Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada
Contact:

Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by jelmet » Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:50 am

Ok guys,

You Neb Server users, could you let me know how many instances could you run thru one single ethernet port at 44.1?
I mean, am I able to run "X" Alex consoles, or "Y" R2Rs...
Thanks!!

Definity
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by Definity » Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:53 am

well to ask fro specific number is quite hard ATM since peoples setups vari from studio to studio! so there are no actualy numbers about yet, or not to my knowledge. But i know some people are running servers and if they are nice enough they might enlighten you on there IT setup and how many instances can run

dpclarkson
Member
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by dpclarkson » Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:10 pm

I'm curious about this too.
Would be nice if someone could set up
a chart with cpu and ram specs, for pc
and mac, with an average number of
instances that can be inserted with ethernet-server.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by giancarlo » Sun Oct 02, 2011 3:54 pm

it should be 13 for each gigabit lan connection/cable

User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada
Contact:

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by jelmet » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:57 am

So it's very little per ethernet...

woeischris
Member
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:06 am

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by woeischris » Mon Oct 03, 2011 10:08 pm

Was really hoping for more than that. Ouch.

User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada
Contact:

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by jelmet » Mon Oct 03, 2011 10:15 pm

Yes... it's a shame that ethernet can only handle that much... to fill an i7 2600K I would need at least 2 to 3 cards... at 44.1

User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by ngarjuna » Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:53 am

Time to start looking into faster transmission I guess.

dacaveprods
Member
Member
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:36 pm

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by dacaveprods » Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:38 am

ngarjuna wrote:Time to start looking into faster transmission I guess.

YEP!!!

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11215
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by giancarlo » Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:09 am

well I tested it in a slow system

mim1050
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:25 pm

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by mim1050 » Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:30 pm

I think the perfect solution is an embedded chainer in nebula server, this way you don't have to do the round trip for each nebula instances, you can remotely process a nebula chain with only 1 round trip (not to mention network latency won't add on each instances).

But I imagine it is a lot of work ....

Reaper's native solution for remote processing (reamote) works this way : you choose a track you want to be processed remotely, then Reaper just send the original audio, and get in return the processed audio after the whole FX chain.

User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by ngarjuna » Tue Oct 04, 2011 2:15 pm

It would be fair to point out that gigabit Ethernet is a pretty old technology now.

User avatar
Henry Olonga
Expert
Expert
Posts: 585
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:38 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by Henry Olonga » Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:20 am

Gigabit ethernet old or not is still ample bandwith guys. 125 Mb/sec. That is pretty darn fast and can run about 250 channels of 24 bit 96 khz theoretically. Of course there is overhead to consider so numbers are far less but that is faster than any but the fastest spinning hdd can handle.

With link aggregation one can combine the bandwith of all your NICs and get up to 3 or 4 gigabits. That is 375 Mb/sec on my system. I am reinstalling my main computer and server to take advantage of this soon. I will report back once ut is up and running. Perhaps next week sometime.

Main comp and servers are dual cpu intel xeon workstations so these are no slouches. If there is a problem running this setup and we get low numbers, it won't be because of bandwith.

User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada
Contact:

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by jelmet » Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:42 am

But the thing is... is there any space to optimization on the server side of Nebula? Is this the BEST we can have for ethernet configuration?

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 4048
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Post by RJHollins » Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:07 am

Look forward to your test results 'h-man'.

I currently have the server version, but as yet, have
not employed any external servers. But they were/are
definitely planned for the new room.

thanks!
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

Post Reply