Is CUDA only for reverb?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by xyxxjx » Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:19 am

I have plenty of Cuda cores on my video card, but currently Cuda for nebula is not installed. Is CUDA only beneficial to reverb? Or will things like compressors, eq, preamps etc. Also benfit from it? Could you for example run more nebula instances with Cuda?

RE301
Member
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by RE301 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:57 pm

I'm hardly a Nebula power-user, but seeing as no one has responded - apparently CUDA only will work for Nebula reverbs.... so to answer your question CUDA = reverb only.

To port things like compressors, eq etc to another CPU / spreading the processor demands, you would need Nebula Server.. and an external processor in the form of extra PC / server..

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by Support » Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:04 pm

Nvidia CUDA GPU processing using CUDA toolkit with AA CUDA bridge in Nebula work only in FREQD engine (optimization 15), therefore is beneficial for long FREQD emulation presets like Reverbs.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

User avatar
basaristudios
Expert
Expert
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by basaristudios » Fri Jan 01, 2016 6:26 pm

And my question is...looking at my specs below...would i benefit anything from Cuda?

Thanks
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by Support » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:18 pm

[email protected] wrote:And my question is...looking at my specs below...would i benefit anything from Cuda?

Thanks
You will able to run from 1 to 00 Reverbs emulation presets depending the power of your GPU. We don't have any GTX 960 to measure here.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

jpn
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:16 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by jpn » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:44 pm

I have an Old Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ and for me it´s enough to use the reverbs I need .(4 or 5)
In my experience Cuda is very efficient on reverbs

RE301
Member
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by RE301 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:12 pm

Interesting! Those are dead cheap used on 'evilbay' (!)
(Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+)

User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by botus99 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:27 pm

jpn wrote:I have an Old Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ and for me it´s enough to use the reverbs I need .(4 or 5)
In my experience Cuda is very efficient on reverbs
:shock: .... I need to start looking at CUDA :lol:

Semi-OT question: Would a higher number of CUDA cores in a GPU mean greater amounts of processing power for Nebula? Or is that more in line with the GPU clock speed? Basically, I'm wondering that if money were no object, what specs would be THE specs to look for in a CUDA supported GPU regarding Nebula use?
Win10 / Reaper / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM | ZED-R16 / Digi003 (Revive modded)
N4 - Orange, Blue, Purple, Pearl, Diamond, Ebony, Gold, Navy, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral, Cobalt, Lemon

jpn
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:16 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by jpn » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:43 pm

botus99 wrote:
jpn wrote:I have an Old Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ and for me it´s enough to use the reverbs I need .(4 or 5)
In my experience Cuda is very efficient on reverbs
:shock: .... I need to start looking at CUDA :lol:

Semi-OT question: Would a higher number of CUDA cores in a GPU mean greater amounts of processing power for Nebula? Or is that more in line with the GPU clock speed? Basically, I'm wondering that if money were no object, what specs would be THE specs to look for in a CUDA supported GPU regarding Nebula use?
I can´t answer that ...
what I can say is even with an old GPU with Cuda cores is very efficient . Whithout cuda I can´t use the same amount of reverbs.

User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Post by botus99 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:18 am

jpn wrote:I can´t answer that ...
what I can say is even with an old GPU with Cuda cores is very efficient . Whithout cuda I can´t use the same amount of reverbs.
Fair enough. Seeing as I can't run that many reverb instances without CUDA either, you definitely peaked my interest haha. Thanks for the reply though!
Win10 / Reaper / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM | ZED-R16 / Digi003 (Revive modded)
N4 - Orange, Blue, Purple, Pearl, Diamond, Ebony, Gold, Navy, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral, Cobalt, Lemon

Post Reply