Nebula version 4.x experiences

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by zabukowski » Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:48 pm

It is on a TODO list, but the list is already veeeeery long :)

pablo1980
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by pablo1980 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:48 pm

zabukowski wrote:It is on a TODO list, but the list is already veeeeery long :)
Please Zab, is there a way to bump it a few notches up the list?

I was planning to buy setups, but hold of due to N4, I think it is a feature a lot of people would find useful.

janiq
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:10 pm

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by janiq » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:04 pm

robschroeder wrote:
glaca wrote:What do you mean old nebula libraries or old init files ?
Are they located in N3 repository ? If so can I remove them ? Not using original library in N3 just 3rd party.

thanks
In N3 copy protection works with the INIT.2P and INIT.2V file. Both are in the N3 repository. INIT.2P is in Programs and INIT.2V is in Vectors folder. So removing them would not be wisely for N3 as it then wants again to be authorised.

I assume that most people only threw their programs and vectors into these folders without any structure and maybe this is especially on OSX now the problem as they point directly from N4 there and so also INIT files are in there. I kept from beginning on everything categorized in folders and always worked with ALTPATH so maybe that's why i never got trouble with that now.

If you have installed the old Nebula 3 library at the beginning of you N3 career it will still be in the Repository folder. Libraries itself you can delete whenever you want. Don't forget to also delete the content of the TMP folder otherwise Nebula will not understand that you have deleted a library.

Hi Rob and other Guys

Just wanted to thank you for trying to help. In the end the problem with AITB libraries was the 32 bit version of the library and authorization issues with regards to that. Mirco sent me a newer version of his library and now all is working fine. So on my end AlexB and AITB older libraries are working with no issues in Nebula 4.

Jhoilson
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:01 am

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by Jhoilson » Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:35 pm

mortemer wrote:N4 not working!!
installed N4, then installed rose, uploades N4.ser from acustica64 folder and set N4.aut in the same folder, rose works but 1413606.dll doesn't work. So what is this shit always having problems with authorisation since Neb3, then Neb3 server and now in Neb 4. I'M really tired of it, so what is the problem to create a auth setup with absolute clear automated execution?? This is the only program in the world I know having trouble with authorisation, never had it anywhere else in decades of vst!!!
sorry, guys

Neb 3 Gui appears: error master descriptor not found (1413606.xml)

This is what I mean.
Where are the developers?
A tremendous lack of respect

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by giancarlo » Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:01 pm

Jhoilson wrote:
mortemer wrote:N4 not working!!
installed N4, then installed rose, uploades N4.ser from acustica64 folder and set N4.aut in the same folder, rose works but 1413606.dll doesn't work. So what is this shit always having problems with authorisation since Neb3, then Neb3 server and now in Neb 4. I'M really tired of it, so what is the problem to create a auth setup with absolute clear automated execution?? This is the only program in the world I know having trouble with authorisation, never had it anywhere else in decades of vst!!!
sorry, guys

Neb 3 Gui appears: error master descriptor not found (1413606.xml)

This is what I mean.
Where are the developers?
A tremendous lack of respect
If rose works, nebula will do
Remember to place aut file also in the repository!!!
Otherwise open a ticket, they will guide you

User avatar
darren
Member
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:46 pm

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by darren » Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:20 pm

Devs, do you know what the issue(s) are with the 'bad libraries'?

Is trapping/catching those issues before a catastrophe possible?
N4. N3 Server. Ultramarine. Scarlet. Sand. Pink 7236. Pink 2412. Pink. Ivory. Green. Aquamarine. Amethyst. Gold.

User avatar
darren
Member
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:46 pm

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by darren » Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:26 pm

Also, and please forgive me if you have answered this already, but what (if any) are the advantages of loading a legacy N3 program into N4?

Lets take, for example, the Zodiac Compressor from SignalToNoize. Is there any discernible difference (good or bad) from processing this with N4 instead of N3?
N4. N3 Server. Ultramarine. Scarlet. Sand. Pink 7236. Pink 2412. Pink. Ivory. Green. Aquamarine. Amethyst. Gold.

