Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by ngarjuna » Wed May 29, 2013 1:45 pm

Thanks Andrums. Unfortunately for me that trick doesn't seem to be working for PT9.

zwatrif
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:16 am

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by zwatrif » Wed May 29, 2013 3:07 pm

Thanks very much for everyone's help with this. I will try both work-arounds and see which works best for me. :-)

cortinaone
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:58 am

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by cortinaone » Thu May 30, 2013 1:05 am

The best work around I discovered was to run nebula inside of a wrapped version of ddmf's "metaplugin". The cool thing about this plugin is that you can chain multiple nebula's one after the other, all with correct delay compensation applied. You could then save a preset of that chain and quickly load that in other sessions. For example - I have a nebula master bus chain that I use on every song I do. Now instead of loading all these presets and setting the gain structure, its all done with one click!
On top of this I found that nebula was way more stable as well! :)

Give it a go! I think there's a trial version??

I'm running os x.

User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by ngarjuna » Thu May 30, 2013 1:53 am

I'm going to try Metaplugin tomorrow. If that does the trick it would be sweet, the price is quite palatable. Thanks for the suggestions! Using Nebula in PT is really new for me, I'm used to having a more cooperative host.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by enriquesilveti » Thu May 30, 2013 10:15 am

Meta plug-in has an issue with Nebula SRC.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by enriquesilveti » Thu May 30, 2013 10:15 am

From FXPansion support ( :? )
the VST to RTAS Adapter should work fine on Mac OS X 10.7 & 10.8
However some preset permissions were changed with those OS upgrades.

Can you please try and change the permissions for the folder \"/Library/Application Support\" to Read/Write and then rerun the adapter?

For Windows system, be sure that UAC is disabled in the Windows Control Panel. This may cause problems is enabled.

Make sure the plug-ins you are trying to wrap are Intel Mac and VST 2.3 compatible. Test and update me when you can.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3367
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by RJHollins » Thu May 30, 2013 10:31 am

enriquesilveti wrote:Meta plug-in has an issue with Nebula SRC.
I think this may have been fixed in the latest update. [PC-32]

Enriques ... do you have 'different' information ??
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

cortinaone
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:58 am

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by cortinaone » Thu May 30, 2013 10:33 am

enriquesilveti wrote:Meta plug-in has an issue with Nebula SRC.
Hmmm.. Hadn't noticed any SRC issues.. I did notice it crashing when I set meta plugin to oversample though.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by enriquesilveti » Thu May 30, 2013 10:43 am

Hmmm.. Hadn't noticed any SRC issues.. I did notice it crashing when I set meta plugin to oversample though.
In a 44.1 kHz session load inside meta plugin a Nebula emulation program with 48 kHz SR. Save session and reload. You see an arrow blinking?
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

cortinaone
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:58 am

Re: Working With Nebula in Pro Tools Native 10.3.5

Post by cortinaone » Thu May 30, 2013 11:09 am

Just tried loading a 96kHz program inside a 44.1kHz session and I didn't get any flashing arrow. Then I tried converting that session to 48kHz and got a flashing arrow :( I then tried reloading the program, saving, closing and reopening the session, and your right! There was still a flashing arrow! I haven't been doing any 48kHz sessions, so I hadn't noticed that behaviour....
Thanks for pointing that out :O

Post Reply