NebulaMan 1.2 (win, osx) official thread

Additional software tools
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:41 am

xyxxjx wrote:All my audio files a wavpack will it work with Nebulaman? If not any change of it being supported?
Wavpack is currently not supported, maybe in the future ...

Zabukowski

xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by xyxxjx » Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:45 am

Ok thanks, will buy when wavpack is supported.

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by tonedeaf » Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:02 am

quick question, I am trying to use Nebulaman, my programs are install on a different hard drive and I had an alternative path setup in the xml, would this effect how nabulaman works?

at the moment, after I selected xml the programs are still not setting up.

I am on OSX.

Thank you ;)

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:56 am

tonedeaf wrote:quick question, I am trying to use Nebulaman, my programs are install on a different hard drive and I had an alternative path setup in the xml, would this effect how nabulaman works?

at the moment, after I selected xml the programs are still not setting up.

I am on OSX.

Thank you ;)
I am not aware of ay problems with NebulaMan and alternative paths. If Nebula plugin found all programs and you are using the same XML for config, then NebulaMan should see all programs, too.

Zabukowski

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3620
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by RJHollins » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:29 am

Hi ZAB !

This raises another type of question ...

I sure you've seen discussion regarding alterations made on the KERN page of Nebula, where 'Timing' adjustment and KERN settings can be tweaked.

My setup has only 2 different configurations at the moment. Recently, with the release of the KULT compressor, there are specialized config settings to put the KULT into a 'hi-rez' mode.

The wonder is ... how can these different NEBULA version be used, as a mixed group, within NEBULAMan ?

Also [and I need to check the latest release], is it possible to edit these 'timing' settings within NebulaMan ??

Oh ... a third issue I'm running into. The combined used of CDSoundMaster tape library and the VST plugin
'VTM-M2' [compression module]. It would be so good to be able to load VST's [including the AQUA Vst's] into the NMan chains.

Thanks for your Dev work ... looking forward !
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:37 am

RJHollins wrote:Hi ZAB !

This raises another type of question ...

I sure you've seen discussion regarding alterations made on the KERN page of Nebula, where 'Timing' adjustment and KERN settings can be tweaked.

My setup has only 2 different configurations at the moment. Recently, with the release of the KULT compressor, there are specialized config settings to put the KULT into a 'hi-rez' mode.

The wonder is ... how can these different NEBULA version be used, as a mixed group, within NEBULAMan ?

Also [and I need to check the latest release], is it possible to edit these 'timing' settings within NebulaMan ??
Nebula parameter editing is on the to-do list. I will think about feature to have "Nebula configuration file" property linked to the program in the Nebula repository.
RJHollins wrote: Oh ... a third issue I'm running into. The combined used of CDSoundMaster tape library and the VST plugin
'VTM-M2' [compression module]. It would be so good to be able to load VST's [including the AQUA Vst's] into the NMan chains.

Thanks for your Dev work ... looking forward !
VST support is a big one. Unfortunately, it wont happen soon :(

Zabukowski

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by tonedeaf » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:20 pm

zabukowski wrote:
tonedeaf wrote:quick question, I am trying to use Nebulaman, my programs are install on a different hard drive and I had an alternative path setup in the xml, would this effect how nabulaman works?

at the moment, after I selected xml the programs are still not setting up.

I am on OSX.

Thank you ;)
I am not aware of ay problems with NebulaMan and alternative paths. If Nebula plugin found all programs and you are using the same XML for config, then NebulaMan should see all programs, too.



Zabukowski


hmmm Nebula is loading up fine, but the programs are not showing on nebulaman.. Nebulaman kinda didnt look at the alternative path command, it just saw the original path....

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:49 pm

tonedeaf wrote:
zabukowski wrote:
tonedeaf wrote:quick question, I am trying to use Nebulaman, my programs are install on a different hard drive and I had an alternative path setup in the xml, would this effect how nabulaman works?

at the moment, after I selected xml the programs are still not setting up.

I am on OSX.

Thank you ;)
I am not aware of ay problems with NebulaMan and alternative paths. If Nebula plugin found all programs and you are using the same XML for config, then NebulaMan should see all programs, too.



Zabukowski


hmmm Nebula is loading up fine, but the programs are not showing on nebulaman.. Nebulaman kinda didnt look at the alternative path command, it just saw the original path....
Strange. NebulaMan is getting program list from Nebula engine. As the same xml is used for NebulaMan and Nebula, it should work the same.

I will look at this...

Zabukowski

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:07 pm

Just checked win and osx NebulaMan versions.

Created alternative directory with 'programs' and 'vectors' subfolders. Moved some files from original directories to new corresponding directories. Added <alternativedatapath> to xml file (pointing to new directory).

Started NebulaMan - everything works as expected !

Zabukowski

tonedeaf
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by tonedeaf » Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:47 am

hmmm... is there anything I can send you to check if I screw up somewhere?

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:03 am

tonedeaf wrote:hmmm... is there anything I can send you to check if I screw up somewhere?
Double check if alternate folders exist on your system with correct subfolder structure (programs, vectors) and that programs are located inside.

Double check if Nebula plugin is showing programs from alternate directories.

Send your Nebula xml file you are using, to zabukowski ape gmail dot com. I'll look at it.

Zabukowski

turbotrixie
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:18 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by turbotrixie » Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:56 pm

I transferred money for a Nebulaman License well over a week ago and have not yet received one. What is going on?

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by zabukowski » Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:07 am

turbotrixie wrote:I transferred money for a Nebulaman License well over a week ago and have not yet received one. What is going on?
Can you please send registration data to zabukowski at gmail dot com.

Thanks!
Zabukowski

turbotrixie
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:18 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by turbotrixie » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:17 pm

All sorted, thanks alot!

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3620
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: NebulaMan (win, osx) official thread (1.2)

Post by RJHollins » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:31 am

Not exactly sure how to request this, but something like this ... :)

Having a configuration situation developing, whereby, particular libraries are requiring modified settings in NEBULA's 'kern' page.

In particular, the Gemini HQ compressor, along with personal mods to specific PreAmps.

Additionally, without VST inserts, the CDS tape plugs, and all Acqua plugs are out of the equation.

But first ... in order to render out files, the available solution is to do things in sections [really kills workflow]. Staying within the REAPER DAW, for example, allows for a more coherent process ... but it, too, has obstacles that I'm learning to overcome.

In particular ... each track in a mastering project can be assigned and have its own effect chain. In the master bus section, I can have all 'global' inserts that all tracks will eventually get. This was the particular area I'd hope to call on NEBULAMan to handle [but not fully possible].

As I learn the workings of REAPER, I can 'freeze' individual tracks [optionally] ... but I'm looking into 'render stems' to be able to process each track of the album through the 'global' chain, and save these off as individual files. Later to be assembled, edited, level balanced, and dithered, etc, in WaveLAB as a proper CD format.

OK ... that's a basic scenario [with variations].

In looking forward, and to include NebulaMan into the workflow, I hoped to generate some ideas, suggestions to expand the flexibility and usefulness before the coding architecture gets to locked in [if still possible].

Any comments? suggestions? opinions ? constructive conversation?

Thanks!!
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

Post Reply