User avatar
darren
Member
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:46 pm

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by darren » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:24 am

Perhaps a list of all known 'bad libraries' would suffice for now.

Simply so that I can make a copy of my N3 Programs/Vectors dirs and delete those bad libs from there.

It would need to be an exhaustive list of .N2P and .N2V
N4. N3 Server. Ultramarine. Scarlet. Sand. Pink 7236. Pink 2412. Pink. Ivory. Green. Aquamarine. Amethyst. Gold.

User avatar
Mauri
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by Mauri » Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:44 am

Both N4 versions, VST2 and VST3 work partially in Wavelab 9, for example AITB Mammoth and Doc Fear EQs do not load at all. I use the <ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH> D:\nebulatemprepository\ </ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH> of my Nebula 3 libraries.

In Cubase Pro 9 N4 VST3 shows up and works with some N3 libraries. N4 VST2 does not show at all in the Plugin Manager. I have it installed C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\ the same as N3, is that the correct location for N4 VST2?

Mauri.
Cubase 10.5 Pro x64 | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs + 4 SSDs for samples & project files | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x UAD2 Solo | Mackie HR624 MK2 | 2 x 24" BenQ LED monitors | WaveLab Elements 10 | N4 and many libraries| Aquamarine and Ultramarine.

User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by zabukowski » Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:51 am

When VST3 is installed, VST2 is not visible in hosts like Cubase/Nuendo and Studio One.

User avatar
Mauri
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by Mauri » Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:08 am

Ok, thanks, Zap :).
Cubase 10.5 Pro x64 | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs + 4 SSDs for samples & project files | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x UAD2 Solo | Mackie HR624 MK2 | 2 x 24" BenQ LED monitors | WaveLab Elements 10 | N4 and many libraries| Aquamarine and Ultramarine.

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 4048
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by RJHollins » Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:54 pm

Mauri wrote:Both N4 versions, VST2 and VST3 work partially in Wavelab 9, for example AITB Mammoth and Doc Fear EQs do not load at all. I use the <ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH> D:\nebulatemprepository\ </ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH> of my Nebula 3 libraries.

In Cubase Pro 9 N4 VST3 shows up and works with some N3 libraries. N4 VST2 does not show at all in the Plugin Manager. I have it installed C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\ the same as N3, is that the correct location for N4 VST2?

Mauri.
Not sure, but with the new AITB libraries, they are c/P. Did you copy their AUT file into N4 repository?
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
Mauri
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by Mauri » Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:05 pm

Yeah, the AITB libraries are authorized and work fine N3. The AITB EAR reverb libraries also load just fine, as well as other rev libraries.


I haven't had much time to check a lot my other libraries, the installation of N4 was a rather long and harrowing experience, but I put it down to stupid ;) !
Cubase 10.5 Pro x64 | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs + 4 SSDs for samples & project files | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x UAD2 Solo | Mackie HR624 MK2 | 2 x 24" BenQ LED monitors | WaveLab Elements 10 | N4 and many libraries| Aquamarine and Ultramarine.

ceemusic
Member
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:42 pm

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by ceemusic » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:13 pm

Don't know if it's been mentioned but Alex B's MFC doesn't load in N4. (at least for me anyway -Cubase,Sonar, S1)

It's rather odd, all of his other libraries work in N4 & MFC is fine in N3.

User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Nebula version 4.x experiences

Post by andiw » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:40 pm

Mac 10.12.2, Reaper 5.2, VST64, N4

MFC loads fine on my computer but TimP U76, Sum100A, Opto 3A, Blu Mu, Phaser Pedals makes Reaper crash as soon as I load N4 (with AlternativeDataPath TimPetherick)

Surge, 37J, Gyrator, MREQ load fine, too

So all my TimP comps fail to load ... :shock:
my music: aj-guitar.com

Post Reply