » Mon May 11, 2015 2:24 am

Hey Giancarlo,

Just wanted to touch base with you and see if you're planing to add a pretty standard version readout on Magenta ?

One should be able to click on say the "Magenta" logo/name and instantly get an idea of the build version and all.

Kindly -

Garry

Post Reply