Upgrade in the middle of a project ?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
Formbank
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:50 pm

Upgrade in the middle of a project ?

Post by Formbank » Sun Mar 09, 2014 11:33 pm

Apologies if this seems to be a lame question, but do people think it'd be okay to upgrade to v1.3602 from v1.3505, whilst I'm in the middle of a project ?

I wanted to use the very cool Tim Petherick Phasers library, which doesn't show up in version v1.3505, (which I've used pretty heavily in a project so far).

The install file directory things have changed from what I can gather (?) Any foreseeable issues to be aware of ?

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5041
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade in the middle of a project ?

Post by richie43 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:37 am

I do it all of the time, but I also make some ridiculously intense back-ups before I do. It is ALWAYS risky doing this, but with good backups, you can always revert back. If something goes wrong, the quickest fix is to over-write the dll's with the old one's. I don't remember for sure, but I THINK that the dll's may have different names now, so if that's the case, your projects wouldn't load them properly. If that happens, rename the dll's and xml's to the old name and things SHOULD be ok.....But like I said, BACK UP YOUR NEBULA INSTALLATION FIRST!!
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

Formbank
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:50 pm

Re: Upgrade in the middle of a project ?

Post by Formbank » Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:16 pm

Thanks for the reply Richie,
Seemed to go okay !

Post Reply