Console sample rate effects?

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs
ryancost
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:45 am

Console sample rate effects?

Post by ryancost » Wed May 11, 2016 2:39 pm

Hi all,
I work at 44.1, I was thinking of getting my first CDSoundmaster console but was reading they're all sampled at 96. I noticed some "soapy" sound in the high end when I was testing the S4E but not when testing his other consoles. So wondering if this is a common problem, should I just avoid consoles not sampled at 44? Or is this not really an issue and mostly in my mind? :D
Any advice would be great thanks!
-R

Barendse
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:10 pm

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by Barendse » Wed May 11, 2016 4:26 pm

Yep, avoid src.

ryancost
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:45 am

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by ryancost » Wed May 11, 2016 5:53 pm

Wondering why this seems to be a problem sometimes and not others? The STN console sounds great at 44 and it was sampled at 96...

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3331
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by RJHollins » Wed May 11, 2016 6:11 pm

make sure, after loading a 96k library in a 44.1 session, that you do NOT see a flashing ! [exclamation point] on the Nebula main GUI where the samplerates are displayed.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
glesne
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:25 pm

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by glesne » Thu May 12, 2016 10:59 am

Please, could you explain what is happening when there is the flashing "!" ? :)
Sound & graphic design

Reaper 5.28 / Imac late 2013 / osx 10.9.5 / Intel core I7 3.1ghz / 16Go ram / SSD250Go / Navy, White, Ochre, Pink compressors, Tan, Neb3 & NebSetup

xabilon
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:50 pm

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by xabilon » Thu May 12, 2016 12:23 pm

When you have the flashing "!", the samplerate conversion has failed.
You must increase the CNV rate in the MASTER page (switch from "Simple" to "Guru" to see the CNV RATE) to the max (9000), and then RELOAD the library.

ryancost
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:45 am

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by ryancost » Thu May 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Thanks all for your helpful advice, next time I hear some adverse effects I will check if the SRC has an exclamation point.

User avatar
glesne
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:25 pm

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by glesne » Thu May 12, 2016 4:36 pm

yes thank you !
Sound & graphic design

Reaper 5.28 / Imac late 2013 / osx 10.9.5 / Intel core I7 3.1ghz / 16Go ram / SSD250Go / Navy, White, Ochre, Pink compressors, Tan, Neb3 & NebSetup

cdsoundmaster
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 2:18 am
Contact:

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by cdsoundmaster » Tue May 24, 2016 9:43 pm

No issues with SRC at all.
If it is flashing, it has not converted to the proper rate.
The internal src in the NebPro engine works very well.

One interesting point is that harmonic content responds to the range of frequencies as well. When I did months of early tests on the process, I made comparisons to numerous original hardware sampling from the ADC at different rates, then comparing to different SRC options. Those which respond the most accurately also maintain the relationship of harmonics the most accurately.

I recommend using only the Reverb instance of NebPro.
I also recommend making no adjustments to the MAST other than Rate Cnvt to a high number so that it never refuses to src or makes an error in adjusting src.

When loading in a project that has more than one rate on files- or after closing and reopening a session- it is good to check NebPro instances to make sure they correctly adjusted- no flashing.

I hope this is helpful.

cdsoundmaster
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 2:18 am
Contact:

Re: Console sample rate effects?

Post by cdsoundmaster » Tue May 24, 2016 9:44 pm

xabilon wrote:When you have the flashing "!", the samplerate conversion has failed.
You must increase the CNV rate in the MASTER page (switch from "Simple" to "Guru" to see the CNV RATE) to the max (9000), and then RELOAD the library.
Bingo! :-)

Post Reply