trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
Acusticaaudiouser33
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:35 pm

trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by Acusticaaudiouser33 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:08 pm

Hi,
N4 and N4 zl show different version numbers.

I tried updating my (full) N4 by first erxtracting the zip files from my online computer to my studio computer ... and (after having no success authorizing Bronze/Copper) I ran the installation of N4 again via Aquarius directly on my studiocomputer.
I notice that Bronze still has no authorization and also that the zl version has not been updated and still is .003. And the N4 version (not zl) doesn't show any programs/ seems to point to the wrong repository location.

(VST 2/64 bit N4)

Have I made a mistake somewhere?

Many thanks in advance!
regards

JRMusic
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:21 am

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by JRMusic » Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:42 pm

You have to get a .SER file from your working computer, then put it online by uploading the file to AA.
You then receive a .AUT file for your offline computer. Check your repository for BRONZE folder and make shure that you do not have an existing
.AUT in the files that was generated for your online computer by Aquarius, you won't be able to generate a new .SER file if you have.

Yeah! it sucks doesn't it to have to use 2 authorizations to get an offline plugin running. :x :roll:

Check your N4 .xml file for the path to your repository. Hope there's something there that helps. John.

Acusticaaudiouser33
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by Acusticaaudiouser33 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:14 pm

Hi,

your reply and help is much appreciated! Many thanks!

Something seems messed up:
1) I checked and there is no e.g. Bronze SER file created or existent in the Nebula4temprepository/Acquaplugins folder (where I dropped the Bronze .ENG .XML and .N2S files... they are supposed to go here, right?)
I ran my Daw host as I always do as administrator.

When I installed Bronze on my online computer there was no N4 on that computer installed and still Aquarius put those zip files in the Aquarius stagearea. (hmmmm.... I will have to check at home where it installed Bronze to actually when there is no N4repository on that Aquarius computer)
I have the feeling just unzipping and copying the Bronze files from the stagearea of my online computer is not complete for an installation on the other offline computer.


2) I had a look at the N4.XML file in the editor and it looks like this:

<DL> 0 </DL>
<MAGIC> N406 </MAGIC>
<ENGINEVERSION> 99999 </ENGINEVERSION>

<REGISTRYKEY> SOFTWARE\Acustica Audio\ </REGISTRYKEY>
<REGISTRYDATAPATH> N4TempRepository </REGISTRYDATAPATH>

<FREEZERESOURCES> 1 </FREEZERESOURCES>
<CACHECSV> 1 </CACHECSV>
<CACHE2NDLEVEL> 1 </CACHE2NDLEVEL>
<CACHE2NDLEVELCOMPACTIONTHRESHOLD> 100 </CACHE2NDLEVELCOMPACTIONTHRESHOLD>
<MVCPARAMETERS> 1 </MVCPARAMETERS>
<FADEOUTBYPASS> 400000 </FADEOUTBYPASS>
<FADEINBYPASS> 400000 </FADEINBYPASS>

<DATAPATH> </DATAPATH>
<PROGRAMSUBPATH> Programs/ </PROGRAMSUBPATH>
<VECTORSUBPATH> Vectors/ </VECTORSUBPATH>
<SETUPSUBPATH> Setups/ </SETUPSUBPATH>
<CACHESUBPATH> Temp/ </CACHESUBPATH>

...


I didn't change anything in there though I'm wondering why the N4zl Vst gets me the right Programs listed while the latency N4 one doesn't point at my programs?
Is this N4.XML file not responsible for both: N4 and N4zl?

3) If I wanted to go for a fresh N4 install:
Would that be done via Aquarius?
If no: where can I find the manual download files?
Secondly: Since I have many 3rd party nebulas on my computer: how/what folders would I best move after the fresh installation of N4 so that I can keep my 3rd party files without starting from scratch with purchased stuff?

Many thanks again!

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3747
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by RJHollins » Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:22 pm

Is this N4.XML file not responsible for both: N4 and N4zl?
There are separate XML files for each.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3459
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by Support » Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:16 pm

You MUST to backup and delete completely your N4 content before install version 1.1.012.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

Acusticaaudiouser33
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by Acusticaaudiouser33 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:32 pm

RJHollins wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:22 pm
Is this N4.XML file not responsible for both: N4 and N4zl?
There are separate XML files for each.
Hi,
where/ in which folder will I find the N4zl xml file? What is its name? I can't seem to find it somehow....

regards

Acusticaaudiouser33
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by Acusticaaudiouser33 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:38 pm

Support wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:16 pm
You MUST to backup and delete completely your N4 content before install version 1.1.012.
Thanks for your reply!
( First: Is what you are saying described somewhere in a N4 manual?)
What should I backup? My 3rd party programs and vectors… and installed N4 library packs?

Deleting my N4 content completely means a complete deinstallation of N4? How do I do this? Is there an uninstall file somewhere?

IAnd lastely: will I then install N4 via Aquarius with N4temprepository or Nebula4temprepository as the installation location?

Many thanks for helping

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3747
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: trying to update Nebula N4: N4 (is now 1.1.012) but N4zl still 1.1.003)

Post by RJHollins » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:32 am

Acusticaaudiouser33 wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:32 pm
RJHollins wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:22 pm
Is this N4.XML file not responsible for both: N4 and N4zl?
There are separate XML files for each.
Hi,
where/ in which folder will I find the N4zl xml file? What is its name? I can't seem to find it somehow....

regards
I use VST-2 format [PC] ... so my XML files are in my VST folder.

As for the ZL version, later versions of N-4 Installation are NOT installed automatically. I forget what N-4 version this changed at.

However, with N-4 SETUPs [built-in], a ZL version can be User made. There are instructions [somewhere] that showed how to do and
configure. I don't use ZL version.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

Post Reply