CUDA on OSX

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
markg
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by markg » Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:17 pm

By the way thanks for the settings, I shall try them out, cheers ;)

markg
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by markg » Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:43 pm

I tried out the settings kindly suggested, still massive latency.
And then it crashed my DAW again.
I do not have these problems with any other plugin or my computer in general.
I keep being pointed to information which I have either tried (and failed) or just is not relevant to my setup (i.e not PC)

LOGIC 9
Macbook pro Intel Core 2 Duo - Processor Speed: 2.6 GHzOSX 10.5.8
my nvidea graphics card is a GeForce 8600M GT

I have also installed the following..
Nvidia driver.
Nvidia CUDA toolkit v 3.00. (not version 3.10)
Acustica Audio CUDA bridge v 1.1.036.
and NEBULA3 PRO setup

I have sent off my nebula.ser file

I am experiencing LATENCY ISSUES that have not been solved by any recommendations from the forum so far.

I can not get NEBULA3 or NEBULA3 REVERB to act in a stable manner.
The DATA on the MASTER page is setup when I install the plugin.
If I HAVE to change this DATA to get the plugin working properly, there must be some official settings for initialisation available somewhere for my system.

If by chance any of you are using NEBULA3 with CUDA on a macbook pro OSX 10.5.8, then please drop me note a let me know HOW you got things working.

I know it is tempting to point me towards the F>A>Qs but these have not been very helpful so far.

Setting up H******* Mixbus was a breeze compared to this. ;)

lordnielson
Member
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by lordnielson » Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:49 pm

markg wrote:I am using OSX - the instructions for making duplicates are for PC.
I tried by doing the obvious (to a layman) conversions.
ie PC dll = OSX componant
but it did not work, which is why I asked here to start with.
1. In the newly created Nebula3 Cuda.xlm change "<MAGIC> o010 </MAGIC>" to something like o012

2. Nebula3 Cuda.component "show package contents" -> Resources folder -> Nebula3 Reverb.rsrc. You'll find the same number in there twice. Change it to the same as above and you'll have a new plugin. It will still be called Reverb but you'll be able to run it as cuda (just gotta remember which is which)

Edit: By the way Mark. Why are you trying to combat the latency ? Logic fully compensates for it.

zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by zaminx » Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:14 pm

To Make a Cuda copy actually copy the Nebula reverb and the Nebula reverb XML.Rename them to Nebula Cuda and the open the Nebula Cuda XML file in text edit and change the Magic number and save.Now put the Nebula Cuda plug in and XML files into the same location as the Original Nebula reverb.

markg
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by markg » Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:41 pm

lordnielson wrote:
markg wrote:I am using OSX - the instructions for making duplicates are for PC.
I tried by doing the obvious (to a layman) conversions.
ie PC dll = OSX componant
but it did not work, which is why I asked here to start with.
1. In the newly created Nebula3 Cuda.xlm change "<MAGIC> o010 </MAGIC>" to something like o012

2. Nebula3 Cuda.component "show package contents" -> Resources folder -> Nebula3 Reverb.rsrc. You'll find the same number in there twice. Change it to the same as above and you'll have a new plugin. It will still be called Reverb but you'll be able to run it as cuda (just gotta remember which is which)

Edit: By the way Mark. Why are you trying to combat the latency ? Logic fully compensates for it.

Hey lordnielson, thank you ever so much, for your consise reply, I will try that next.
To answer your question when I used the latency compensation options in logic, nebula acts like its in bypass mode.
So it was a case of either (effectively) no plugin or lots of latency/distortion issues.

I have since rebooted and the latency is gone now. :)
Hopefully things will be more stable so I can get this set up and tested.
Still gonna try out your xml fix, thanks again.

markg
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by markg » Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:07 pm

I hope I am not being hasty but everything seems to have settled down now, no latency issues and lordnielson's suggestion for creating a CUDA instance worked.
Just waiting for my new KEY now, hopefully things will still be working after it is installed.
I will let you know.
Thanks for your time, patience and support.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by enriquesilveti » Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:00 pm

Hello markg. If after KEY installation you still have crash you might read this > Acustica Audio crash or bug report: http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

hopsing
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 1:36 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by hopsing » Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:54 pm

Hi

After upgrading to 1.3.456 today, I found that my cuda version on MacOsX does not work any more, I made new copies from the reverb plugins as you should, but programms did not load any more, well they loaded, but then the plugin shows init, then.
Yesterday, with 1.3.451 everything did work as expected.

Thanks for help
Tobias

zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by zaminx » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:10 pm

hopsing wrote:Hi

After upgrading to 1.3.456 today, I found that my cuda version on MacOsX does not work any more, I made new copies from the reverb plugins as you should, but programms did not load any more, well they loaded, but then the plugin shows init, then.
Yesterday, with 1.3.451 everything did work as expected.

Thanks for help
Tobias
try re-istalling the nebula Cuda bridge

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: CUDA on OSX

Post by enriquesilveti » Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:53 pm

+1 for AA CUDA Bride reinstall...
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

Post Reply