something has got to be done about the update process

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

something has got to be done about the update process

Post by xyxxjx » Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:06 am

I mean it's a mess. First, good luck trying to find the files. When you do, which one do you run, Setup or Upgrade? Why not put the explanation right there next to the files. Do you have to send the .ser file every time you do an upgrade? Why not put the answer to that next to the files.

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by jorismak » Sun Dec 07, 2014 11:45 am

... I think this is a case of 'read the manual', of if you have questions like this, ask the support staff through the ticket system ('Customer Area -> Get Support').

If updating, always run the upgrade. Make sure to select the same paths as the previous version (both for your nebula repository and the VST / plugin path, you've picked those during the initial install some time ago). No .ser / authorization stuff needed. Just run the upgrade and done.

From the forum (or from the main acustica site) there is a link 'customer area' on the far right (in the menu in the top). It contains a link 'dashboard'.

If you click that, one of the first things you see on that page is 'My Products - Downloads'. Your Nebula version should be in there, click the download link. You get a password prompt (with the password displayed that you should use) and you get a folder/file browser to pick the OS you have and there's your download. Not really that much different or complicated from every other download system out there to be honest.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10926
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by giancarlo » Sun Dec 07, 2014 12:04 pm

there is an other installer for nebula, which is apparently good but never tested. It solves almost all issues, for example the upgrade process.
Only we didn't have enough time for testing.... we'll do it.

xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by xyxxjx » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:48 pm

19 days of downtime so far, problem still not fixed.

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3370
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by RJHollins » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:57 pm

what's the problem ? Post some details so you can get this solved.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
Mauri
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by Mauri » Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:48 am

The wording 'Upgrade' confused me slightly when I first started using Nebula.
What it actually is, is an 'Update', as used by every other developer I know of. 'Upgrade' is usually used when going, from say, Nebula 3 to Nebula 4.

No biggie though, once you 'get it' ;) !

Mauri.
Cubase 9.5 Pro x64 + jBridge, W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs + 3 SSDs for samples & project files, i7 5930K @ 4.2GHz, ASUS X99 Pro, 32GB RAM, RME HDSPe AIO, 2 x UAD2 Solo, Mackie HR624 MK2, 2 x 24" BenQ LED monitors, N4 - Aquamarine - Nebula 3.

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by Support » Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:54 am

xyxxjx wrote:I mean it's a mess. First, good luck trying to find the files. When you do, which one do you run, Setup or Upgrade? Why not put the explanation right there next to the files. Do you have to send the .ser file every time you do an upgrade? Why not put the answer to that next to the files.
Because we already done: http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... 10&t=26045 & http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... f=10&t=362
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by xyxxjx » Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:01 am

The problem is I can't upload the .ser file using the dashboard I've tried several different browsers. I've email the file several days ago to support but have received no answer.

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by jorismak » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:04 pm

Emailing doesn't get a quick response, specially during the holidays I guess. Use the ticketing system instead, it's _made_ for inquiries like this.

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: something has got to be done about the update process

Post by Support » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:05 pm

xyxxjx wrote:The problem is I can't upload the .ser file using the dashboard I've tried several different browsers. I've email the file several days ago to support but have received no answer.
Use ticket system, you will receive a ticket for tracking your issue.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com

Post Reply