Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by noiZefloor » Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:55 pm

Yes, I know that nebula should work using the fxpansion wrapper, but that's not a solution for me or a lot more guys. No one trusts the vst wrapper. It causes problems with control surfaces, introduces CPU spikes, you cannot use the compare button...I can tell you it's something totally different to work with a real rtas plugin. I just realized that when UAD showed up with real rtas support for their plugins. I just started to use them again and it's pure fun. Come on guys, nebula sound fantastic and just take a look on gearslutz. Everyone at least knows nebula, but the whole protools community is not in will to give it at least a try as long as it's not a real rtas plugin.

Please find the time to help Acustica to get a rtas development kit:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=18 ... ost1833074
Last edited by noiZefloor on Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2861
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by enriquesilveti » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:33 pm

We request several times RTAS development kit, but AVID NEVER replay us.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W10 1803 | OSX 10.13.6 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 GB SSD)
SP4 (W10 1903 | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 GB SSD)
Digiface Dante | Lyra2 | Rednet AM2
VM U18 | VM W10 1803 | VM OSX 10.13
N4/NAT4 | SPX4 | RX7 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT2019 | PX11 | NIK5

elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by elam » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:40 pm

Let's be REALLY honest... Sell PT and go for something else (as I did).
RTAS is a thing of the past.It has already reach is limits.TDM is overpriced and you're stuck with it's fvcked up converters...

And yes I think that PT is not the best platform for Nebula (as you see on every forums).

If I remember Enrique works with PT and as a Nebula guru he might help you find nice settings to make your life easier with it.

Just test a couple of DAW & open a couple of Nebula instance in them.Just test it yourself.After that,decide if it worth the learning curve or no.But do it yourself...and judge.You'll know what I'm talking about...


PS: I ain't got any problem with AVID.It's just that you ask us to be honest ;)

dpclarkson
Member
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by dpclarkson » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:58 pm

I sold my Hd3 a couple of years ago;
couldn't be happier!
Since I've discovered that Nebula is working
great with Reaper (which is highly underrated,
I believe), I'm starting to learn Reaper more and
more. It's all worth it.
Logic doesn't unload plugins, nor does PT.
So no rendering and mixing in those 2. ;)
Furthermore, PT doesn't let you save channelstrip
settings, so you have to make new chains
with every session, and importing session-data
is a bit pointless to me.
PT is a dying platform, very slowly over
the years.
I'm not kidding.

User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by scooter » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:30 am

Yes please! :D and I'm being selfish, strictly because I don't want to drop the coin for the RTAS rapper shite

All excellent points about the Reaper, though and it would be absolute torture bouncing files in PT, if you ran out of CPU. Reaper is a bad fother mucker!

On a side note.... I just cut some jalapenos and touched my eye. Yeooowwza!!! :shock:
-Scott

User avatar
cpwade
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by cpwade » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:14 am

dpclarkson- i could not agree more with your comments and stance.

Reaper, no idea, I will DL tonight.

Logic- love channel strips and plays nice with OSX. Great writing tool, dependable, solid. Summing is not amazing and audio editing is inferior, but usable. Try stripping DC offset for example- click, click, click.. some old code in there, from the prosoniq guys I bet. Mixes sound muddy- my bad. I've heard some pretty amazing stuff mixed out of Logic, just not from me.

PT- Just spent three days reinstalling and then deciding to jump up to 9 from 8.05. What a little bitch PT is. Nothing but issues. I have $$$ in RTAS so I stay in the game. Audio editing amazing, summing in 9 is as good as Nuendo. Outstanding. Mixes have clarity and mid crunch. My mixes anyway. Wrapper works fine with VST to RTAS.

Not sure why I wrote this.

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5049
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by richie43 » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:21 am

I couldn't agree more about Reaper. It has saved my ass and kept me in the digital audio game. Reaper is deep and powerful. Unlimited and VERY customizable. Also works with everything!
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

wakevortex
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by wakevortex » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:59 am

If you look at my thread here

http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Nebula does not actually WORK with the latest version of protools.
I am dead in the water till something is fixed..
Its currently the only plugin I am having troubles with on this new version.
It may well be something to do with the wrapper , but the fact is I have a Nebula server which is useless inside the current protools

any ideas appreciated !
Bill P

noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by noiZefloor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:04 pm

Ok...I did not expect to see lots of PT friends in here ;) I've really tried every kind of DAW. I came from Sonar, and I realized that it sounds stressed the more plugins you insert. I really tried every kind of DAW and I've really got to say, it's the same with every native DAW. I really love PT for what it is. I don't want so save channel strips or whatever. Every song is a new song.

Let's get back to topic. I don't want to start another DAW war Thread.

Maybe we shall start a a thread on DUC. I just can't understand why Avid keeps ignoring nebula. Maybe they want to protect their other developers :twisted:

btw: My biggest problem with the wrapped version of nebula is, that it introduces blasting noise randomly when I stop playback. Sounds a bit like a buffer that's being emptied. I just own nebula2 but it's the same with the nebula3 demo.

noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by noiZefloor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:42 pm

Here we go. Let's obtain a rtas development kit for Acustica:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=18 ... ost1833074

We need every post we can get!!!!

elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by elam » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:10 pm

OK I hate to sound like a fake pastor but, really...

