Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Beatworld
Member
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Perth

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Beatworld » Sun May 13, 2018 6:20 am

Phelix wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 8:34 am
Beatworld wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 5:32 am
robschroeder wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 5:14 pm
With update version "I" there seems to be a new issue with the compressor standalone plugin.

As soon as compressor B or C is switched on the peak reduction meter returns to -30 and gets stuck there. This happens only to compressor standaloone plugin. Not channel strip.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bzfdcik86beb5 ... r.mp4?dl=0

Is also reported to support.

/208
I just noticed that Version J000 - 11 May 2018 is available.
Does this fix the standalone compressor meter bug ?
It just says AAX bug fix.
Never had the comp meter stalling, rel. H, I and J (Reaper/Mac10.13.4)

But, here the latest J-000, still has the pre Tube(1)-type 2 phase shift and elevated high (reported)
Other pre’s and UI elements are fine now.
Ok I've installed J000 and there is no problem with the meter etc in the stand alone comp.

Logic 10.4.1
macOS 10.13.4

So maybe it is just a Windows issue.
Phelix what is the best way to test for the phase shift issue in Tube (1) -type 2 ??

Thanks

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by robschroeder » Sun May 13, 2018 8:27 am

Beatworld wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 2:33 am
What is the best way to check if there is a phase shift problem ?
A simple so called null test.

Steps to do:
  • create two audio tracks in yor DAW.
  • insert on each audio track the same audiofile (e.g. a sine wave, drumloop whatever).
  • insert the plug-in you want to test on first audio track.
  • insert on the second track a utility plugin where you can flip the phase and flip it.
  1. If the playback now sounds thin and strange, phase is perfect because you only hear the difference between the first and second track caused by the plugin.
  2. If the playback sounds the same and not strange then the phase in the plugin is reversed. You can test this as you turn of the utility plugin in the second track and then you will hear the track in the same way as written under 1).

Beatworld
Member
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Perth

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Beatworld » Sun May 13, 2018 9:07 am

robschroeder wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 8:27 am
Beatworld wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 2:33 am
What is the best way to check if there is a phase shift problem ?
A simple so called null test.

Steps to do:
  • create two audio tracks in yor DAW.
  • insert on each audio track the same audiofile (e.g. a sine wave, drumloop whatever).
  • insert the plug-in you want to test on first audio track.
  • insert on the second track a utility plugin where you can flip the phase and flip it.
  1. If the playback now sounds thin and strange, phase is perfect because you only hear the difference between the first and second track caused by the plugin.
  2. If the playback sounds the same and not strange then the phase in the plugin is reversed. You can test this as you turn of the utility plugin in the second track and then you will hear the track in the same way as written under 1).
Thanks very much Rob.
If there is a phase shift issue will the null test work to show it on mono tracks as well as stereo ?

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by robschroeder » Sun May 13, 2018 9:16 am

Beatworld wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 6:20 am
Ok I've installed J000 and there is no problem with the meter etc in the stand alone comp.

Logic 10.4.1
macOS 10.13.4

So maybe it is just a Windows issue.
Phelix what is the best way to test for the phase shift issue in Tube (1) -type 2 ??

Thanks
I tested the VST macOS version this morning and the problem with the comp meter does not exist there. So yes it's a Windows issue only.
Strange enough, although I also installed AU Version it does not show up in Logic Pro X 10.4.1, Studio One 3 and Ableton Live 10.

What I wonder:
What do you guys mean with Tube (1) -type 2? Which Plugin and which model exactly?

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by robschroeder » Sun May 13, 2018 9:23 am

Beatworld wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 9:07 am
If there is a phase shift issue will the null test work to show it on mono tracks as well as stereo ?
Yes, of course.

/208

Beatworld
Member
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Perth

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Beatworld » Sun May 13, 2018 9:49 am

robschroeder wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 9:16 am
Strange enough, although I also installed AU Version it does not show up in Logic Pro X 10.4.1, Studio One 3 and Ableton Live 10.

