N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Serious issues
User avatar
cpwade
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by cpwade » Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:40 am

RJHollins wrote:IAMCRISIS,

Did you read this post:
http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... ead#unread

from the user, he says:
oh nice...

by the way after scrolling down trought these many pages i came across a info that was usefull and no more crash..

i changed the dsp buffer..it was 1024..and i've changed to 256 my normal buffer... and it works just fine no more crashes even with previous conflicting programs...

i don't know if that was the issue but it works now.
might this be useful ?
I can confirm that on PT 12.7 | OS X 10.12.2 | with only N4 rev F
"new engine" clean install at 256 buffer on an old test machine #1 I have been able to load, save, reboot and reload without any issues at all. Only 3rd party lib on this machine atm is Ho. I do not have N3 on this machine. I did find that hard linking the OS X directory- "repository" (it's on a separate drive) in OS X finder seemed to help the crashing on older revisions , D,E. I have become comfortable with the finder menu scroll after fighting that change for a week. Machine runs great. My 2c today. Milage may vary.
Attachments
Untitled.tiff
Untitled.tiff (1.03 MiB) Viewed 2715 times
OSX | Pro Tools | Logic | Nebula | Lime | Gold | Sand | PrimeStudio | Gibson | Marshall |
https://open.spotify.com/artist/436gTxTrv3V3She67Y2hHC
http://www.facebook.com/bratkatrecords
http://www.facebook.com/SummerwindDirective/

User avatar
cpwade
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by cpwade » Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:26 am

Confirmed on machine 2. Same settings as above except buffer at 1024, no changes to xml, this is stock. Using Jus11 Rom Dict tweaks. Version F. N4 and N3 together with most of my libs loaded back in, I'm not using atldatapath, just rom pointers.. Working fine. No crashes. I have not stress tested but I'll do that when I load up in my studio machine.

*Edit- I did the libs cave man style and just dumped them over to program and vectors on N4 subtracting the INIT from N3.
Attachments
Untitled 2.tiff
Untitled 2.tiff (1016.87 KiB) Viewed 2707 times
OSX | Pro Tools | Logic | Nebula | Lime | Gold | Sand | PrimeStudio | Gibson | Marshall |
https://open.spotify.com/artist/436gTxTrv3V3She67Y2hHC
http://www.facebook.com/bratkatrecords
http://www.facebook.com/SummerwindDirective/

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by Support » Wed Jan 18, 2017 2:28 pm

Pro Tools crash is related with N4 INIT files and N4 protected libraries like CPCL v5.

We are waiting a debug for new version.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

IAMCRISIS
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:13 am

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by IAMCRISIS » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:17 am

I'm going to be downloading the latest version and checking to see if it works. Any particular things o have to do? Or do I just install the new version over the old one? Thanks for the help guys.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11121
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by giancarlo » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:48 am

If you experience crashes just raise a ticket
They will create init files using the old procedure and it will work (confirmed on many sessions we tested)

IAMCRISIS
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:13 am

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by IAMCRISIS » Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:09 am

giancarlo wrote:If you experience crashes just raise a ticket
They will create init files using the old procedure and it will work (confirmed on many sessions we tested)
Thank you brother!

IAMCRISIS
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:13 am

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by IAMCRISIS » Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:43 am

So I downloaded the latest version and followed the instructions. Created a brand new session. Loaded 4 instances of N4, saved the session and closed it. When I went to reopen the session. Pro Tools crashed. :(

antago1
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:29 am

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by antago1 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:08 am

Same here. :roll:

Pro Tools 12.7 Mac OS X 10.9.5

IAMCRISIS
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:13 am

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by IAMCRISIS » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:08 pm

So I just checked my support ticket and saw that they added new INIT files for me to download. I downloaded them and replaced the old ones and deleted all of the files in the "Temp" folder and BOOM, it's finally working. I can load a session with multiple instances without Pro Tools crashing while loading a session.

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3594
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: N4 Crashes Pro Tools While Loading Up Session

Post by RJHollins » Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:43 pm

Excellent !
8-)
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

Post Reply