offline multi not working

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: offline multi not working

Post by jorismak » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:37 am

I made a post here yesterday that is now simply vanished? It was a reply on kels and now it's nowhere to be seen....

I'll try to write it again.

Thing is, I understand the idea of "we can't help you get perfect results with NAT". That takes time and skill, and if you would do that for every customer you don't have any time left. So I understand that, and no problem. I bought the tool, skills with the tool are my problem, not yours :). That the software is a little rough around the edges is also no problem.

But certain features are just simply not there that are apparently in a different version which is frustrating. I managed to sample something (guitar cab) that sounds _awesome_ using the 'Distorted Pre (7 kernels) - stone3' session. Very happy with the results. Now I want that same session but with a switch / slider so I can capture multiple mic positions and blend/interpolate between them. Now suddenly that is not possible? But it IS possible for a 3rd party dev? Do you see how frustrating that can be?

It would be better if NAT was never specified in the marketing and product description. If you were only buying Nebula - a tool to reproduce sampled analog gear - it was no biggie. If NAT was in there 'as a bonus' and 'as is, no support' it would be no problem.
But NAT is clearly specified as an extra in the Nebula3 Pro package, and the version in Nebula Pro has more possibilities than the one in Free for example, so you market it as a tool to sell. You can't just remove it then later.

Once again, I don't 'demand' help with the tool (not at all). I want it to be fully there. You describe NAT3 as sampling multiple kernels and the THD. And the version in Pro has as extra feature over the version in Free that you can add knobs/sliders to the programs (the multi page in NAT3). But now I find out that the only programs I can make with NAT are either clean-with-knobs (3 kernels or less) or more kernels but then without knobs.... only because the session file is not there?! It just feels like you're holding out.

I'm very happy with NAT how it is and I don't want to see it go (well, if there are no bugs that make it stop working)... I just want all the sessions to be available.
giancarlo wrote:nat was repaired several weeks or months ago. Current version should be 1.3.681 if I'm not wrong
Just for your information (and as said in this thread, and in my support ticket) 1.3.681 NAT3 refuses to deconvolve anything (offline). Downgrading to 1.3.636 makes it work.

So NAT was broken before (it would not start up), it got fixed, now it's broken again (it won't deconvolve offline).

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:52 pm

as you said, you got good results using a session. Simply you can't get the slider thing. Each tool in the market is somewhat limited. The fact that someone else is reaching better results using a tool which is not in the marketplace is not relevant.
Yes it is possible latest nat introduces bugs. For this reason we have more releases online.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:23 pm

btw I confirm the bug, we are working on it

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:48 pm

ok, it was solved, but let me verify it better. We'll release it in nebula 1.3.7 (which introduces a lot of hidden features and optimizations).

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: offline multi not working

Post by jorismak » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:56 pm

Like I said, it was just a 'for your information' at the end of the post. In the support-ticket (I think it's Enrique answering?) I already received '1.3.681 seems to not work, use 1.3.636 for now, nothing new was added so you're not missing out, we will release 1.3.700 soon'.

So I wasn't complaining.. just when I saw you reply 'NAT3 is fixed and working now' I started doubting if you knew about the issues in 1.3.681.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:14 pm

yes you are right. Fixed version is named 1.3.705 or upper.

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3404
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: offline multi not working

Post by Support » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:41 pm

There have mixed issues. NAT 1.3.673 and 1.3.681 are buggy but you also are modifying NAT session in a way that template are not ready for deconvolve.

NOTE: in NAT3, NAT3 FREE, etc. Templates are embedded in NAT sessions. You can not change anything in sessions for change templates and if you create a session with a wrong parameters NAT will stop or crash during deconvolution.

To make thing more clear
NAT session = sampling
NAT template = deconvolution

NAT session can be modified in a quite open way but if you add dimension in a session with a template that is not ready for that, NAT will stop or crash during deconvolution.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: offline multi not working

Post by jorismak » Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:43 pm

Hi again,

one quick point: Tested the 1.3.707 NAT3 I received as test real quick: Seems to deconvolve (offline) just fine with existing sessions, will try some more later tonight / in the week.

About switches/knobs/snappy values:
What are the snappy values supposed to be? 'switch VAR' or 'switch' in the session-name? Or something else?

I suddenly managed to make something with snappy values (while I was trying NOT to this time :P) so I'm still a bit confused how that's supposed to work.

When are the values snappy, and when does Nebula interpolate between them?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:58 pm

there is a keyword in vector, so you could get interpolated or not. It depends on the template used, yes it should be switched directive

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: offline multi not working

Post by jorismak » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:52 pm

Sorry, still don't understand your answer..

Which templates are snappy, which are interpolated?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:34 am

do not change templates. Use sessions as is. The only thing you could do is trying deconvolve later using a different and similar template. Im not sure about switch, it should be 'snappy'. Just check if what I remember is correct.

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: offline multi not working

Post by jorismak » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:20 am

Ok ok sorry, I mean the same but type something different:

which sessions have snappy values which sessions are interpolated?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11147
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: offline multi not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:57 pm

if I remember correctly SWITCH = NOT INTERPOLATED

soundwizard99
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:44 pm

Re: offline multi not working

Post by soundwizard99 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:59 pm

Although this is old, I share the frustration with the OP. I have used Nebula for close to 10 years, I have supported them from the beginning but I have to say that Acustica has the absolute worse support of any product or service that I have experienced in over 40 years. I'm not sure why it's like this but something is clearly wrong and needs fixing. All you seem to get is smart remarks, cryptic messages and attitude.

Post Reply