NEBULA MIX-BUSS COMPRESSOR

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: NEBULA MIX-BUSS COMPRESSOR

Post by ngarjuna » Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:40 pm

Add me to the list of people scratching their heads at needing 10dB of compression on the master buss. Really? I realize there are no rules to master compression (except those who tell you not to use it at all) but it's generally used as a gentle process not a huge gain reduction control. Gain reduction of that sort traditionally happens elsewhere in the chain, not on the master buss.

User avatar
david1103
Expert
Expert
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 am

Re: NEBULA MIX-BUSS COMPRESSOR

Post by david1103 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:45 pm

on the master buss, for me, any more than 1-2db of compression sounds bad. i have used PSP mastercomp mostly, and this is the best one i found for the job.

User avatar
babiuk
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:16 am

Re: NEBULA MIX-BUSS COMPRESSOR

Post by babiuk » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:35 am

I have VM and I´ve used a lot but in a very soft way because (as someone told before) I find it very hard to control.
Someone answered this to a similar question:
Set the hpf at around 400hz. Great for colourfull mastering compression.
Please I'm maybe losing something but what does it mean?
Mac Pro 5,1 / 6-core Intel Xeon / 16 GB Ram / El Capitan / Reaper / H******* Mixbuss

geedy
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 11:30 am

Re: NEBULA MIX-BUSS COMPRESSOR

Post by geedy » Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:56 pm

I have no idea how you would side-chain compressor a nebula compressor.. Im lost too.. I know how to side-chain compress in Reaper but not with nebula programs... :|

Barendse
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:10 pm

Re: NEBULA MIX-BUSS COMPRESSOR

Post by Barendse » Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:44 pm

geedy wrote:I have no idea how you would side-chain compressor a nebula compressor.. Im lost too.. I know how to side-chain compress in Reaper but not with nebula programs... :|
You can patch a hpf filter to a compressor. Take a look here:

http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... 3&start=30

Post Reply