Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Yllet
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:00 pm

Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by Yllet » Mon May 03, 2010 1:43 pm

Hi.

I'm running windows 7 64bit with cubase 5 (32bits) and cant get nebula 3 (pro) to work. Am I doing something wrong, what files do i need to install. Step by step guide anyone?

Thanks!

/Jon

NealStarrett
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by NealStarrett » Mon May 03, 2010 2:11 pm

You need to be more specific as to the problem. In general, nebulatemprepository is created on the C drive by default. Inside this folder is another called acustica. Copy that to Cubases vst folder or have Cubase point to it with its vst path settings. Open Nebula in Cubase. This will create a ser file in the nebulatemprepository. You need to upload this here in your user area. You will recieve the licence. Download libraries from the user area or 3rd party ones and install. HTH

Neal

Yllet
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:00 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by Yllet » Mon May 03, 2010 2:24 pm

Ok, Nebula dosnt even show up in Cubase 5... I'm installing in nebula c:\program files (x86) folder...

I first installed Nebula 3 (there is no 64bit version?) and then Nebula 3 upgrade, then nebula 3 pro x64 and then nebula pro x64 upgrade...

Nebula now shows up in Wavelab 6.1 (but gives an error messagde that the x64 core dll couldnt be foudn or something. But i can still load the program within wavelab.

Nebula dosnt show up at all/wont load in Cubase 5.1

/Jon

NealStarrett
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by NealStarrett » Mon May 03, 2010 2:42 pm

It seems you are installing both 32 and 64 bit versions. This could be confusing things. I would uninstall everything then start again. Install the 32bit version. Then folow my directions in my first post. By default its installed to C:/nebulatemprepository (not into any program or x86 program folders). If you want to install the 64bit version, create a folder called nebulatemprepositoryx64 under the first one and instal it there. Thats what I did anyways. You can have Cubase point to any vst path in its settings. In Cubase its: Devices/plug-in information/vst2 plugin paths.

Neal

Yllet
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:00 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by Yllet » Mon May 03, 2010 2:53 pm

Ok... I installed the 32bit version only, and changed the name of the folder in the vstfolder, and it worked...

Strange :)

Is there any advantages of having the 64bit version when using cubase 5 (32) on win 7 64?

NealStarrett
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by NealStarrett » Mon May 03, 2010 3:54 pm

You need a 64 bit host to use NebulaX64 unless you use something like jBridge http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridge/
This does have its advantages.

Neal

Yllet
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:00 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by Yllet » Mon May 03, 2010 4:11 pm

Ok thanks!

Now i just need to sort out why cubase hangs when im using alexb auth file for mbc pro :/

All other libraries work

/Jon

Yllet
User Level VII
User Level VII
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:00 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by Yllet » Tue May 04, 2010 11:14 am

Just wanted to add that it works now. Installed pro, then the upgrade (not the 64bit version) and it works ok.

Thanks

unqlenol
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by unqlenol » Tue May 04, 2010 10:36 pm

NealStarrett wrote:You need a 64 bit host to use NebulaX64 unless you use something like jBridge http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridge/
This does have its advantages.

Neal
Hi all. I'm using Win7 x64, Cubase x86 and Neb Pro 32bit via jbridge. It's going quite well. So tell me please, is there an advantage to using Neb*64* via jbridge in 32bit host? I mean, it's not like I am going to need more then 4gb RAM for a single neb program/instance so is there something else I should know about? Perhaps a performance gain?

Thanks in advance.
Nolan

NealStarrett
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: Windows 7 - 64bits - Help

Post by NealStarrett » Wed May 05, 2010 4:25 am

I believe jBridge will let you use memory outside of the host. If all you are using is one instance of Nebula then I do not think it will make any difference unless you are also using alot of samples and that one instance may put you over the top. I think the better thing is to render tracks using Nebula. jBridge is a great tool though and also very cheap.
Neal

Post Reply