Cuda

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:41 pm

Here a download link for both cuda 5.0 and cuda 6.0 (actually in betatesting for nvidia)

https://app.box.com/s/26nb62g082gmqc21ublw

It's windows only. Cuda 6.0 is in pre-production. Tell me if you miss the download link, we could upload it in some way

User avatar
Room Hunters
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:26 pm
Location: Europa
Contact:

Re: Cuda

Post by Room Hunters » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:03 pm

Will 5.0 or 6.0 allow anything new about timed or latency with cuda ?

Imagine an aqua vst with low Latency timed computed by gpu ... :o
Virtual Room Miking ?
Room Hunters!

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:10 pm

cuda 6 is a lot faster... first tests are very good here

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Post by Mercado_Negro » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:11 pm

It's been a long time since I tested Cuda and I can't remember exactly how to make this work. I have a GForce 520 GT (it's old but should work for testing).

Giancarlo, could you please give us a quick step by step guide about it so we can test it?
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5049
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Cuda

Post by richie43 » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:17 pm

Mercado_Negro wrote:It's been a long time since I tested Cuda and I can't remember exactly how to make this work. I have a GForce 520 GT (it's old but should work for testing).

Giancarlo, could you please give us a quick step by step guide about it so we can test it?
I have almost the identical card (610, I think), and "+1" the request for a refresher course in how to set this up.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Post by Mercado_Negro » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:19 pm

richie43 wrote:
Mercado_Negro wrote:It's been a long time since I tested Cuda and I can't remember exactly how to make this work. I have a GForce 520 GT (it's old but should work for testing).

Giancarlo, could you please give us a quick step by step guide about it so we can test it?
I have almost the identical card (610, I think), and "+1" the request for a refresher course in how to set this up.
I found this guide:

http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/vi ... ?f=10&t=44
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:23 pm

copy the 64 bits dll in system32 or the 32 bits dll in syswow64. In a 32 bits windows copy it in system32. Check using the provided testcuda.exe. About cuda follow nvidia links and drivers. In nebula select mode freqd, the highest one if it works. Load a reverb. Configure a nebula for reverbs and cuda, for example in nebula setups

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Post by Mercado_Negro » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:46 pm

Thanks, G. I'm downloading:

cuda_6.0.26_rc_winvista_win7_win8.1_general_64.exe

It's a 1Gb download! heh this will take a while.

I guess the Cuda Drivers are the same regular GPU drivers of our cards, no?
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:37 pm

Yes exactly

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Post by Mercado_Negro » Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:04 pm

giancarlo wrote:Yes exactly
Thanks, G!
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Post by Mercado_Negro » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:17 pm

I think my GT 520 isn't that good for Cuda. I could barely play 3 tracks running Nextaz' VNXT using Cuda while I could run 10 native. Well, the good news is it is working :D
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:21 pm

well, I tested on a quadro fx5800 which was expensive but very good 4 years ago. It features 250 cuda processors and you open many. We just assembled a powerful server featuring liquid cooling, latest 6 cores intel and a 780 titan black, which features 2800 cuda processors. You need something balanced

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Post by giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:23 pm

your card has 'only' 48 cores. 48 vs 2880 , you have 50x less

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Post by Mercado_Negro » Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:01 am

giancarlo wrote:your card has 'only' 48 cores. 48 vs 2880 , you have 50x less
Yep, I read that earlier on Nvidia site. Those 48 cores aren't helping much, that's why I understood it wasn't gonna do wonders for me but since we're testing stuff I thought I'd give it a try :)
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Cuda

Post by vicnestE » Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:40 am

giancarlo wrote:copy the 64 bits dll in system32 or the 32 bits dll in syswow64. In a 32 bits windows copy it in system32. Check using the provided testcuda.exe. About cuda follow nvidia links and drivers. In nebula select mode freqd, the highest one if it works. Load a reverb. Configure a nebula for reverbs and cuda, for example in nebula setups
What OPT TIMED mode should I select if I want to run TIMED nebula in Cuda??

Freqed mode works for me in x64 Cuda 6.0.

GeFroce GTX 760 2GDDR5 (my prediction on nebula cuda improvements finally pay off??)

Post Reply