3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Serious issues
greekpeet
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:28 pm

3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by greekpeet » Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:29 pm

Running Ableton 64bit 8.4.1 with newest Nebula installer.

Tried every suggestion listed on the forum for opening package contents with the installer, etc.

Still not showing up, then thought to cross reference the .plst file (as that was an issue with .505 - which btw never did work for me either even after much conversation with G several months ago).

Is the installer broken?

Also the 32bit version of .600 won't wrap either, so something strange is going on.

dai
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by dai » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:20 pm

if you are in osx--the au works for reaper x86 for me, try that--i am not sure 1.3.6 is x64....

i was able to find errors in the mac "console" utility

greekpeet
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by greekpeet » Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:44 am

dai wrote:if you are in osx--the au works for reaper x86 for me, try that--i am not sure 1.3.6 is x64....

i was able to find errors in the mac "console" utility
Yea, still no dice, crashes once I click on the GUI.
Its registered too, so it isn't that.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2860
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by enriquesilveti » Fri Sep 13, 2013 3:12 pm

greekpeet wrote:Running Ableton 64bit 8.4.1 with newest Nebula installer.

Tried every suggestion listed on the forum for opening package contents with the installer, etc.

Still not showing up, then thought to cross reference the .plst file (as that was an issue with .505 - which btw never did work for me either even after much conversation with G several months ago).

Is the installer broken?

Also the 32bit version of .600 won't wrap either, so something strange is going on.
Reported.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W8.1 | OSX 10.10.5 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 ( W10 CU | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Digiface USB | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM W10 FCU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | BW1 | NIK5

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11158
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:07 am

Install an old version...

dacaveprods
Member
Member
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:36 pm

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by dacaveprods » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:47 pm

Also having Backwards compatibility problems with the newest upgrade...32bit version server upgrade, (Using Nuendo 4,32bit XP Pro) i can open a project but when i try to remove Nebula it just hangs Nuendo older projects (before upgrade)Newer projects is fine, but older project freezes...Older project used .3.505! let me know if there's a fix for this...Thanx!!!

Emjay
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 5:37 pm

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by Emjay » Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:42 am

same issue here.... in Nuendo and Wavelab

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11158
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Tried every suggestion. 3.600 still not working

Post by giancarlo » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:46 pm

original post was about mac osx (he was speaking about plist and installers).
If you have bugs please open a topic about windows! at the moment there are various bug reports about windows in our forum but NO TOPIC ABOUT WINDOW OPEN IN BUGS SECTION!!!!


windows and mac osx are completely different.

FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: 3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by FrankydT » Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:42 pm

Hi Giancarlo,
Here 1.3.600 Server is working like a charm on SL in 64 bit.
Only in 32 is a bit slow. But not a big problem, for me.
Really, good work. Thank you!!! :D
I've only 2 (maybe silly) questions about the 'new' xml files installed.

1- Inside the VST plugins folder, OUTSIDE Acustica/Acustica64 folders,
there's a file named 'Acustica\Nebula3 Reverb.xml'. :?:
Is its position correct or its existence needed?
Just to know.

2- The NEW xmls of Nebula and Nebula Reverb
Has NOT these strings/voices: :!:
<LOADERPRIORITY> 1 </LOADERPRIORITY>
<OTIMED> 5 </OTIMED>
<OFREQD> 11 </OFREQD>
<FASTBOOT> 1 </FASTBOOT>
<MIDISTSMIX1> 176 </MIDISTSMIX1>
<MIDICTRMIX1> 127 </MIDICTRMIX1>
<MIDISTSMIX2> 176 </MIDISTSMIX2>
<MIDICTRMIX2> 127 </MIDICTRMIX2>
<MIDISTSMIX3> 176 </MIDISTSMIX3>
<MIDICTRMIX3> 127 </MIDICTRMIX3>
<MIDISTSMIX4> 176 </MIDISTSMIX4>
<MIDICTRMIX4> 127 </MIDICTRMIX4>
<MIDISTSMIX5> 176 </MIDISTSMIX5>
<MIDICTRMIX5> 127 </MIDICTRMIX5>
<MIDISTSMIX6> 176 </MIDISTSMIX6>
<MIDICTRMIX6> 127 </MIDICTRMIX6>
<MIDISTSMIX7> 176 </MIDISTSMIX7>
<MIDICTRMIX7> 127 </MIDICTRMIX7>
<MIDISTSMIX8> 176 </MIDISTSMIX8>
<MIDICTRMIX8> 127 </MIDICTRMIX8>

ONLY in Nebula3 Reverb.xml, it lacks
<DSPBUFFER> 512 </DSPBUFFER> too

For security i've backup these new xmls and I've manually added these voices. (No issues so far)

The already cited 'Acustica\Nebula3 Reverb.xml' doesn't lack these strings.

