VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
grisman
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:20 pm

VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by grisman » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:18 pm

Hello!

I am working on a user interface for AlexB's CLeq equalizer. I am interested in getting some help on testing it out.
Here is what it looked like:

Image

It still almost looks like the picture with some changes.

To install the plugin (64bit)- put it in the SAME folder as "Nebula3CoreII64 Reverb.dll" because the plugin CLeq.dll uses this as an external.
The CLeq has to be installed and working in nebula.

The plugin:
http://bit.ly/MJLhEP *alpha 8*

This is for 32bit, this uses "nebula3 reverb.dll" as an external so the plugin CLeqx86.dll goes in the SAME directory as that.

http://bit.ly/MJLhEP alpha 8

(Both x64 and x86 are included in the same Zip.)


This is a alpha version and not considered to be a complete solution.
The plugin implements hi, low filters , HiShelf, HimidBell, MidMidBell, LowMidBell and loshelf eq's in one control surface.
Along with 3 different settings for "quality" where Normal is the default settings setup by AlexB at "factory".

Loading the plug takes some time since its running 7 impulses and when switching "quality" or samplerate everything has to be converted wich also takes some time.

If the host is set to inform plugins of offline rendering then the plug will switch to a different setting for the rendering.

I would really like to know how it works on your setup and also i want to get thoughts and ideas.

Cheers, Jocke
Last edited by grisman on Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:48 pm, edited 9 times in total.

mpodrug
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:41 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by mpodrug » Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:48 pm

Wow this looks epic! Too bad i don't have CleQ yet. This is something the devs definitely have to take a look at.
Looking forward for a final release!

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3946
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by RJHollins » Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:29 pm

I would have wanted to help, however, I'm still running 32 bit server :(
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11199
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by giancarlo » Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:30 pm

awesome!!!
tell me if you need our c++ library in order to build a better wrapper....

cortinaone
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:58 am

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by cortinaone » Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:24 pm

This looks great!!
Windows only - correct?

grisman
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by grisman » Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:35 pm

giancarlo wrote:awesome!!!
tell me if you need our c++ library in order to build a better wrapper....
Hey man. Im really intrested in the library ofcourse, tried to pm you but it didnt work for some reason. Where do i find it?

Cheers, Jocke

SWAN
Expert
Expert
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:16 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by SWAN » Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:35 am

when you have 7 instances loaded in the 1 plugin - what is the total latency?

Looks very cool. I cant test as Im still 32bit but will be 64 eventually...and have CLq...
Mac Mini i7 quad 2.6

Logic X
Live 9
Reaper

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5049
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by richie43 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:28 am

I just tried it again, but this time on my main DAW rig (last time was on my back-up DAW laptop), and the eq host of yours is still not showing up at all in Reaper (64bit) for me. It's a mystery. And yes, I have the ClEQ installed and working.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5049
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Success, maybe

Post by richie43 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:36 am

I got it to show in Reaper. Now I will see if it explodes my DAW in fiery flames...... :oops:
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

grisman
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by grisman » Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:37 am

SWAN wrote:when you have 7 instances loaded in the 1 plugin - what is the total latency?

Looks very cool. I cant test as Im still 32bit but will be 64 eventually...and have CLq...
The latency right now is pretty high since each impulse got 2048 dspbuffer. but this could be changed to a smaller size ofcourse. I would really like some recommendations on this number!

If youre running reaper it will bridge x64 and 32 bit plugs automatically so i think it works anyway as long as you have the 64 bit version of nebula coreII.
richie43 wrote:I got it to show in Reaper. Now I will see if it explodes my DAW in fiery flames...... :oops:
Nice! i really hope it works out good!

I was thinking of doing this with some of the bundled EQ's but i really like the CLeq so thats why i went on that first. Ill do something from the bundled library and maybe we can find some more testers.

Cheers, Jocke

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11199
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by giancarlo » Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:28 pm

grisman wrote:
giancarlo wrote:awesome!!!
tell me if you need our c++ library in order to build a better wrapper....
Hey man. Im really intrested in the library ofcourse, tried to pm you but it didnt work for some reason. Where do i find it?

Cheers, Jocke
I'll be on vacation soon, it's better if you wait I'm back, round the end of august.
My email address is [email protected]
Our c++ library is much like nebula, but you could link it directly. It exposes internally all variables used by nebula. For a free product we don't ask anything back for sure. For a commercial product/release (commercial for you) we could agree in some way, it could be even free, we check case by case!

In your case you could even join alexb (on an other 3rd party developer) in some way and release something togheter, it could be an interesting challenge.

User avatar
babiuk
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:16 am

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by babiuk » Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:29 am

Thanks for starting this line of development, it will give us an amazing new nebula dimension.
I hope I live to see it, :)

I'm 32 bits so I cannot help in this, anyway please let us know if you do a 32 version.
Do you think this tool will be posible for all eqs?

Thanks and good luck in your work!
Mac Pro 5,1 / 6-core Intel Xeon / 16 GB Ram / El Capitan / Reaper / H******* Mixbuss

grisman
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by grisman » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:22 pm

babiuk wrote:Thanks for starting this line of development, it will give us an amazing new nebula dimension.
I hope I live to see it, :)

I'm 32 bits so I cannot help in this, anyway please let us know if you do a 32 version.
Do you think this tool will be posible for all eqs?

Thanks and good luck in your work!
The overall ambition is to create somekind of solution to the issues surrounding nebulas cpu load and to try and improve usability for non-technical guys.

I hope to make this kind of thing work with all presets but i cant say right now if that is possible.

Im working some with the CLeq as we speak and i am trying out some different things to minimize cpu load.

About the 32 bit issue. If you are running Reaper this will not be an issue since it has a built in wrapper that handles this. I am not sure how this works with other DAWs.

You do however need to have the 64bit version of nebula coreII right now. This will probably change in the future i suspect.

If you run Reamote in reaper i added some stuff the other day which makes the plug run quite smoothly.

Ill be back with something soon.

Cheers, Jocke

ericus
Member
Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:37 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by ericus » Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:46 pm

First impressions:


Wow! I love the functionality, it's amazing to have all those bands in one channel strip and not having to turn off the "Analog button"... ;-)


The Low-Normal-Extreme settings are a great idea too.


I think your plug is a winner... :mrgreen:

ericus
Member
Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:37 pm

Re: VST plugin - CLeq User interface Alpha testers wanted

Post by ericus » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:03 pm

Just noticed what seems to be some kind of memory leak...the memory in my Reaper 64 bits (win7 64bits) slowly goes up when the plug is activated. On bypass, the memory stays the same.

Post Reply