What I wonder:
What do you guys mean with Tube (1) -type 2? Which Plugin and which model exactly?
When you say the AU version does not show up, do you mean the actual plugin or the problem ?
If you mean the actual plugin what macOS you running ?
If 10.13.x try restarting the computer.

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by robschroeder » Sun May 13, 2018 11:03 am

Beatworld wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 9:49 am
When you say the AU version does not show up, do you mean the actual plugin or the problem ?
If you mean the actual plugin what macOS you running ?
If 10.13.x try restarting the computer.
Yes I meant that the plugin is not showing up in the DAWs. But your tip with restarting the computer did fix it. Strange thing as it is the first time I hear that you need to restart a computer to get a plugin loaded :lol:.

Anyway even in the AU Version the comp meter works as it should. BUT the 2nd Channel of the first tube microfone on the Preamp Plugin is phase reversed. And also in the Channel Strip. So I think this is what you guys meant. And this also happens on Windows. Has this somebody reported to the Support yet?

User avatar
Phelix
Member
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Phelix » Sun May 13, 2018 1:31 pm

robschroeder wrote:Anyway even in the AU Version the comp meter works as it should. BUT the 2nd Channel of the first tube microfone on the Preamp Plugin is phase reversed. And also in the Channel Strip. So I think this is what you guys meant. And this also happens on Windows. Has this somebody reported to the Support yet?
Thanks for confirming.
I have reported the first Tube pre (‘BTR’ - model/type 2) and I know others have questioned this as well.

Worth noticing,
From the manual pg13 -TL;DR, the 11dB HF boost(!) appears to be a feature, however the phase-inversion is not mentioned:
- Model 2: this emulation is identical to Model 1 but the frequency response has been left intact and without any corrections. This results in a substantial HF boost of 11dB at 14.4 kHz. AA?

Anyways, I will preferably be using Pre of the ‘BTR’ model 1 or the ‘green machine'.
.
Ableton⎜Studio One⎜Reaper⎜VST2⎜macOS10.13⎜[email protected]/32GB⎜RME ADI-2 Pro⎜ATC

bmanic
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 676
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by bmanic » Mon May 14, 2018 8:31 pm

abuzaynab wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 10:21 pm
bmanic wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:48 am
giancarlo wrote:
Sat May 05, 2018 5:47 pm
About true stereo: if you ask to me the effect is completely absent on this kind of console. Crosstalk was measured and neglegible. Crosstalk is the only element which could bring something of channel L to channel R, for instance. It was something in the -100dB ballpark.
So in this case true stereo is overkill, and it would double the resource usage using our technique. We want something to apply to all channels. Now: cpu load is very very low today, and I can confirm it will be LOWER at least on windows side. We'll tell you more about a possible timeframe for this kind of update.
You completely missed the point about stereo. It has absolutely nothing to do with crosstalk or anything else.. it's simply the channel 1 sounds different to channel 2.. thus being able to have channel 1 on LEFT and channel 2 on RIGHT will give a sort of nice floating and wide stereo image to any signal, compared to how it is now where the selected channel goes into both left and right.

So inside CREAM plugin it should be possible to set LEFT and RIGHT inputs/outputs to their own channels. That's what the other company does and that's the main point of their "gimmick".

You can test this yourself any time in Reaper. Two instances of Cream, one for left and one for right, then give them their own line or mic channels. Now compare that to a single instance of cream with a single channel. There is a big difference in sound stage.
You can surely use a Dual Mono instance and choose one channel for the Left and a different channel for the Right? I have just tried it and it works. Does this not solve the problem? Or am i missing something?
You are not missing anything.. I can do this manually in Reaper of course but I not all DAWs make it this simple so a lot of people are missing out. It would also be a lot more flexible to have the ability built into the Aqua Plugin framework itself. It's very useful to be able to run proper dual mono of pretty much everything, especially compressors.

