Page 1 of 1

Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:30 pm
by jonassjovaag
Is it possible to have setups choose a random value within a defined range per instance? If, for instance, one would like to emulate a console, Alessandro Boschi allows for tweaking the drive or gain parameter to have subtle phase shifts to emulate actual console behaviour. Doing this manually over 24 tracks is quite cumbersome, so that's why I'm asking.

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:25 am
by flaviusr
not possilbe, it´s better to use the ears for that.

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:02 am
by jonassjovaag
No, they are not. This is not really about the sonic quality of a given track based on working with variables in the sampled gear, but rather relates to achieving subtle differences to emulate a real console, where each channel strip would also be a bit different from the other. I assume that in total, this would have an impact, although I do not know if it would be something to reach for.

Cream has 24 variations, as far as I know, and Brainworx also does this with their console system, so it's not a new idea.
It would be very helpful if the drive parameter could be set automatically to a random value ranging from X to X, but if not possible then manual also works.

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:36 pm
by flaviusr
Cream is another thing, they really sampled each channel, each channel is a different sampler

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:59 am
by jonassjovaag
Cream is an example of the method I'm after, so is the reference to Brainworx. I'm not saying that it's the same thing.

This is from the manual of the S9 console:
"TRICK: to emulate the non linearity between the channels of the console, you can set the GDRV control slightly
different on every track into a range of +/-3dB."

So, moving away from asking if this is possible, which it seems not to be, I'd like to propose randomizing selected parameters as a future developement task as it might be quite helpful.

Also Flaviusr, I really don't get any help from your answers here as it seems that you are more interested in leaving the topic and/or bashing my questions with remarks that are not related to the issue. Please either be helpful, or don't comment. You're currently not helping.

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:18 am
by SWANG
Image

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 2:37 am
by RJHollins
jonassjovaag wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:30 pm
Is it possible to have setups choose a random value within a defined range per instance? If, for instance, one would like to emulate a console, Alessandro Boschi allows for tweaking the drive or gain parameter to have subtle phase shifts to emulate actual console behaviour. Doing this manually over 24 tracks is quite cumbersome, so that's why I'm asking.
While I doubt any native 'random parameter' implementation is in the N4 cards ... a possible solution would be a DAW's 'parameter' access and controls [example: Automation].
There are also MIDI [CC]-Continuous Controller access within Nebula, N4, and Acquas. [this does require editing the 'default' values in the associated XML file.

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 7:31 pm
by jonassjovaag
Ok, thanks for the tip.
I found that the Reaper script "mpl_Randomize Track FX parameters.lua" allows for something like what I'm after.

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:24 am
by RJHollins
jonassjovaag wrote:
Sun Jul 15, 2018 7:31 pm
Ok, thanks for the tip.
I found that the Reaper script "mpl_Randomize Track FX parameters.lua" allows for something like what I'm after.
If you Reaper .... have you checked out lb0's 'Stripper' action ? Along with GUI construction, it accesses a plugin's control parameters.
[also has a 'randomize' function].

Re: Randomize parameters in Setups

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:31 am
by jonassjovaag
Cool, thanks! Will check it.