incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
steve36
User Level II
User Level II
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by steve36 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:25 am

blandry wrote:499n is rocking for me, huge improvement. Thank you!
Ditto...

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3980
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by RJHollins » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:10 am

ok ... this is starting to make me crazy [more]
reading about this Core3 version.

Are anyone using the Server version [local] with a
32-bit op system [XP] ???!!!

I know that I'll be going 64 OS-7, but with a new
Control room [now in treatment phase], I'm trying to
plan out what I should do.

Should us 32-bitt'rs upgrade from NEB3Pro to Server ?!?!

thanks!
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

Mplay
Member
Member
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by Mplay » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:40 am

I don't have server but if I understand correctly here's the deal: Pro doesn't have the latest engine and ram savings, so if you want those, you need to upgrade to Nebula server. It wont matter if you run the normal version, the server version (=over local network) or local server(=bridged 32bit<>64bit). In conclusion: even if you won't use the server or local server, you still want Nebula server. :)

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2861
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by enriquesilveti » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:13 am

Still XP PRO SP2 x86 in laptops and DAW (second partition). After you feel comfortable with NebulaClient/NebulaServer combo, you will not use Nebula3PRO any more. Nebula3PRO and server can coexist for smooth change.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (W10 1803 | OSX 10.13.6 | i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 GB SSD)
SP4 (W10 1903 | i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 GB SSD)
Digiface Dante | Lyra2 | Rednet AM2
VM U18 | VM W10 1803 | VM OSX 10.13
N4/NAT4 | SPX4 | RX7 | LN2C | SMAART8 | R5 | PT2019 | PX11 | NIK5

sneaky
Member
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by sneaky » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:43 am

Are anyone using the Server version [local] with a
32-bit op system [XP] ???!!!
xp 32 sp2 here running server on a 2nd machine. localserver runs sweet standalone. Then if need to run more neb instances I turn the other pc on ..runs even better on a couple of cheap pcs .cheers

futur2
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by futur2 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:02 pm

Mplay wrote:I don't have server but if I understand correctly here's the deal: Pro doesn't have the latest engine and ram savings, so if you want those, you need to upgrade to Nebula server. It wont matter if you run the normal version, the server version (=over local network) or local server(=bridged 32bit<>64bit). In conclusion: even if you won't use the server or local server, you still want Nebula server. :)
is this true? need no server and also no local server atm - jbridge is doing me just fine. but if the server version really is "better" (in which way?? ram, sound...??) i want it! anyone?

User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by Mercado_Negro » Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:15 pm

futur2 wrote:is this true? need no server and also no local server atm - jbridge is doing me just fine. but if the server version really is "better" (in which way?? ram, sound...??) i want it! anyone?
The Nebula3 Pro Server Bundle uses the Core3 engine which doesn't really need the server running to save RAM. The client (Nebula itself) shares RAM among all identical instances on its own. If you're a 64 bit user this is your best option since you'll save more RAM (and CPU if you have an i7).
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit

Mplay
Member
Member
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by Mplay » Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:00 pm

Giancarlo did say the core3 engine would be available for pro users sometime the future. He chose to only include it in the serrver for now,

futur2
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by futur2 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:28 pm

Mercado_Negro wrote:
futur2 wrote:is this true? need no server and also no local server atm - jbridge is doing me just fine. but if the server version really is "better" (in which way?? ram, sound...??) i want it! anyone?
The Nebula3 Pro Server Bundle uses the Core3 engine which doesn't really need the server running to save RAM. The client (Nebula itself) shares RAM among all identical instances on its own. If you're a 64 bit user this is your best option since you'll save more RAM (and CPU if you have an i7).
ram is not really an issue here. i use a 32bit daw with nebula 64 and jbridge (like anything else that is heavy on ram). my 24gb have never let me down so far. any other advantages of the core3 engine?

elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by elam » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:24 pm

Do you still render your tracks with 24gb of RAM ?

Are you able to run a full mixing or production session without Nebula instance limitations ?

What's your CPU power futur2 ?


I'm wondering what is today's Nebula RAM limits with most recent computer setups ?

User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
Posts: 773
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by vicnestE » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:21 am

Tried the Nebula 3 pro newest experimental n.
Intel 2600K CPU Win7 64bit.


On my Reaper 4 beta 64bit, the 64bit nebula reverb works better and smoother.

When I jump to any point of the project, the nebula could be synced after a few second rather than the old version which need a quick stop & replay.
Impressive 8-)


But when I try to load 32bit Nebula reverb into 64bit Reaper, it's not properly loaded anymore.

Not a big problem but report anyway.

User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
Posts: 773
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by vicnestE » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:38 am

elam wrote:Do you still render your tracks with 24gb of RAM ?

Are you able to run a full mixing or production session without Nebula instance limitations ?

What's your CPU power futur2 ?


I'm wondering what is today's Nebula RAM limits with most recent computer setups ?
On my Intel 2600K, I guess if I want full console simulation, I still need to render the input audio.

The loading takes some time (4min~5min) for a 44KHz project to load 96KHz programs. Most time waiting for the internal SRC due to I only run SATA3 HDs in raid 0.

I remembered I could insert about 70 instances of Alexb's Pultec EQ when CPU hit about 90% but I forgot the drive latency I used. It could load more if nebula DISKBUFFER is at 8192.

Recently when I inserted about 8 nebula reverb instances on a vocal chain, the playback response is slow. And I usually heard the vocal soloed about 5 seconds after I hit "stop". Sometimes the VST flush sound is annoying, but not a big deal if you get used to it.

Sorry for the not accurate numbers.

futur2
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by futur2 » Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:11 am

elam wrote:Do you still render your tracks with 24gb of RAM ?

Are you able to run a full mixing or production session without Nebula instance limitations ?

What's your CPU power futur2 ?


I'm wondering what is today's Nebula RAM limits with most recent computer setups ?
well, i have an older i7-920 -;) i render through a console before i start to mix.

as vicnestE pointed out it's getting sluggish if you try to max it out. personally i have no problems - i also use other things besides nebula...

elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by elam » Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:55 pm

Thanks for the infos vicnestE and futur2
futur2 wrote:Sorry for the not accurate numbers.
Don't worry both of you give me enough.

I wonder where Jessie Nemitz and Roomhunter are with their huge server setups ... That the type of system I'm aiming at ...

Loading time and SRC seems to be a real issue still. I had reduce loading time (Nebula plug time not Nebula library) dramatically with creating Nebula setups loaded with much less presets.

But SRC (I'm in 44.1)still a "creative flow" killer for me ...

futur2
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Post by futur2 » Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:59 pm

elam wrote:Thanks for the infos vicnestE and futur2
futur2 wrote:Sorry for the not accurate numbers.
Don't worry both of you give me enough.

I wonder where Jessie Nemitz and Roomhunter are with their huge server setups ... That the type of system I'm aiming at ...

Loading time and SRC seems to be a real issue still. I had reduce loading time (Nebula plug time not Nebula library) dramatically with creating Nebula setups loaded with much less presets.

But SRC (I'm in 44.1)still a "creative flow" killer for me ...
futur2 wrote: Sorry for the not accurate numbers.
i did not write that ;)

Post Reply