Give a new try to the last Reaper version 4.02.

Do it,it's light on your system,non intrusive (i.e: if you uninstall it it will not leave all kind of shit on your system),if you fear for the "cleaness" of your system you can even install it on USB key.

NOW load some Nebula 2 instances.Check the sound quality,the system stability and the number of instances you can load before it start to bug out.

It will take you a couple of minutes (basically the time for reaper to "read" your plugin folder).

NOW really,tell us about the difference btw. PT and Reaper.I'll not discuss the "sound differences" ;) here or anywhere else ;) .

PS: True story,last week one of my friend (a big ass Reggae producer) got an ilock issue (PT of course)in the middle of an important delivery.I ask him to do the same during the time he was waiting for his system to be fix.He did it.Next thing, he yell on me and ask why I didn't told him about Reaper earlier ! (and he don't use Nebula!)

noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by noiZefloor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:13 pm

WTF is going on? I just would like to use nebula. I don't want to switch to another DAW. I am happy with PT and if nebula only comes bundled with reaper or whatever it seems to be not for me. It's like owning a tire and buying a Car that fits. PT may die, but it's still the standard. Maybe PT doesn't deserve to be the standard, but a client will notice the latency of another DAW even if there is no latency. There are many other silly reasons, but that's just how it is.

Ok, now as everyone is free to use what ever he wants to produce music it would still be a goal for everyone if there would be rtas version of nebula. PT is still a big market, especially now as they just released a good native version. If Acustica would be a part of this market they would sell more copies, earn more $$$ and spend more $$$ in more development. The same applies to 3rd party developers.

User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by ngarjuna » Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:57 pm

noiZefloor wrote:WTF is going on? I just would like to use nebula. I don't want to switch to another DAW. I am happy with PT and if nebula only comes bundled with reaper or whatever it seems to be not for me. It's like owning a tire and buying a Car that fits. PT may die, but it's still the standard. Maybe PT doesn't deserve to be the standard, but a client will notice the latency of another DAW even if there is no latency. There are many other silly reasons, but that's just how it is.

Ok, now as everyone is free to use what ever he wants to produce music it would still be a goal for everyone if there would be rtas version of nebula. PT is still a big market, especially now as they just released a good native version. If Acustica would be a part of this market they would sell more copies, earn more $$$ and spend more $$$ in more development. The same applies to 3rd party developers.
If you're happy with PT then obviously it's the right host for you. I don't think anyone would necessarily dispute that.

As for other reasons (the standard, customers expect, etc) those are becoming increasingly irrelevant. It has been a few years already since PT was absolutely required; let's be real, anyone who's shelling out very big bucks for a very fancy recording isn't going to be blown away by anything Digi (and will likely be asking you questions about your bias/calibration not which DAW you're using). Another relevant question would be: how many of these high end studios are even interested in gear emulation? Guys with N**e consoles don't need console emus; guys with MT1000s don't need R2R; guys with racks full of 1176 channels might not be overcome with joy at a brilliant emu like the Stripe76. It's a different market.

Considering the licensing overhead involved in getting into the RTAS market, the small number of units Nebula could sell (even if you count all those Pro Tools rigs out there, which there are still quite a few of) might not be anywhere near cost effective. Without some serious numbers (not just how many RTAS users would love to see a Nebula version but, more importantly, how many users have currently NOT bought Acustica products but would if there were an RTAS version) I think this is premature.

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5049
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by richie43 » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:08 pm

Very well put. I hope everyone reads this.
ngarjuna wrote: If you're happy with PT then obviously it's the right host for you. I don't think anyone would necessarily dispute that.

As for other reasons (the standard, customers expect, etc) those are becoming increasingly irrelevant. It has been a few years already since PT was absolutely required; let's be real, anyone who's shelling out very big bucks for a very fancy recording isn't going to be blown away by anything Digi (and will likely be asking you questions about your bias/calibration not which DAW you're using). Another relevant question would be: how many of these high end studios are even interested in gear emulation? Guys with N**e consoles don't need console emus; guys with MT1000s don't need R2R; guys with racks full of 1176 channels might not be overcome with joy at a brilliant emu like the Stripe76. It's a different market.

Considering the licensing overhead involved in getting into the RTAS market, the small number of units Nebula could sell (even if you count all those Pro Tools rigs out there, which there are still quite a few of) might not be anywhere near cost effective. Without some serious numbers (not just how many RTAS users would love to see a Nebula version but, more importantly, how many users have currently NOT bought Acustica products but would if there were an RTAS version) I think this is premature.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

wakevortex
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Post by wakevortex » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:05 pm

Yes all good stuff , but Nebula currently does NOT work wrapped on the latest version of protools running Lion OSX ( 9.0.5) so until that is fixed all this is kinda pointless!

As for jumping ship to another DAW, get real guys... some of us have thousands of pounds invested in Protools cards and hardware...are you going to buy it from me to jump to Reaper?

:-)

BP

Post Reply