Page 1 of 3

Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:52 pm
by SWAN
Anybody tried any of this? Old Akais like the S950 and EMU SP1200...

Way back on the old forum I chatted with a guy who was working on it - but not sure if it went anywheres...

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:57 pm
by bottom1
I've been contemplating Sampling my SP1200... I haven't played with Nat3... but for the last month, I've been seriously thinking about it... The filters on the outputs gives it, it's magic, beside the Sequencers Swing...

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 8:11 pm
by deehope
I thought I was the only one interested in this. It would be awesome to have the pres/filters from an mpc-60 and e-mu sp1200!

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 9:19 pm
by farjedi
You will have to have a seperate plugin to do bit reduction, Nebula cannot emulate that afaik..

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:13 pm
by Definity
i Was thinking about sampling my Emu Ultra 6400 would be cool if we could get some libary going

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:33 pm
by mrmonk
Yes nebulize em, if any one can

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:24 am
by SWAN
I have heard that there may be needed a specific NAT session to help sampling the vintage samplers...maybe if enough people are interested Giancarlo will get that sorted...I would be GREAT to get SP1200 and old EMU EMAX and Akais sampled...

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:10 am
by domandroland
i would love emu 6400 filters , i miss them! The ones in the free library suck. I realise that it would take a lot of samples to do them properly but it would be worth it, i'd do it myself but i'm on a mac.

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:05 am
by Definity
domandroland wrote:i would love emu 6400 filters , i miss them! The ones in the free library suck. I realise that it would take a lot of samples to do them properly but it would be worth it, i'd do it myself but i'm on a mac.
il give it ago im on NAT 2 but its only got 32 MB of memory i have got a SCSI drive somewhere but it take some digging out.





EDIT:

i wonder if it is possible to sample the Z Plane????? now that is a question for Giancarlo

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:11 pm
by e-smile-z
oh yes i m still into learning nat and i could contribut the emax ...the emax has also a nice chorus and a analog ssm filter could be nice...
i guess we have to go the offline route for sampling this unit and others...
is it possible to "sample" the pitch algorhytim?


in the nebula libary you gonna find already a asr "dac" preset..

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:11 am
by nlesca
I was into this, did some experiments, if your sampler monitor in real time it's easy, just use a preamp session and do it in real time... for older samplers that dont monitor in real time it's a lot more complicated, you need a special preamp session with short testones and a special xml that will put together all the sampled levels (you have to do each level one by one, if you know how the pramp testone files look like you'll understand)...Giancarlo told me he will provide one but it was a few monthes ago...I beleive he's too busy with more important features...also Aliasing is a big problem because you have to work offline for sampler that dont monitor in real time (like most 12 bits samplers)...Giancarlo could probably implement some sort of automatic correction but for now it's a bit like playing bingo, some testone will give a nice program others will give you wreid aliasing artefacts...

here's a secret trick: the Sequencial Circuits Studio 440 is a 12 bits sampler that monitor in real time! this one can be sampled...I dont have access to it but if you do, it can be done.

Peace.

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:16 am
by giancarlo
hi,
when I'll get a bit of time I'll try to sample my kurzweil K2000 with sampling option. Yes, you are right, I promised those sessions time ago, I was a bit busy... try to contact me at the end of august

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:19 am
by nlesca
ok, cool, thanks Giancarlo.

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:25 am
by SWAN
maybe thats what we need to do - get a Studio 440 - and doesnt the Akai S612 have a 'pass-thru' feature?

Re: Vintage Sampler Programs...?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 1:15 pm
by farjedi
I have my brothers s1000 stored here at the moment. If i was told what to do i could sample it..