Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
andivax
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:17 pm

Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by andivax » Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:11 pm

just install Nebula3 Pro x64 1.3.708 (upgrade over installed previous version).
Load time is increased! 4 times slower now in Reaper 4.6 x64 win7 x64.

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by Mercado_Negro » Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:45 pm

Did you clear your temp folder and also delete "~scanboot.xml" from the setups folder? A reinstall could also help. Here it's like exactly that... 4 times... faster.
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3681
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.
Contact:

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower

Post by Support » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:49 pm

Apply Q.5.18 recommendation from Nebula F.A.Q.: http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... f=10&t=396

More detailed information here, The Nebula tip of the month (#45 - March 2014), How to rebuild and freeze Nebula database: http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... 39&t=27850
Best regards,
Acustica Audio help-desk service and support.
https://www.acustica-audio.com/
Acustica Audio is a trademark of Acusticaudio SRL.

To contact Acustica Audio support go to the ‘Support’ in your Acustica Audio account.
We do not provide support via social networks, public forums, Acustica Audio forums, or email accounts.

hwasser
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:44 am

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by hwasser » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:50 pm

Mine didnt get faster either. I'll try clear those files. :)

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by jorismak » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:24 pm

Major difference in some of the previous versions (no use for <FROZENBOOT> anymore), but 1.3.708 seems not any slower/faster... just the same. Preset-switching is nice though. Just still takes a while. Specially if it needs to resample :P.

I will also try rebuilding / cleaning temp.

User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by botus99 » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:30 pm

Definitely faster on my end. I did clear the scanboot xml and the temp folder though.
Win10 / Reaper / i7 6700K / 64gb RAM | DL32R / ZED-R16 / 2x Digi003 (1 Black Lion modded, 1 Revive modded)
N4 - Orange, Blue, Purple, Pearl, Diamond EQ Trans & Lift, Ebony, Gold, Navy, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, Titanium, Aquamarine, El Rey, Magenta, Erin, Coral, Cobalt, Celestial, Taupe, Lemon

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:42 pm

faster here

jpchartrand
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:46 pm

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by jpchartrand » Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:25 pm

Mercado_Negro wrote:Did you clear your temp folder and also delete "~scanboot.xml" from the setups folder? A reinstall could also help. Here it's like exactly that... 4 times... faster.
I assume there is a readme file or something that details the necessary steps after the upgrade included in the .708 download? Otherwise how else would we know that we have to do these things?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:29 pm

it should be automatic... did you solve it? remove the temp folder

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by Mercado_Negro » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:20 pm

jpchartrand wrote:
Mercado_Negro wrote:Did you clear your temp folder and also delete "~scanboot.xml" from the setups folder? A reinstall could also help. Here it's like exactly that... 4 times... faster.
I assume there is a readme file or something that details the necessary steps after the upgrade included in the .708 download? Otherwise how else would we know that we have to do these things?
No, there's no readme there (though I guess you already know that and it was just a rethoric question). I fully understand what you're talking about, sometimes things are just a "hit and miss" with Acustica Audio but trust me, they're a small team doing the work of a lot of people (remember that AA has just been recently considered a full time company for the team). Things will be better as time goes by, just please try to browse forums or even ask questions via threads/PMs for the time being.

[EDIT] By the way, clearing the "temp" folder and deleting the "~scanboot.xml" file from the setups folder is a good habit to adopt when updating Nebula (or installing/upgrading libraries).
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by jorismak » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:28 pm

Clearing temp\ and ~scanboot.xml seemed to result in (just a bit) faster loading of presets. Loading the plugin onto a track (or loading a project with nebula on it) still takes 2 seconds or so.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:30 pm

and before was? (in your system)

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:35 pm

keep in mind it is related to your system performances
Here scanboot+708+ssd+mac= blazing fast. I think Ill make a video. A 2000 preset library is incredibly fast. Things loads in a sort of nevrotic way. Most of presets in my library are about hundreds of samples for several hundreds of megabytes each one. You should compare it with samplers, they are way slower here

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:37 pm

most presets loads in less than 1 second. Nebula boot time is around 1 second. A complete loading is around 1.2 seconds. We can't go backward in time still

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5057
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Pro x64 1.3.708 load time 4x slower (((

Post by richie43 » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:47 pm

giancarlo wrote: We can't go backward in time still
Maybe that's why the OP thinks it's loading slower...because it's so fast that time has become non-relative to his reality..... 708 has been unusually fast on my systems.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

Post Reply