GUI disappears in Reaper

Serious issues
Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Finnish » Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:14 pm

Reaper 3.75
Latest Nebula 3 Pro build

I can insert 2-3 Nebula (usuallu non-reverb) and after that when I try to insert Nebula to a track it usually opens just a non-GUI version, I see only a Reaper FX-box with just (Reaper) sliders in it.

Anyone?

User avatar
fuseburn
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by fuseburn » Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:28 pm

32 or 64 bit ?
How much RAM ?

Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Finnish » Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:29 pm

32bit Reaper. 4gb ram

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10906
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by giancarlo » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:33 pm

how much ram is reaper using?

Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Finnish » Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:49 pm

IIRC the overall mem usage was something like 1,5gb

Martinez
Member
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:03 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Martinez » Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:40 pm

Sounds like a ram problem to Me.

I've noticed that You don't have be using You full amount of ram to start to have problems that are ram related.

I read somewhere about windows using a lot of juice juice just to do screen redraws and the like.
Apparently it handles graphics in a very inefficient way.

1.5 gigs of ram is a hell of a lot of ram for just reaper to be using unless Your using virtual instruments as well.

Are You using virtual instruments as well?

Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Finnish » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:44 pm

I've got Kontakt 4 in my session that's using modified (smaller amount of samples) Steven Slate Drums, but IIRC it's bypassed.

Anyway, I'm mixing again today, I'll report later what's up.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by enriquesilveti » Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:28 pm

The problem is not the amount of used RAM, is the RAM defragmentation.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

Martinez
Member
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:03 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Martinez » Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:34 pm

Do You mean ram fragmentation enriqesilveti?

I would have thought that the ram being defragmented would have been a good thing.

I'm confused now?

Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Post by Finnish » Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:40 am

So what does that mean?

Post Reply