Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:11 am

(Noob) problem solved. I just had to restart. Won't be so quick to post next time and sorry for clogging my own thread! :roll:
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by robschroeder » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:05 am

NAT comes always with x86 Version of Nebula. You need first install this version. It will be found in the repository folder you have installed.

Bit confusing but that's the way it is. It's a shame that AA is not pushing NAT more. Also documentation is very very poor. Fortunately I have found a great resource here in the forum and Tim Wisecup SOS article about NAT.

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:21 pm

Folks,

I am trying to get this setup working reliably, and having some issues. Does anyone have any advice for this:

Randomly but not always when opening Nat3 on Win7 x64 both as Admin and not, I get EAccess Violation error message and then an infinite loop of access violations following which require me to kill the processes. Any advice is much appreciated.

I will say I am using RME Fireface UFX and the drivers are unsigned, which is causing me to need to boot without driver signing enforcement every time.

Thanks,
MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by robschroeder » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:40 pm

Did you have a look here:
http://acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/viewto ... ion#p19742

and here?
http://acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/viewto ... tion#p9668

Maybe this helps?

I am using NAT with RME Fireface UC without any probs but on a native Win10 System not like you over a VM.

Cheers,
Rob

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:58 pm

Thanks very much, Rob. I don't know why I didn't see these posts when I searched. I am going to uninstall and go back through the versions until I find a stable one and I'll report back.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by robschroeder » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:33 am

You're welcome Mark.

If it helps: I am using latest version of Nebula Pro which is 1.3.903. If you first install the x86 version of Nebula Pro NAT comes with it which is version 1.3.903B. This runs very stable for me. No issues on 4 day on daily use so far.

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:31 pm

I've had to go back to an earlier version, but it is working much more stable now, with a few random crashes. I can work with this for now at least :)

Ok, another question: after trying my first sampling a few times, the sound is very strange - super washy and garbled audio and volume is very low. I don't believe I clipped or induced too much clipping at any point - i.e. the level seems calibrated well. I also have Nat and my A/D-D/A at the same frequency rate.

When looking at and listening to the recorded tone, it seems very strange, lots of clicking and popping and some strange dropouts. Does this normal to the more experienced folks, or should these be nice even sine type sweeps?

Thanks all,
MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by robschroeder » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:05 pm

You should have nice clean sweeps no crackles or anything.

If the programs are to silent you can increase the volume with the pad out parameter which you will find in PROG - EDIT - GLOBAL Menu. I learned to use the VST Plugin Analyser for matching my levels. Your level (pink line) should match around 0dB Magnitude. This you can increase with the pad out parameter.

You can find VST Analyser here: https://web.archive.org/web/20130208053 ... -programs/
Image 2.jpg

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:43 pm

Thanks for that, Rob - very good to know. I actually found VST Analyzer the other night and am excited to use it :)

Yes something is definitely weird over here - I'm looking into it now. I'm seeing some strange looking artifacts even on the quietest sweeps. I'll report back as soon as I get it figured out.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:26 am

I haven't been able to diagnose the clicking/popping problem just yet. I've attached two images of what I'm seeing on the recorded tones. It looks the same whether or not I'm looping through outboard gear or just a direct patch from input to output. Has anyone seen this before? Any ideas?

Thanks,
MG
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-10-27 at 11.23.43 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-10-27 at 11.23.32 PM.png
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by robschroeder » Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:00 am

Hm ... did you try to make some normal recordings in VM with your interface? Maybe that there is a drive issue with RME?

How does the testone file look like which is generated by NAT?

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by mathias » Sat Oct 29, 2016 2:06 am

my first suggestion would also be to check the driver in regard to the VM.
is it working reliably?
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
flaviusr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:35 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by flaviusr » Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:55 am

you can use latencymon software to have some insights about your problem, for me what solve that with lyra as interaface was to do a clean install of windows 10 without any update! Doing any system or drive update get me on big problems.
Last edited by flaviusr on Sat Oct 29, 2016 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dual boot /LGA 2011 /i7 3820 /32 GB /GA-X79S-UP5 / osX 10.9.5 - Win 10
Mac Book Pro 2.4 Ghz / 8 Gb / osX 10.9.5
Prism Sound Lyra 2 - RME-Fireface UCX - Octamic XTC
Nebula 4 Cubase Pro 9.5 Wavelab Pro 9 Reaper 5.91 Ozone 8 Pro Tools 12.5

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Sat Oct 29, 2016 7:28 am

Thanks for the advices - very kind and much appreciated. More tests have found that the test tone is generated correctly - definitely a problem post-NAT. Drivers are working fairly well to very well I think. NAT crashes frequently in an inexplicable circumstance however. I am thinking that perhaps it is an issue of lack of CPU power or RAM. I am running this on an i5 macbook air with 3 gb of ram and 2 cores allocated to my VM. I suspect this is the issue even though it's technically running fine.

My main studio computer is a 2010 mac pro dual 3.33 6-core xeon with 16gb of ram, however, I'm reluctant to install VM on it. I am thinking I'll generate and deconvolve on my macbook air and actually sample in my preferred daw and config on my mac, unless this seems unwise. I'm very aware of all of the tweaking I'll need to do once I'm beyond these issues and can't wait to get started.

I'll post any updates and thanks again!

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3459
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by Support » Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:29 am

markgalup wrote:Thanks for the advices - very kind and much appreciated. More tests have found that the test tone is generated correctly - definitely a problem post-NAT. Drivers are working fairly well to very well I think. NAT crashes frequently in an inexplicable circumstance however. I am thinking that perhaps it is an issue of lack of CPU power or RAM. I am running this on an i5 macbook air with 3 gb of ram and 2 cores allocated to my VM. I suspect this is the issue even though it's technically running fine.

My main studio computer is a 2010 mac pro dual 3.33 6-core xeon with 16gb of ram, however, I'm reluctant to install VM on it. I am thinking I'll generate and deconvolve on my macbook air and actually sample in my preferred daw and config on my mac, unless this seems unwise. I'm very aware of all of the tweaking I'll need to do once I'm beyond these issues and can't wait to get started.

I'll post any updates and thanks again!

MG
Do not share audio hardware device and/or driver when NAT is open or working.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

Post Reply