Automatic input/output level calibration.

Nebula feature suggestions
Post Reply
wakestyle
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:48 pm

Automatic input/output level calibration.

Post by wakestyle » Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:04 pm

Would be for the following reasons:

-Help to hit Nebula programs with the 'sweetspot' signal levels

-Help novice understand proper levels appropriate for using Nebula

-Make playing through live more easier to get consistent results (eg press 1 button to re-balance levels).

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Automatic input/output level calibration.

Post by enriquesilveti » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:36 am

-Help to hit Nebula programs with the 'sweetspot' signal levels

-Help novice understand proper levels appropriate for using Nebula
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic
Make playing through live more easier to get consistent results (eg press 1 button to re-balance levels).
It's part of your job, replace with automatic feature could not be appropriated.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

wakestyle
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: Automatic input/output level calibration.

Post by wakestyle » Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:02 am

I think you really ignored the intent behind the suggestion. Then again, Nebula is no user friendly program by design.

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Automatic input/output level calibration.

Post by Cupwise » Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:00 pm

wakestyle wrote:I think you really ignored the intent behind the suggestion. Then again, Nebula is no user friendly program by design.
i think what enrique meant by saying it's your job to do this, is that it wouldn't even be possible to have this done automatically. nebula would have no way of knowing where the 'sweet spot' in any particular program was, first off. it's going to be in different spots for different programs. how could nebula know where it's at?

2nd, for nebula to adjust the input to the correct level so that it's hitting the sweet spot would require nebula to essentially employ some form of compression/auto gain adjustment. it would constantly be adjusting the signal because maybe at one second the signal is quiet, so nebula adjusts that to the sweet spot, but then your signal gets loud and nebula would bring that down so it would still be in the sweet spot. that would result in your dynamic range being compressed.

so it's just completely and utterly not possible, and just as enrique said, it is your job to do it manually.

Post Reply