AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs
User avatar
AlexB
Expert
Expert
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: NW Italy
Contact:

AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by AlexB » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:56 pm

A little comparison between some mix EQs from AlexB libraries and other plugin-vst.
click to download

The battle:

- AlexB Q73-PRO vs UAD1073
- AlexB MWQ-PRO vs UAD88RS
- AlexB VBQ-PRO vs Waves API550A
- AlexB CLQ-PRO vs Waves SSL4000E channel strip eq
- AlexB TLQ-PRO vs Softube Active Equalizer

- Original Drum Loop

You can share on other forums this test.

Opinions are welcome to improve my works 8-)

Thank you

Alex
Close your eyes and Mix with the ears
Facebook
WebSite
Instagram

User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
Posts: 743
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by vicnestE » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:07 pm

Explain the settings will be great.

User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by scooter » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:55 pm

haha!!! Nice! And a sneak peak at the Q73! :D
Any idea how different each plugin's eq curve and harmonics are? Did you match the curve using an analyser or just match the GUI settings?
Thanks for doing this Alex

edit: posted on the UAD forum
-Scott

SWAN
Expert
Expert
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:16 pm

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by SWAN » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:21 pm

scooter wrote:
edit: posted on the UAD forum


uh oh...
Mac Mini i7 quad 2.6

Logic X
Live 9
Reaper

User avatar
AlexB
Expert
Expert
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: NW Italy
Contact:

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by AlexB » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:26 pm

scooter wrote:haha!!! Nice! And a sneak peak at the Q73! :D
Any idea how different each plugin's eq curve and harmonics are? Did you match the curve using an analyser or just match the GUI settings?
Thanks for doing this Alex

edit: posted on the UAD forum


Yes, matched with analyzer and naturally each EQ has a different setting.

I have used only the "Full" version, not the "SE" ones.

My ears now refuse to use the dynamic-less life-less plugins :mrgreen:

Bye bye UAD2-Quad card :lol:
Close your eyes and Mix with the ears
Facebook
WebSite
Instagram

User avatar
fuseburn
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by fuseburn » Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:08 pm

I'm glad I sold my UAD-1s...

Mirco
Member
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by Mirco » Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:28 am

thanks! will post it on twitter if it's ok for you?! :geek:

Mirco
Member
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by Mirco » Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:38 am

in short listening tests, me likes:

73Q - nice mids and hi mids

CLQ - very transparent and i like the high frequencies

VBQ - i like the dark tone of it!

most of the software sounds harsh and grainy to me somehow...

great work alex!

ciao mirco

User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by scooter » Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:58 am

Hi Alex!

Would it be possible for you to post screen shots of the plugin settings for all manufacturers or upload presets?
I'd like to see what kind of tweaking is going on in your sessions and compare them to my findings. Thanks so much!
-Scott

User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: AlexB EQs vs Waves, UAD, Softube...

Post by scooter » Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:59 am

HAHA! Awesome :lol:


AlexB wrote:
scooter wrote:haha!!! Nice! And a sneak peak at the Q73! :D
Any idea how different each plugin's eq curve and harmonics are? Did you match the curve using an analyser or just match the GUI settings?
Thanks for doing this Alex

edit: posted on the UAD forum


Yes, matched with analyzer and naturally each EQ has a different setting.

I have used only the "Full" version, not the "SE" ones.

My ears now refuse to use the dynamic-less life-less plugins :mrgreen:

Bye bye UAD2-Quad card :lol:
-Scott

Post Reply