Just to be sure, it's better to leave as the installer did?
Or it's a no-brainer all this?

Thank you

P.S. Are you going to add the (New and old) Win features to mac too?
(G-Drive, Smooth Upgrade etc. I don't care for Smooth, but please G-Drive! (I don't see a suitable emoticon :lol: )

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3899
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: 3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by RJHollins » Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:36 pm

MIDISTSMIX1> 176 </MIDISTSMIX1>
<MIDICTRMIX1> 127 </MIDICTRMIX1>
<MIDISTSMIX2> 176 </MIDISTSMIX2>
<MIDICTRMIX2> 127 </MIDICTRMIX2>
<MIDISTSMIX3> 176 </MIDISTSMIX3>
<MIDICTRMIX3> 127 </MIDICTRMIX3>
<MIDISTSMIX4> 176 </MIDISTSMIX4>
<MIDICTRMIX4> 127 </MIDICTRMIX4>
<MIDISTSMIX5> 176 </MIDISTSMIX5>
<MIDICTRMIX5> 127 </MIDICTRMIX5>
<MIDISTSMIX6> 176 </MIDISTSMIX6>
<MIDICTRMIX6> 127 </MIDICTRMIX6>
<MIDISTSMIX7> 176 </MIDISTSMIX7>
<MIDICTRMIX7> 127 </MIDICTRMIX7>
<MIDISTSMIX8> 176 </MIDISTSMIX8>
<MIDICTRMIX8> 127 </MIDICTRMIX8>
This section in the XML file handles the Continuous Controller [CC] assignment.

It has been some time, but what you describe, confirms that this section of code was not included with a new install. We had to manually edit these in.

To help ... I have a section in the documentation that will come with the NVC MIDI controllers that I'm developing, that details this.

This list is really 8 pairs of values [176] identifies this as a [CC] MIDI command. The [127] is a place-holder [not technically correct], but as a default, it basically dis-abled. We have to edit these [127] to a usable value.

These 8 pairs of values correspond to the 8 faders/knobs on the Nebula GUI. To allow MIDI control of each of these faders, I use the standard [CC] values of 20 - 27. So the section of XML code looks like this:

Code: Select all

<MIDISTSMIX1> 176 </MIDISTSMIX1>
  <MIDICTRMIX1> 20 </MIDICTRMIX1>
  <MIDISTSMIX2> 176 </MIDISTSMIX2>
  <MIDICTRMIX2> 21 </MIDICTRMIX2>
  <MIDISTSMIX3> 176 </MIDISTSMIX3>
  <MIDICTRMIX3> 22 </MIDICTRMIX3>
  <MIDISTSMIX4> 176 </MIDISTSMIX4>
  <MIDICTRMIX4> 23 </MIDICTRMIX4>
  <MIDISTSMIX5> 176 </MIDISTSMIX5>
  <MIDICTRMIX5> 24 </MIDICTRMIX5>
  <MIDISTSMIX6> 176 </MIDISTSMIX6>
  <MIDICTRMIX6> 25 </MIDICTRMIX6>
  <MIDISTSMIX7> 176 </MIDISTSMIX7>
  <MIDICTRMIX7> 26 </MIDICTRMIX7>
  <MIDISTSMIX8> 176 </MIDISTSMIX8>
  <MIDICTRMIX8> 27 </MIDICTRMIX8>
With this data added into your master XML file, whenever you create custom Nebulas [using Zab's Nebula SetUp] app, this MIDI data will be included in the custom XML. [so basically a one-time edit].

This concept will be used in the NVC series, but you can also then use automation on them.

