Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs
takboo
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:36 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by takboo » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:13 am

Thank You for the update! Showing correct value under each knob helps.
I always annoyed changing values of Lite,Full,SHQ on N4. It's easy on N3 but I prefer the sound of N4.
Taking a screen shot and copy the numbers to SHQ or so. But it takes some time.
Hope someday Tim will solve this.

User avatar
Djani
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:55 am
Location: Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Djani » Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:00 am

Thanks Tim, got installed the right programs luckily right away and this compressor is awesome!
Not sure what you've done to it but full programs are much much lighter on cpu.
Much smoother feel on the knobs if I may say and better reaction too.
The needle finally behaves more natural and the new "special" compressor is really really smacking good.
JPN skins design is excellent! Very happy and excited to work with this beast!
Wish your reverbs updates will be next!
Cheers and all the best!

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Cupwise » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:43 am

takboo wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:13 am
Thank You for the update! Showing correct value under each knob helps.
I always annoyed changing values of Lite,Full,SHQ on N4. It's easy on N3 but I prefer the sound of N4.
Taking a screen shot and copy the numbers to SHQ or so. But it takes some time.
Hope someday Tim will solve this.
personally i've never noticed any difference in sound between N3 and N4, and maybe that's just me, but i've never even seen where n4 was advertised as having superior sound. my understanding was that it was the same sound engine but with more features possible.
there's nothing i can do to solve the issue of losing values when you switch programs. the ability to allow for switches in the skins that can switch between programs without resetting the controls is not in N4 (or at least not to unofficial devs like me). it was added into N3 skin coding language several years ago at my request but wasn't carried over into N4. i'm not considered an official Nebula dev anymore though so I doubt N4 will be updated to include that ability (i'm probably the only dev whose programs would benefit from it).

see if your DAW's automation system can be used as a workaround. what i do in reaper, is after i've set a compressor up and have the controls where i want them, and want to render in SHQ, i bring up the parameter automation window for the Nebula plugin, and activate each parameter in the compressor (attack, release, etc), assigning them to automation lanes. i don't actually draw any automation curves on there. doing this just locks the controls in place. so then i can switch to SHQ program, and the settings don't get reset. also it's always a good idea to save the project before doing any of this.

i would think almost any modern daw should be able to use that type of tactic for locking the controls in place..
Last edited by Cupwise on Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Cupwise » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:52 am

Djani wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:00 am
Thanks Tim, got installed the right programs luckily right away and this compressor is awesome!
Not sure what you've done to it but full programs are much much lighter on cpu.
Much smoother feel on the knobs if I may say and better reaction too.
The needle finally behaves more natural and the new "special" compressor is really really smacking good.
JPN skins design is excellent! Very happy and excited to work with this beast!
Wish your reverbs updates will be next!
Cheers and all the best!
thanks, glad you like the update and new Special compressor! yeah those gain reduction meters are really hard to get to behave just right, i've been messing around with them for years and sometimes they seem perfect and then you see a situation where they act totally wrong still. so glad to hear it's working better now.
as for updating the reverbs, i don't know if that will happen. i'm guessing you just mean skins for them. the problem is that i have to pay to do the skins and i don't see the skins bringing me in any more sales. maybe like one or two people who haven't already bought them would see the new skins and buy it, who wouldn't have without skins. the reverbs were never nearly as popular as my compressors so it just seems a lot less worth it to do anything like that with them, which is why i haven't. getting all of my comps skinned has been the priority. BUT maybe i might see about getting something like a skin that i could use for all of my plate releases, which would be almost the same across all of them, maybe a simple color palette swap or something. we'll see (would be a while)!

User avatar
plexus
Member
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:51 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by plexus » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:30 am

Thanks for the update tim. FMew sounds really nice. I like the skin too. Im using N4. I used the discount that gets you discounts on other products purchased at the same time. so now I have ALL your products. I use them all the time. :geek:

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Cupwise » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:55 pm

thanks for the support plex and glad you like the update!

wagz
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by wagz » Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:33 pm

Tim, thank you for this awesome update! You did an excellent job on this. Regarding the whole SHQ program switching thing, in my opinion, the major improvement here is the clearly indicated numerical values for the skin's knobs. That makes it very easy to copy Lite or Full program settings onto SHQ versions. I really wish Lunchpail and Rayphlex also had clearly marked numerical values.

