Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
Masr
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:06 am

Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Post by Masr » Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:56 pm

I own only Nebula 2 and for the most part it seems to be all I need. Even some compressor libraries sound really good in it but I cannot change their attack and release values. ;)

Will this become possible if I upgrade to Nebula 3 or will I still need to upgrade to Neb 3 Pro?

I would love to make these work especially on Fate Comp, Snap Comp, Modern White Dynamics and D*x 165a.

Thanks.
Marek

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5041
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Post by richie43 » Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:44 am

This is just my opinion, but if you are going to explore the very awesome sounds of Nebula and what it can do for your audio, upgrade to the Pro or even Server version. I know that it is more money, but well worth it. I found that I liked it so much I kept upgrading, where I could have just made one leap. But I also don't know the answer to your question regarding regular Nebula 3 and using compressors because I started using the Pro before Nebula compressors were that good. Good luck and I hope someone else who knows more chimes in soon. I just know that I don't have too much money, but upgrading my Nebula was the best investment in my audio life in a long time.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

blandry
User Level VI
User Level VI
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:07 am

Re: Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Post by blandry » Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:58 am

I believe Neb 2 and 3 both have the core1 engine and the compressors won't work properly. I think you gotta go 3 pro. I've been putting this off as well (still on Neb 2) :)

Masr
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:06 am

Re: Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Post by Masr » Sat Nov 19, 2011 8:14 pm

Thanks for suggestions.

Anyone having actual experience with the basic Nebula 3 (no Pro) version and compressors? The step to the Pro version seems to be still too big for me. :roll:

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10926
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Post by giancarlo » Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:10 am

2 and 3 share the same engine. 3 pro is based on a different engine, compressors are modeled in a better way regarding attack/release controls

User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1207
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Is the basic Nebula 3 enough for compressors?

Post by TranscendingMusic » Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:59 pm

The other difference is, getting 3 Pro gives more support to those responsible in creating this in the first place 8-)
Bob
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Cubase 9.5 Pro x64 |
Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)

Post Reply