incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:00 pm

Arne wrote:Initial test with AlexB 4KD in Samplitude 11.2. 32 bit requires approx. 60 MB per instance. Drag and drop causes Samplitude to crash after 8-10 instances, but if I do it slow it seem to work. Reaper does not seem to handle the new Nebula library sharing very well, RAM uses is way bigger than in Samplitude, but you can see the same in Reaper as well, 32bit Nebula requires far less RAM than 64 bit.
I have not tested performances, just monitored RAM usage.
what is shared memory and local memory for each instance? read it in disk page of neb. The thing about crashes is interesting, but it could be fixed. I need more details, for example are you able to replicate it in reaper? because I don't have samplitude.

User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by ngarjuna » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:10 pm

mathias wrote:
(I guess I'm still not understanding the purpose of localserver)?
in 32 bit systems, you can use more ram, when the system has more.
example: before i had a limit around 1.2 gb of usable ram.
now i can go nearly up to 2.6 gb in my system (4 gb ram installed), with my 32bit os.

mathias
Ah, gotcha, thanks Mathias!

tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by tbentley » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:39 pm

does the 990x i7 take advantage of this update.

steve36
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by steve36 » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:10 pm

I am testing this update now in Reaper (x64) on Win7 Pro 64 and so far so good...only issue I've come across so far is that the name doesn't display in the fx browser...just VST: and a blank space where the name used to be.Name displays ok in projects where an instance is already loaded...new instances show as blank (even though Nebula loads normally).

Steve

User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by himhui » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:18 pm

tbentley wrote:does the 990x i7 take advantage of this update.
Ram used is reduced(7.2G=>6.8G whole system), performance drops a bit. I roll back to 495 first and wait for next update.
Xeon E5-2697 v4/Win10 x64/64G ram/ Quadro K620
Reaper 5.974/X-Touch
Prism Orpheus/ RME Babyface Pro

tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by tbentley » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:54 pm

k thanks.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:10 pm

himhui wrote:
tbentley wrote:does the 990x i7 take advantage of this update.
Ram used is reduced(7.2G=>6.8G whole system), performance drops a bit. I roll back to 495 first and wait for next update.
performances should be the same or better, we didn't change code, only the library is different. Are you loading the same preset?

User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by gurth » Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:48 pm

I think he means the performancemeter drops a bit, which is what it is supposed to do.

tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by tbentley » Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:40 pm

I read that only newer i7 would take advantage of this update. I was wondering if it was beneficial to update to the experimental version or just wait for a final.

User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by gurth » Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:59 pm

I updated just now, win7 64bit, 32 bit daw (ableton), I use nebula server like it is nebula pro, no things like local servers, beceause I do not understand how that works.

I see no advantage at all still 25% cpu usage and 1.6 gig of ram usage in my taskmanager. just like before I updated.

I see 1.3.498 written in nebula, so I think it is installed like it used to.

Am I doing something wrong? It is allways nice you don't have to bother about ram and cpu.

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by Mercado_Negro » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:08 pm

Ladies, gents, please go to MAST page and check if you're running 1.3.498 (Core3 r1.0).
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by gurth » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:11 pm

No it does not say 1.3.498 (Core3 r1.0). it says core2.

How can I change this??

nino
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:58 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by nino » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:11 pm

Im running 1.3.498 (CoreII r1.2)

and nebulas dlls creation date is 16.06.2011 which is a day
before .495 was released

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:26 pm

ok, tomorrow I'll check the uploaded versions. Check in MAST page that you are running Core3, otherwise just wait.

If you are running it and you don't see performance increases:

MEMORY - you should try loading the SAME preset across different nebula instances. Possibly something with a lot of data, for example "doc fear hi", which is based on around 200 megabytes of data. You should save around 200 megabytes for each instance ;)

PROCESSOR - well, I'm not intel, but I see their new optimization works very well on NEW processors, because all new processors were added to the list. In particular i7, ESPECIALLY the NEW ones (for example my notebook is using a different i7 than my desktop). In order to test it, select a reverb, possibly VNXT reverb, which is around 5 seconds. Here you are testing more or less the new intel library ALONE. In other configurations you could be fooled because you could run the OTHER code (not intel), which was already optimized!!! we can't go further there! Just to give a rough idea, my desktop 3.2 GHz i7 is running the 5 second VNXT reverb @ 44100 using ONLY 1% of processor (displayed in nebula 8%, but they are 8 cores)


[edit] I see you are running an old version. Ok tomorrow I'll check it. If you don't read "Core3" just wait. You are running the old engine....

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11214
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:35 pm

@mercado_negro: thank you for the report.

Post Reply