Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Sun Oct 23, 2016 6:47 am

Hi all,

I'm heavily considering trying my hand at sampling some of my gear, but I only currently have mac machines. Can anyone tell me if it would work for me to run windows on Parallels or VMware on my mac while sampling? I have never used either of those or bootcamp, so I'm just gathering info. Thanks very much in advance.

Also, big thanks to Tim Cupwise for the awesome Sound On Sound articles which I'm finally getting around to reading.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11142
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by giancarlo » Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:40 pm

Yes it works

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:42 pm

Great to know - thanks, G.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:02 am

Slightly OT but is the NAT sampling process very CPU and/or RAM heavy?
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
flaviusr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:35 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by flaviusr » Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:55 pm

It is not heavy but it can take days to tune your PC using Lyra 2 (the standard interface used by AA), since Prism sound drive for PC is not that stable.
Dual boot /LGA 2011 /i7 3820 /32 GB /GA-X79S-UP5 / osX 10.9.5 - Win 10
Mac Book Pro 2.4 Ghz / 8 Gb / osX 10.9.5
Prism Sound Lyra 2 - RME-Fireface UCX - Octamic XTC
Nebula 4 Cubase Pro 9.5 Wavelab Pro 9 Reaper 5.91 Ozone 8 Pro Tools 12.5

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by mathias » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:53 pm

markgalup wrote:Slightly OT but is the NAT sampling process very CPU and/or RAM heavy?
the sampling process itself is not. it just records the testones that are sent through the hardware.
deconvolution is mainly cpu heavy and can take a while if you have many kernels and dynamic layers (different gainlevels).
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by mathias » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:55 pm

flaviusr wrote:It is not heavy but it can take days to tune your PC using Lyra 2 (the standard interface used by AA), since Prism sound drive for PC is not that stable.
so that's a problem of the interfacedrivers then. i never had problems with rme drivers here. have to test the motu avb drivers here for sampling.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:00 pm

Thank you flaviusr and matthias for being so helpful. Very interesting and good to know. I am using a mac system with digidesign and cranesong so I will be curious how things go regarding drivers. I'll report back if that is of interest to anyone.

Just curious, what do you generally mean regarding tuning of interfaces? What are the symptoms of an "untuned" interface? I may be ignorantly assuming that if I get the driver and interface working, everything else will be fairly straightforward.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by mathias » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:05 pm

markgalup wrote:Thank you flaviusr and matthias for being so helpful. Very interesting and good to know. I am using a mac system with digidesign and cranesong so I will be curious how things go regarding drivers. I'll report back if that is of interest to anyone.

Just curious, what do you generally mean regarding tuning of interfaces? What are the symptoms of an "untuned" interface? I may be ignorantly assuming that if I get the driver and interface working, everything else will be fairly straightforward.

MG
i also don't know, what flaviusr means by tuning the interface :)

if the driver is working stable and you compensated for the delay in NAT (channel-loopback with testtone, automatic procedure in NAT), everything should be good to go.
maybe the lyra pc driver is buggy? or when you use vmware or parallels, there could be a problem with this environment and realtimeaudio, that need to be looked at, to find the correct settings (driver latency and such).
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
flaviusr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:35 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by flaviusr » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:18 pm

I didn´t talk about tuning the interface :) I was talking about tuning the PC. Disabling some drives, processes, etc... because any latency will ruin your sampling work
Dual boot /LGA 2011 /i7 3820 /32 GB /GA-X79S-UP5 / osX 10.9.5 - Win 10
Mac Book Pro 2.4 Ghz / 8 Gb / osX 10.9.5
Prism Sound Lyra 2 - RME-Fireface UCX - Octamic XTC
Nebula 4 Cubase Pro 9.5 Wavelab Pro 9 Reaper 5.91 Ozone 8 Pro Tools 12.5

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:01 pm

flaviusr wrote:I didn´t talk about tuning the interface :) I was talking about tuning the PC. Disabling some drives, processes, etc... because any latency will ruin your sampling work
Ah I understand now, thanks for clarifying, flaviusr. Once I get going with this I'll be able to converse more about the finer points :)
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by robschroeder » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:10 pm

Performing some tests (Online Step Sampling) as I am new to NAT. See screenshot about resources.
Resources.jpg

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:51 pm

robschroeder wrote:Performing some tests (Online Step Sampling) as I am new to NAT. See screenshot about resources.
Resources.jpg
Great to know - thanks, Rob.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:55 pm

Ok, another OT post: I have Win7 x64 running in VMware fusion on my mac and I've installed this file, "Setup Nebula3 Server Win VST 1.4.009.0", but I can't find where Nat3 is installing on the pc? The alias is there but it can't find the executable. Any advice? I don't see an option for running the installer as admin. Thanks in advance for all the help.

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

User avatar
markgalup
Expert
Expert
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Nat Sampling in Windows via Parallels/VMware on a Mac?

Post by markgalup » Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:36 pm

Ok, found Nat3 in an older version of the installer after searching. I'm getting an Exception Error which pops open up a million windows... Is this a symptom of not having a license for Nebula installed?

EDIT: I've found some reports of this type of error happening with templates but wanted to clarify this is happening upon opening Nat3 - so it will not open at the moment.

Any advice is much appreciated. I'm sure I sound like a noob because I am a windows and nat noob :( :)
Mark Galup
Producer/Mixer/MFiT-Approved Mastering Engineer
MarkGalup.com
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA -> Contact me for US Discounts

Post Reply