Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Serious issues
faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:19 pm

Hi,

My specs. Windows 7 32bit. 4gig DDR3 Ram (3 usable) Pentium 4 quad core. Nebula Pro 3, Reaper.

I have noticed a problem with Nebula that is causing me a lot of hassle. I will try to explain exaltly what is happening.


I am working on a project and I am staring to render the tracks to audio with various console and EQ through nebula. So I open Reaper and then open windows task manager performance tab to check the RAM usage (I have to do this because Reaper closes when the FREE number gets to zero).

Say that there is 1078 MB Physical Memory before I start loading instances of Nebula. After I have loaded say 6 instances with EQ's and consoles the amount of FREE RAM in task manager will be considerably lower (250 MB or less for example).

I then render this track and re-import it. I can then remove the original track with the 6 instances of nebula on and then start the procedure for the next track.

THE PROBLEM is that once I have unloaded the original track and Nebula, the FREE RAM in windows task manager does NOT go back up much (if any). This means I can not add any more instances of Nebula because Reaper will close.

The only way to get the RAM back is to save Reaper, Restart windows and open Reaper again and the free RAM is back up to 1078 (for example).

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE tell me there is a fix for this as it is becoming a big problem for me and I know some others are having problems with Nebula GUI not loading in Reaper (this is the same problem).
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

Mplay
Member
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by Mplay » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:59 pm

You can take effect off-line (instead of bypass), this frees up ram

faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:11 pm

Hi, I didn't mention bypass. I REMOVE the instances of nebula and the ram stays the same. (unloading could help in some cases tho)

Thanks.
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:08 pm

So WHY has the developers not responded here? :roll:
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

Barendse
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:10 pm

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by Barendse » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:34 pm

Same problems overhere. It takes about 5 minutes to unload the RAM after closing a Cubase project with 50 Nebula instances. Don't know if this is a Nebula issue (Windows 7 64 bit/Q6600/8G RAM).

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2860
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by enriquesilveti » Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:58 pm

More RAM does not means not RAM fragmentation. Please report it with a LOG, Acustica Audio crash or bug report > http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W8.1 | OSX 10.10.5 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 ( W10 CU | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Digiface USB | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM W10 FCU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | BW1 | NIK5

faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:54 pm

Nebula doesn't seem to crash but Reaper disappears/closes.

I don't know how to do crash logs and such, I'm sorry I'm only a user not a developer.

Fact is, Nebula OR Reaper is causing this and I need to sort it out.
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by elam » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:36 pm

faun2500 wrote:I don't know how to do crash logs and such, I'm sorry I'm only a user not a developer.
:roll:

Check the link Enrique send you,read it and send it back to them ...
You're a musician...? That mean that you're a little electronician,electrician,computer savy,mathematician,sound engineer, sidekick,etc,etc...it comes with it ...

As for a possible solution, check some free RAM manager/optimizer on the web.I don't have no names in mind but it's easy to find.It can help you, while the AA team try to find a solution.



Good luck.

dpclarkson
Member
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by dpclarkson » Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:53 pm

The same happens here in Logic 9.1.3.
It's a known issue; I resolve it by just rebooting Logic.
OSX doesn't need to be rebooted.
A fix would be better, though...
How's that 'RAM-distribution' coming?

faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:54 am

So its not only me - that's good then! :lol:

But it needs a fix fast. I go from 1.5 gig free RAM down to 100MB in 5 minutes with nebula.

After rendering and deleting all the instances of Nebula my RAM is still very low and my PC needs a restart!


Sort this out please!
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11158
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by giancarlo » Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:39 am

nebula releases everything when it's unloaded (freed).
Maybe the host is simply closing it without unloading

faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:58 pm

Thanks for the response. So I take it from your comment that Reaper might not be unloading the plugin.

I will now go to the Reaper forum. (but i might be back!) ;)
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by Mercado_Negro » Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:07 pm

Have you tried it checking this option under Preferences/Plug-ins/VST?
UnloadPlug-in.png
UnloadPlug-in.png (58.75 KiB) Viewed 3814 times
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by faun2500 » Sat Apr 02, 2011 11:02 am

Yes this is ticked.

Thanks.
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2860
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Urgent - Nebula Pro 3 Not Releasing RAM when unloaded!

Post by enriquesilveti » Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:56 pm

Check the link Enrique send you,read it and send it back to them ...You're a musician...?
I was, acoustic drums...
That mean that you're a little electronician,electrician,computer savy,mathematician,sound engineer, sidekick,etc,etc...it comes with it...
I'm electronic + audio technician freelancer working in live audio (music, events, touring) and audiovisual productions (TV, movies) + freelance audio consultant and installer.
As for a possible solution, check some free RAM manager/optimizer on the web. I don't have no names in mind but it's easy to find. It can help you, while the AA team try to find a solution.
There is not much we can provide solutions. You should think in switch to W7 x64 or any x64 OS, like lasted OSX. We already done last year, we sell a lot of audio gear and PC hardware and buy new one x64 ready.

This year we will contact some sequencer developers for make an agree for better customer support. We start to realize RAM problems in x86 OS system after read a long paper from Mark's Blog (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... s/bb963890)

If your sequencer goes unstable by OS RAM usage/fragmentation and crash and don't release RAM, we can not do anything than recommend you to switch to a x64 OS.

.LOG report show us RAM usage, you just might add a <DL> 6 </DL> into Nebula .XML using a notepad or similar and send us, we can contact your sequencer developers for a fix but I think they will recommend to switch to a x64 OS.

There a RAM defragmetation app.: http://www.catbytes.de/index.htm
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W8.1 | OSX 10.10.5 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 ( W10 CU | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Digiface USB | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM W10 FCU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | BW1 | NIK5

Post Reply