Cuda

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10922
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:49 am

kernels should be all the same size, at least 110 mseconds. Anyway I repeat, start testing it for reverbs. You have an huge advantage there. I would prefer to start testing from something which "should" work as expected before testing difficoult things

User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
Posts: 743
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Cuda

Post by vicnestE » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:02 am

giancarlo wrote:kernels should be all the same size, at least 110 mseconds. Anyway I repeat, start testing it for reverbs. You have an huge advantage there. I would prefer to start testing from something which "should" work as expected before testing difficoult things
Thanks for the tip.
But it's not like I would need more than 6 reverb send for a huge project. So the longer kernels are favored for Cuda.

Also want to know if it is possible to use Cuda for TIMED? All mode tested but I could not change any of them to TIMED.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10922
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:43 pm

no you can't use it for timed. But a 6 cores intel, or a xeon based on 2 processors featuring 6 cores each one. They are astonishing

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10922
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:29 pm

topic moved here from the beta forum. You could test cuda quickly now

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10922
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:31 pm

this topic belongs here. Few tips inside

jorismak
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Cuda

Post by jorismak » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:48 pm

Thanks for moving it here! Got a gtx760 and a gtx660 here to try it with. Both more modern and faster than the gt520 / 610 'it just shows a piture' cards :), but not really the power hungry beasts you see in gaming rigs. I'm hopeful it can boost some reverb work.

So, to summarize: No TIMED mode (which is fine for me), only FREQD CUDA in the list 'OPT FREQD' you can choose from.

Works only good on long tails and tails of the same length, otherwise it becomes slower than native very quickly :). So open a preset, go to the 'KERN' tab and take a look at the right side column. The numbers there should be 110ms or more, and the same between clean/even/odd. Do I say that right?

So AITB EAR-Rooms, the 'guitar room' for example, seems to have 1.5ms TIMED, and 3598.5ms FREQD and then '10.0ms FADE'. It will work? Just a single 3598.5ms in the FREQD column and that's more than 110 so Cuda can actually do some magic on it.

We still need the whole Cuda5 / Cuda6 SDK from nvidia to make this work?

Cuda dll x86 on Windows x86 -> system32 directory
Cuda dll x64 on Windows x86 -> won't work :P
Cuda dll x86 on Windows x64 -> syswow64 directory
Cuda dll x64 on Windows x64 -> system32 directory
right?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10922
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:01 pm

yes correct

Jordi
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:02 pm

Re: Cuda

Post by Jordi » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:28 pm

possible will wish to use cuda with Mac? and if this is possible, we have to wait a long time?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10922
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:31 pm

it is more difficoult, we'll do it

Jordi
User Level IX
User Level IX
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:02 pm

Re: Cuda

Post by Jordi » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:33 pm

thanks for the quick response and encouragement to get it, good job!

Post Reply