Transient loss

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
fredrikberg
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Transient loss

Post by fredrikberg » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:07 pm

I feel like I am loosing some transients when using Nebula. Especially noticable on snare and kick. I know about gainstaging so thats not the problem.
I feel it happens with all types of libraries from consoles, eq to tape

Is it because of volterra technique?

Can I tweak something to make it better?

Regards

Fredrik Berg

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2860
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Transient loss

Post by enriquesilveti » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:12 pm

On preamp or tapes you can use Nebula non reverb version (but more CPU consumption) plus try to use TIMED engine on clean kernel (Nebula KERN page)
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W8.1 | OSX 10.10.5 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 ( W10 CU | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Digiface USB | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM W10 FCU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | BW1 | NIK5

musicgreator
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:16 pm

Re: Transient loss

Post by musicgreator » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:47 pm

Isn't that characteristic part of the sampled hardware? If not, why doesn't nebula have the right settings to replicate the exact same behavior as the hardware by default? I didn't know, nebula reverb sounds different than nebula, i thought it's just tweaked for best performance with reverbs.

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: Transient loss

Post by Tim Petherick » Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:44 pm

Ok ,


If you want super high quality this is what i do and if its wrong in theory someone please tell me.

Number 1 , use evf 17 in evf page.
2, use classc in kern page( split will be showing)

point the arrows so they are going towards freqd player lengths.

Then increase the timed kernals in order to complete the sample lengths


Its a cpu killer though

fredrikberg
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Transient loss

Post by fredrikberg » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:30 pm

Thank you both for tips.

I couldn´t try the first tips, cause Nebula non reverb version causes overload in the channel with like 100db.

I tried with Reverb version suggestions from Timp, and it really made a HUGE difference. Now all transients are there with beautiful coloration.

Thank you!!!

How did you come up with these tweaks. there is a lot of parameters to play with.

Regards

Fredrik Berg

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: Transient loss

Post by Tim Petherick » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:56 pm

Just by ear really .

But i think its more accurate in theory , Evf 17 is a debugged rms 17.

Timed player is a better algo than freqd . freqd is low on cpu though .

the only problem correct me if i'm wrong is that some samples cannot be completed because timed only goes up to 30 ms. but i'm guessing that would be for extreme lows of around 10hz and under , not sure.

If you take an low shelf eq for example.that starts at 2.2ms on timed . select the arrows to pointing to freqd player, you'll notice that the low frequency is lost because the sample is no longer long enough working in timed mode. So when you get to about 10 ms you can hear that most of that low end is back.

Maybe G can comfirm this because i'm really just guessing from trail and error.

Tim

Cupwise
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Transient loss

Post by Cupwise » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:10 pm

timp- isn't that what split mode is for?
my understanding is that with split mode you get to use timed mode for first sliver of the sample, then freqd mode for the rest.
so you could have timed portion of clean kernel set to 10ms, then freqd set to 40, timed plays first 10ms, freqd plays last 40.
maybe you've already tested this and didn't like it as well as just using timed, but i thought this was what it was for...
?

stuff like this should have a little more discussion

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: Transient loss

Post by Tim Petherick » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:19 pm

Yes I was aware of the split mode's function .Well i guess in my tests i prefered the sound of non split mode, But I'll try again. The freqd player does not sound correct to me , but i want to be proven wrong because the cpu is so high using timed only. I find the everything sounds a little grainy without these tweaks. This includes editing the odd and even samples too .
Last edited by Tim Petherick on Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fredrikberg
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Transient loss

Post by fredrikberg » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:29 pm

Do you guys think there will difference with these tweaks in Nebula vs Nebula reverb.

Would this also be the best setting for EQ, Compression and Tape.

I guess for VNXT Plate I could try Split mode.

Again, really BIG difference in sound.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11151
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Transient loss

Post by giancarlo » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:29 pm

yes you are correct. Imho freqd doesn't sound as much correct as timed but it's used just for the tail. Freqd is the classic fft algo used by best plugins around, so it's not so bad

fredrikberg
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Transient loss

Post by fredrikberg » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:38 pm

giancarlo wrote:yes you are correct. Imho freqd doesn't sound as much correct as timed but it's used just for the tail. Freqd is the classic fft algo used by best plugins around, so it's not so bad
Is that in split mode?. (when it reads Classd)

fredrikberg
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Transient loss

Post by fredrikberg » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:49 pm

Also, To get the best from reverbs should I use split mode with all 3 timed kernels set to 10ms.

...And is there a way to make these settings the default for all my programs or do I have manually edit and save them.

User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: Transient loss

Post by Tim Petherick » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:57 pm

You'll need to use split mode and freqd player on harmonics for reverbs because the samples are so long.

Split mode -classc will show on screen

classc- split will show on screen

It's a bit confusing, the same for normal and economy quality.

fredrikberg
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Transient loss

Post by fredrikberg » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:34 pm

Wouldn´t it be great with a "Render" mode. Like with the Glue where you can set oversampling in rendering, but normal in realtime.

One could set "Split mode with 10ms kernels on timed and Evf17" as render mode.

I just did all these changes to an old mix and it turned out soo much better.

User avatar
babiuk
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:16 am

Re: Transient loss

Post by babiuk » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:28 am

I´m reading this topic and I find it highly interesting because I can see I am not using Nebula benefits at 100%.
Anyway it´s a bit confusing to me. Could you help me to understand?
When I read this:
One could set "Split mode with 10ms kernels on timed and Evf17" as render mode.
Can I assume (CPU costs apart) that this is the best nebula setup for every preset?
And... is better (again CPU costs apart) using nebula reverb all the time instead nebula?
Mac Pro 5,1 / 6-core Intel Xeon / 16 GB Ram / El Capitan / Reaper / H******* Mixbuss

Post Reply