NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Additional software tools
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by zabukowski » Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:38 pm

Please run program as administrator to avoid possible protection issues.
(Very strange was, that I had to customize presets (N-Setups aax-folders). I was not able to correct preset folders manualy.
Not sure, if i understand ... You couldn't change AAX settings (use folder icon for changing file/path value)- can you explain a bit more ?
- Henry Olonga works (44 + 96 kHz)
- 'VNXT-emt140' works (96 kHz)
They work as AAX setups ??

...

Which version & architecture (x86/x64) of ProTools and Nebula do you use?

grabie
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by grabie » Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:37 pm

yeah, do not no if it is worth it, as I can not remember 100%, how it went; if it had to do with the kalthallen-test-file that was involved.

Anyway, the path to the aax-plug-in:
c:/Program Files/Common Files/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins/Acustica/Nebula3 Reverb.aaxplugin

vs

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\Nebula3 Reverb.aaxplugin

seemed to cause the problem.

The original path did not work. I had to adjust it.
But it did only work with the 1st of the above paths.
The problem showed up by not allowing/completing the file-name at the end of the path.
Normaly n-setups seems to do this automatically.
Not this time ...

Up to date version & x64 architecture of ProTools and Nebula. Administrator rights used.

Thank you Zabukowski, good work.
windows 10 x64 - i7 6700K - 32 gb ram - GeForce GTX 960 - Asus Z170-A - RME HDSPe AIO

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by zabukowski » Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:11 pm

Default settings assume there is ACUSTICA subfolder in PT plugins folder. Of course you must change that, if that is not the case on your system.

When changing AAX folders and base plugins:
You should note that on Windows, Nebula3 Reverb.aaxplugin is actually a FOLDER, maybe this causes some confusion ?

So, beside that, you are saying, AAX setups are working for you ?

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3584
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by Support » Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:40 am

- Default path for AAX 64 bits is C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\
- Default path for AAX 32 bits is C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\

AAX 32 bits files are marked as " x86".

You can move files from Plug-Ins to Plug-Ins\Acustica if you want due NebulaTempRepository is in a complete, fixed non relative path in Master XML file.

You can not edit the .aaxplugin file name without extra work inside the folder aaxplugin.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

grabie
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by grabie » Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:50 pm

Of course you must change that, if that is not the case on your system.
I guess this is not my duty, alone, as you might change the preset-path, as well. - just a feeling :)
So, beside that, you are saying, AAX setups are working for you ?
They do load, but I did not test them.
As mentioned before, I try to get a workflow together with patchwork vst-chains.
It kind-o-sucks to always (re-) build new signalchains, due to updates and new/better options.
My aim is music, not configuration. 8-) Thank you.

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by zabukowski » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:49 pm

guess this is not my duty, alone, as you might change the preset-path, as well. - just a feeling
Duty ??? It is just a setting which can be changed. Of course, this is early experimental release, so i guess i will remove "Acustica" from default path ...
They do load, but I did not test them.
Ok, i think this will do for a start. Thanks!

mtalavera
Member
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:55 pm

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by mtalavera » Sun Jan 24, 2016 6:11 pm

Support wrote:- Default path for AAX 64 bits is C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\
- Default path for AAX 32 bits is C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\

AAX 32 bits files are marked as " x86".

You can move files from Plug-Ins to Plug-Ins\Acustica if you want due NebulaTempRepository is in a complete, fixed non relative path in Master XML file.

You can not edit the .aaxplugin file name without extra work inside the folder aaxplugin.
There is definitely no Acustica folder at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\ for me. So there is no harm in moving the Nebula aaxplugin files to an Acoustica folder? Would I also need to move all the XML files that are also in that directory, such as Nebula3.xml?


This sounds very exciting and I definitely want to try this out. Just concerned if I create this new folder and move things will future Nebula AAX installations not go right since I've moved files around.

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by zabukowski » Sun Jan 24, 2016 6:18 pm

mtalavera wrote:
Support wrote:- Default path for AAX 64 bits is C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\
- Default path for AAX 32 bits is C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\

AAX 32 bits files are marked as " x86".

You can move files from Plug-Ins to Plug-Ins\Acustica if you want due NebulaTempRepository is in a complete, fixed non relative path in Master XML file.

You can not edit the .aaxplugin file name without extra work inside the folder aaxplugin.
There is definitely no Acustica folder at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins\ for me. So there is no harm in moving the Nebula aaxplugin files to an Acoustica folder? Would I also need to move all the XML files that are also in that directory, such as Nebula3.xml?


This sounds very exciting and I definitely want to try this out. Just concerned if I create this new folder and move things will future Nebula AAX installations not go right since I've moved files around.
I think for now, just change AAX setting in Nebula Setups to the proper folder (without Acustica).

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: NEW: Nebula Setups AAX experimental WIN only

Post by zabukowski » Sun Jan 24, 2016 6:36 pm

And remember IMPORTANT !!!

Nebula3 Reverb.aaxplugin is a FOLDER. So when changing/selecting base Nebula plugin, you are actually selecting a folder - you will not be able to enter file name!!!

Post Reply