R2R question, opinions

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs
Yllet
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:00 pm

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by Yllet » Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:09 pm

Dogbite wrote:Just to be double double clear then... :-)

In a scenario where I wanted to process my audio files offline using both R2R tape and then an AlexB console program, to get the best results I should:

Normalize the files to 0db first and nebulize them with R2R to get the best results from the tape program.

THEN use NRGUI with the -18db processing gain switch to nebulize the files again with AlexB's console program?

So both libraries are then being fed audio at their optimum level?

H :?:
No, no and no! Never normalize audio files as it lowers the original sound quality.

/Jon

Dogbite
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:03 pm

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by Dogbite » Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:31 pm

Ah..damn!

I thought I was being clever.

:(

User avatar
yr
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by yr » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:22 pm

Some R2R presets will actually go above 0dBFS if you feed them a normalized signal (so not advisable). If you are working with 32bit (float) files, normalizing in itself will not effect the quality of the audio.
Reuven | post-production & sound-design | scenography |
website | nebula presets

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by Mercado_Negro » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:34 pm

How come Normalize changes the quality of your audio when the only thing it does is to take your loudest peak to a determined gain (mostly unity gain)? It increases the noise floor, yeah but that's not a 'damage'. I don't use Normalize because I don't need it but most people think it is a bad thing when it is just another processes which in most cases is not destructive inside applications. By the way, when you increase your Nebula input you're doing exactly the same thing.
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by enriquesilveti » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:17 am

Peak normalize into a 32/64 bits float host will not lower the quality of you audio files, you rise the peak level to the normalize value and the noise too. If you record at the correct level 24 bits AD converter > 0 dBVU = -18 dBFS you should have a -20/-18 dBFS RMS audio files with peaks at -6 to -15 dBFS.

If I need to normalize I use RMS normalization due peak normalization is just a fader level gain, if you use a 24/48 fixed point host, normalize will introduce dither like every other process done under fixed point, so you can consider dither = lower the quality of you audio files while Avid (and others) consider dither = more precision (almost more precision than a 32/64 bits float audio file)
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

Dogbite
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:03 pm

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by Dogbite » Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:15 pm

Doh!

This might be all irrelevant - I've just realised that -18dbfs and 0db may well be the same thing.....

User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by ngarjuna » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:21 pm

Dogbite wrote:Doh!

This might be all irrelevant - I've just realised that -18dbfs and 0db may well be the same thing.....
Correct.

odd
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:50 am

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by odd » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:12 am

One more time for my distraught mind: it's okay to feed the R2R programs with a signal peaking just below 0db? I have all my DAW signal chains set up to 0db peak before fader so that would be a relief.

But this is not advisable for the AlexB console programs, correct? And the -18db they need refers to RMS not peak? Can I adjust this from within the program, no need for a trim plug first?

User avatar
yr
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by yr » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:41 am

Depending on the source, some R2R presets will generate a signal higher the 0dBFS when fed with sound that peaks close to 0 dB. I just tried it with a normalized drum track in combination with the Studer -9 -15a and some peaks were as high as 0.9dB. Studer 0 15a produced peaks reaching 1.9dB. If you don't want to change too much about the way you are working, you can simply open your favorite R2R presets, test them to see how they react to high levels and then lower the input slider appropriately and save the preset.

You don't need a trim plugin before the console, you can simply use the input gain slider.
Reuven | post-production & sound-design | scenography |
website | nebula presets

odd
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:50 am

Re: R2R question, opinions

Post by odd » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:45 am

Excellent, thanks.

Post Reply