EDIT: Also, I can confirm that Version J has broken standalone compressor metering on my Windows 7 system. Just tried re-installing it all from scratch and the meter is dead.
Studio computer: i7-6700K (Skylake), 16Gb RAM, Asus Z170-A motherboard, Prism Orpheus audio interface. Windows 7 home premium 64bit. Reaper 5.xx

Laptop: PCspecialist Vortex III (i7 3630QM, 8gb ram, nvidia 675mx graphics, RME Babyface Pro)

BG23
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:30 pm

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by BG23 » Tue May 15, 2018 9:37 pm

BG23 wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 8:22 pm
...
do you delete any samples/frequencies files? I've found that keeping all the kHz libraries seems to stabilize the situation; no more re-authorization requests and at least CreamTrial doesn't open bugged.
It's still weird that all this happens in only one of my identical systems (the one in which I installed CreamTrial, what a coincidence!!!! :roll:), in the other one I've updated Pink2 and Diamond and all run fine even deleting everything except 44kHz.
Indeed it was a gigantic coincidence!! :lol:

TL;DR I checked the sound card sample rate (it was 48kHz by mistake), deleting frequencies works as always! CreamTrial installation was just a coincidence.....



f*ck me! :evil:

Beatworld
Member
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Perth

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Beatworld » Tue May 22, 2018 3:19 am

I just read a Facebook post advising that Cream has been updated to Version K0000.

Fabian Boie reports that the freezing pre-amp buttons problem has returned, at least in VST2 on macOS 10.13.4 (and unspecified Windows OS).

has anyone who uses AU in Logic installed K0000 yet and, if so, is the problem back ?

cheers

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11139
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by giancarlo » Tue May 22, 2018 7:43 am

We don't have this issue, so if you experience it raise a ticket and downgrade.
Keep in mind support doesn't read Facebook pages or even this forum, and they need to replicate issues so a ticket is mandatory

Beatworld
Member
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Perth

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Beatworld » Tue May 22, 2018 8:08 am

giancarlo wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 7:43 am
We don't have this issue, so if you experience it raise a ticket and downgrade.
Keep in mind support doesn't read Facebook pages or even this forum, and they need to replicate issues so a ticket is mandatory
Ok, the post was in the thread you started G, so I guess you saw it :D .
(I know, you're not support ;) )

I don't have an issue with the version of Cream I'm currently using.
So I have no desire/need to update to see if the new version is OK.

Thought I would just ask if any other user here has done it.
Seems like the kind of thing forums are useful for.

User avatar
Phelix
Member
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Phelix » Tue May 22, 2018 12:16 pm

Beatworld wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 8:08 am
giancarlo wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 7:43 am
We don't have this issue, so if you experience it raise a ticket and downgrade.
Keep in mind support doesn't read Facebook pages or even this forum, and they need to replicate issues so a ticket is mandatory
Ok, the post was in the thread you started G, so I guess you saw it :D .
(I know, you're not support ;) )

I don't have an issue with the version of Cream I'm currently using.
So I have no desire/need to update to see if the new version is OK.

Thought I would just ask if any other user here has done it.
Seems like the kind of thing forums are useful for.
With release K, the buttons of the stand alone CreamPre are behaving oddly here using VST for mac. The pre section on channel strip is fine, and GR meter still works as expected.

Rel. K is just an engine upgrade (no new N2S), I wonder why it affects the GUI this way. Reverting back to previous engine instantly removes the issue.

– it’s always a comfort to share such observations with other users. This may confirm a persistent issue, or quickly point to an overlooked human fault, saving both time and resources for submitting and handling by support.

It’s just professional conversation. Still very much in love with the product :D
.
Ableton⎜Studio One⎜Reaper⎜VST2⎜macOS10.13⎜[email protected]/32GB⎜RME ADI-2 Pro⎜ATC

Beatworld
Member
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Perth

Re: Acustica releases Cream - a dreamware approach to console modelling!

Post by Beatworld » Wed May 23, 2018 12:58 am

Thanks very much Phelix.
As I don’t use VST, only AU, I will wait and see if any AU reports appear.

Cheers

Post Reply