37J classic valve tape machine released!

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs
User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by botus99 » Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:41 am

deehope wrote:Any reaper users know how to split the master buss so you can add seperate plugins to the left and right signal?
First add 2 plugins of each "instance" of 37J you want to add. As you look along the top of the plugin container you'll notice the Preset Window, a '+', 2in/2out, and some other stuff. Click 2 in / 2 out.

On the first plugin of each "instance," disable input/output 2. Do the opposite on the second plugin of the "instance."

Hope that was understandable ;)
Win10 / Reaper / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM | ZED-R16 / Digi003 (Revive modded)
N4 - Orange, Blue, Purple, Pearl, Diamond, Ebony, Gold, Navy, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral, Cobalt, Lemon

deehope
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:32 am

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by deehope » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:06 am

You'Re awesome man. I really appreciate it.
botus99 wrote:
deehope wrote:Any reaper users know how to split the master buss so you can add seperate plugins to the left and right signal?
First add 2 plugins of each "instance" of 37J you want to add. As you look along the top of the plugin container you'll notice the Preset Window, a '+', 2in/2out, and some other stuff. Click 2 in / 2 out.

On the first plugin of each "instance," disable input/output 2. Do the opposite on the second plugin of the "instance."

Hope that was understandable ;)

User avatar
robschroeder
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 am
Location: Crailsheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by robschroeder » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:33 am

harmonik wrote:Wondering why the routing workaround is needed for true stereo; didn't AlexB Poolteq achieve true stereo using one instance, or is that because it was an EQ and not using envelope follower?
Keep in mind that Nebula is emulating hardware. Most hardware is in mono, not stereo. As Nebula Envelope can only react to one channel it will control both sides of your stereo signal equally. So this means that every Nebula Library is in this way.

If you want to treat both channels of your stereo signal with the same information go for one instance as the envelope will treat both the same. If you want that Nebula responds differently on both channels split the signal (in your DAW or split stereo files) and use two instances of Nebula. That's it.

I don't have AlexB PoolTeq but from its product description I can't see that it is really true stereo.

User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by botus99 » Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:06 pm

Heck yeah man. I also created a FXchain for a few combinations of 37J to make it all done in a couple of clicks. Something to consider :mrgreen:
Win10 / Reaper / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM | ZED-R16 / Digi003 (Revive modded)
N4 - Orange, Blue, Purple, Pearl, Diamond, Ebony, Gold, Navy, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral, Cobalt, Lemon

Martinez
Member
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:03 pm

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by Martinez » Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:12 am

Hey Tim, will you be doing anymore Tape libraries?

HDNebula
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:37 am

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by HDNebula » Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:54 pm

This library is a new tape (I mean new core8-9 generation), this library has the compressor action of a tape machine? for example with R2R you can get a nice tone but hasn't a compressor behavior like tape.
Another question: how is in comparison to waves j37?

Avgatzeblouz
Expert
Expert
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:13 pm

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by Avgatzeblouz » Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:58 am

Tim Petherick wrote:Pre emphasis contains full tone information of the channel but you must all use de-emphasis to correct the spectrum and get the softening highs and sat.

These below are the combinations that work.



Pre emphasis >de emphasis saturation (for tape compression sound)

Or

Just Channel (for if you wish to have a more traditional nebula)


To both of the above you can add extra flat instances to
Get a little more drive


At the moment I'm away but as soon as I'm at the computer I'll make some graphs to make it clear. Should be later today.
Hi all, sorry I know Tim answered already, but my half brain is not sure : Is the Channel instance exactly the same as Pre-Emph+De-Emph (in mono) ?
Samplitude Pro X3 suite - Sequoia 14 / Windows 10 pro x64 / Pearl / Titanium / N4 / Pink / Pink compressors / Prime Comp+Mix+Curve + Caribou comp + Black Eq + Black comp / Sand / Lime / Acquamarine / Emerald / Ultramarine / Silk / Gold / Cobalt / Ebony / Ivory / BlueEQ / Lemon / Magenta

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by Tim Petherick » Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:55 pm

Martinez wrote:Hey Tim, will you be doing anymore Tape libraries?
Sure why not!
HDNebula wrote:This library is a new tape (I mean new core8-9 generation), this library has the compressor action of a tape machine? for example with R2R you can get a nice tone but hasn't a compressor behavior like tape.
Another question: how is in comparison to waves j37?
This is probably a different approach to previous library's, yes it compresses.
Avgatzeblouz wrote:
Tim Petherick wrote:Pre emphasis contains full tone information of the channel but you must all use de-emphasis to correct the spectrum and get the softening highs and sat.

These below are the combinations that work.



Pre emphasis >de emphasis saturation (for tape compression sound)

Or

Just Channel (for if you wish to have a more traditional nebula)


To both of the above you can add extra flat instances to
Get a little more drive


At the moment I'm away but as soon as I'm at the computer I'll make some graphs to make it clear. Should be later today.
Hi all, sorry I know Tim answered already, but my half brain is not sure : Is the Channel instance exactly the same as Pre-Emph+De-Emph (in mono) ?
If you use the regular channel (no pre/post emphasis)
Its still mono, each channel is selected by user.

harmonik
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:06 pm

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by harmonik » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:10 am

dennyhellbach wrote: Is it possible to do this in Cubase 8.5 (2 instances on the stereo buss (left and right)? I never heard of it that you can put 2 mono instances on a stereo track and I'm curious. Thanks for the help!

Denny
There's a workaround you can do in Cubase to implement "2 mono instances on the master" without needing metaplugin/patchwork plugin, but it's a bit tedious. Feed your stereo material to a dedicated stereo group track that is not the master (I'll call this "sG1"). Set up two sends on sG1, pre-fader, sending to each of two more stereo group tracks (say "sG-L" and "sG-R"). Turn down the fader on sG1. Put an instance of the free plugin Sonalksis FreeG on each of sG-L and sG-R. Pan sG-L's FreeG hard left; pan sG-R's FreeG hard right. Put a Nebula instance after FreeG on sG-L; repeat for sG-R. Select your desired program in sG-L's Nebula for "L" mono instance; repeat for SG-R's Nebula for "R" mono instance. Route the outputs of sG-L and sG-R to the real master.

farjedi
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 7:12 pm

Re: 37J classic valve tape machine released!

Post by farjedi » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:46 pm

Bought this today and just chiming in to say it's great!

Really can change low end (I'm guessing what would be called bloom) and transients in a really pleasing way that seems to improve everything it touches. More depth and sustain.

It softens the highs but not in a I need to grab some eq way that some tapes seems to do.

Pretty amazed that I've got 4 instances for dual mono on a buss and it's registering at 0.35% CPU. Install is ridiculously small as well. How is it possible if not witchcraft? :lol:

Post Reply