Didn't mean to divert ... but thought this info useful to help clarify.
8-)
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Post by FrankydT » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:02 am

Thank you for the tip!
I realised that it was for Midi commands, but what I was wondering:
If those values were deleted, would that mean that this function has been erased?
In other words, with the new version 1.3.600, if I restore them, with the correct values you kindly provided, Nebula can be again be Midi-controlled? Is it implemented in the new version?
The strings I posted were from my original 1.3.502 mac installer.
(Till now, I've never tried to automatize Nebula, so I can't say if before it was working :D , usually I use real hardware, I'll give it a try)

Changing subject, about your MammothEQ controller and a pc vst to osx wrapper, I know only one: Wacvst.
The only problem, you'll need a mac: XCode only.
And it's quite old. It would be a pc vst chainer(MultiFXVST) wrapped to osx that can load other osx vst. And I think it's 32 bit only.
Exactly, is needed:
MultiFXVST
Wacvst
VST 2.4.3 SDK, MAYBE also with 3.0.1 works
VSTKit
Wine
Crossover port
XCode 3, MAYBE also 4
XQuartz
MacPorts
gdiplus.dll
MissWatson
Juce
PluginHost

Quite a list, isn't it? I have all this, but never tried. The wrapping procedure is very long. And results are not guaranteed. (So says in Wacvst documentation)
I've looked for others, but nothing.
Maybe it's better use the new feature of LogicX
(for now, I'll stick with Snow Leopard and Logic 9, I don't like ML and for now LogicX is a bit buggy)
or wait that, maybe, Reaper implements something similar.

Thank you again for the tips!! :D
Last edited by FrankydT on Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: 3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by FrankydT » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:21 am

Anyway, if you want, I could give a try for porting to osx with Wacvst.
But as I said, I can't guarantee...
It's a shame, I'd like a controller on OSX...
Maybe I'll pick the Virsyn one...

Returning to topic:

The thing most strange to me was the lack of DSPBUFFER.
I hope I didn't make nothing wrong retyping it in the xml of Nebula Reverb...
But no issues so far...

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3899
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: 3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by RJHollins » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:27 am

... quite the list :shock: I hope a good solution develops.

As to the MIDI [CC] commands ... I'd be surprised if this function was removed from NEBULA. If I recall, I don't remember these commands coming from the original XML file. We had a Member here that began a very interesting project that took on combining multiple NEB libraries under a single GUI. He provided the XML edit that we use to this day.

There is suppose to be a way to do this directly within Nebula's MIDI page ... but I never figured out how to do it. The edit XML file was [scary at first] :o but simple to do ... and it worked. I use this for all the NVC controllers.

If concerned, make a backup copy to have ... that way if something messes up, you have the working copy near by.

hope that helps 8-)
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: 3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by FrankydT » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:38 am

First rule is: ALWAYS keep a backup :D
And I keep every release-update versions backup of every software or plugin I have...
About the strange xml... It can be
I'll look if older versions are different.
With Pacifist I can extract and compare in a minute.
But a thing is strange: the xml I posted of 1.3.502 osx is dated 8 august 2012, exactly as the new 1.3.600 that lacks those voices.
Maybe it's only an error...
We'll see...
I'm giving a look to older version

FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: 3.600 still not working [edit MAC OSX]

Post by FrankydT » Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:07 am

It seems the xml problem is a NO problem.
That voices maybe came from one of the very first releases of Nebula osx.
Or more probably I've seen those on this forum a while ago, I wrote them on the xml and I've keep them...
From the stable old 1.3.492 that voices aren't on the xml.
Nor 1.3.502, nor 1.3.505, not even now
It was me that at every update replaced it with my backup xml
I keep a backup of it and dictionary, other than obviously the ser files
and at every update I replace the newly installed
Deleting what I've added, but I'll keep the middi cc strings you kindly provided and I'll give a try in automation.
Thank you again!!!
Sorry G.
This was only a problem created by me. :oops:
But I learned something new.
With reverb, delay and such it can be very useful
The only question now is about that 'Acustica\Nebula3 Reverb.xml' file outside acustica folder.
THAT I'm sure it wasn't there before.
But probably it's an installer error without any consequence.
I'll leave just there

Post Reply