I do a lot of Direct Offline Processing in Cubase 10. So, for me, having visible numerical values is often a much more efficient workaround than the automation method. Using Cubase, first, I run one of your compressor programs from my tweaked (<LTIMED> 1000000 </LTIMED>) Cupwise Compressors N4 Setup as a track insert and adjust the settings to taste in real-time. Then, I ALT+Click, drag and drop to duplicate that plugin onto another track. Finally, on the duplicated plugin, I load the compressor program's SHQ version, look at the two the skins side by side, set the numbers the same, and disable the first track insert. It's a quick way to work. Takes seconds. No CPU hit.

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Cupwise » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:39 pm

wagz wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:33 pm
Tim, thank you for this awesome update! You did an excellent job on this. Regarding the whole SHQ program switching thing, in my opinion, the major improvement here is the clearly indicated numerical values for the skin's knobs. That makes it very easy to copy Lite or Full program settings onto SHQ versions. I really wish Lunchpail and Rayphlex also had clearly marked numerical values.

I do a lot of Direct Offline Processing in Cubase 10. So, for me, having visible numerical values is often a much more efficient workaround than the automation method. Using Cubase, first, I run one of your compressor programs from my tweaked (<LTIMED> 1000000 </LTIMED>) Cupwise Compressors N4 Setup as a track insert and adjust the settings to taste in real-time. Then, I ALT+Click, drag and drop to duplicate that plugin onto another track. Finally, on the duplicated plugin, I load the compressor program's SHQ version, look at the two the skins side by side, set the numbers the same, and disable the first track insert. It's a quick way to work. Takes seconds. No CPU hit.
i really like the numerical readout but not for the same reason. i like it because with some controls (faster attacks is a big one), tiny fine adjustments can make a big difference. so i like to be able to look at the numbers and get an idea what i'm doing.

have you ever tried the trick i outline in most of my manuals? i would think it would be able to work in just about any daw. the trick i'm talking a bout is to get the controls how you want them, then set every control you adjusted, to be automated. in reaper you open a dialogue box and pick which controls you want to create automation lanes for. i know the last versions of cubase i had had that too. anyway, you do that, then don't actually draw automation curves, but you just leave it as it is, and then when you switch programs, the automation lanes 'lock' the settings in place so they can't change. if you haven't tried that in cubase i think you should, it would probably be a lot faster and less tedious than what you're doing.

wagz
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by wagz » Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:40 am

Cupwise wrote:
Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:39 pm

i really like the numerical readout but not for the same reason. i like it because with some controls (faster attacks is a big one), tiny fine adjustments can make a big difference. so i like to be able to look at the numbers and get an idea what i'm doing.
I see. That makes sense.
Cupwise wrote:
Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:39 pm
have you ever tried the trick i outline in most of my manuals? i would think it would be able to work in just about any daw. the trick i'm talking a bout is to get the controls how you want them, then set every control you adjusted, to be automated. in reaper you open a dialogue box and pick which controls you want to create automation lanes for. i know the last versions of cubase i had had that too. anyway, you do that, then don't actually draw automation curves, but you just leave it as it is, and then when you switch programs, the automation lanes 'lock' the settings in place so they can't change. if you haven't tried that in cubase i think you should, it would probably be a lot faster and less tedious than what you're doing.
Yes. I've definitely tried it that way. I'm doing it like this way (processing individual tracks offline) to free up the CPU. I'll continue to use your method for busses and such. It's a good workaround. Thank you for the reminder.

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by andiw » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:48 pm

Hey Tim, I'd like to buy the update and I already wrote you 2 emails (one to [email protected] and one via the contact form on your website) but didn't get any reply.

What should I do to get the update (I'd also like the C660 update ;-)

Best,
Andreas
my music: aj-guitar.com

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Cupwise » Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:39 am

weird. i searched and couldn't find any emails, and it wouldn't be normal of me to miss two or even 3 (usually not even 1). i did find an email from an andreas from a while back, saying my email server seems to reject their emails. not sure if that's you though (seems likely? but maybe my email server just hates people named andreas?!) so i pm'd you here, for your address.

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by Cupwise » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:49 pm

andiw wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:48 pm
Hey Tim, I'd like to buy the update and I already wrote you 2 emails (one to [email protected] and one via the contact form on your website) but didn't get any reply.

What should I do to get the update (I'd also like the C660 update ;-)

Best,
Andreas
could you pm me here? i still haven't got a reply to my pm. can't help you if we can't establish some kind of communication...
or if you can't pm me here could you try emailing me with a different email account?

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiter (BIG UPDATE)

Post by andiw » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:51 pm

hey, I sent you a pm. I don't check this forum every day and I didn't get any email notifications ...

best
my music: aj-guitar.com

Post Reply