Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by scooter » Wed May 05, 2010 4:22 am

Thanks for the tips Grim!
-Scott

turbidnick
User Level 0
User Level 0
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by turbidnick » Wed May 05, 2010 9:37 pm

What do you guys do for drum samples, or amp sims? Bounce the track then insert nebula? Like for bass, Should i apply the the emulation to the di it self and then run it though an amp sim or bounce the track and then add nebula...same for drums.

RJHollins
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3375
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by RJHollins » Wed May 05, 2010 9:43 pm

I think the only real issue would be memory/CPU loading that would make you decide to go 'live' or work from a bounce.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]

User avatar
norburybrook
User Level V
User Level V
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by norburybrook » Thu May 06, 2010 10:13 am

SamC wrote:Yeah, I got it but with five busses, as someone above said, latency is intolerable at 1024!

Anyone have a solution or suggestion?

Thanks

but why is latency a problem when mixing? all DAW's have ADC/PDC now so I don't see what the problem is when mixing.

MC

Grim
Member
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by Grim » Thu May 06, 2010 12:15 pm

Response to controls still gets slower......unless you can insert a personal ADC somewhere between your hand & your ear :shock:

SamC
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by SamC » Fri May 07, 2010 3:41 pm

Grim wrote:1024 is your asio buffer?

What about the Nebula buffer :?: ......I think it's called dspbuffer in master page.
You can reduce this for less latency but more cpu hit.....If you're running Nebulareverb at default the latency is massive but for eq, consoles, tapes etc I drop it to 1024 & have read others get away with 512.

You can make a copy of Nebula with this setting saved so you don't need to set it every time.
Thanks Grim, I will try that reduction in Nebula.....and save it!

SamC
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by SamC » Sat May 08, 2010 9:17 pm

The dsp buffer in the master page is not adjustable.....I am not clear how to change Nebula's buffer size?

Thanks

User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1207
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by TranscendingMusic » Sat May 08, 2010 9:22 pm

SamC wrote:The dsp buffer in the master page is not adjustable.....I am not clear how to change Nebula's buffer size?

Thanks
Hey Sam, find your relative Nebula XML file in your vstplugins folder, open in "edit" mode and you will find the DSP buffer in there. Edit it, save, and that's it.
Bob
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Cubase 9.5 Pro x64 |
Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)

Grim
Member
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by Grim » Sun May 09, 2010 12:43 am

SamC wrote:The dsp buffer in the master page is not adjustable.....I am not clear how to change Nebula's buffer size?
Oops...sorry I forgot it needs doing in the XML :oops:

SamC
User Level III
User Level III
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: Can someone explain the proper use of a console

Post by SamC » Sun May 09, 2010 8:40 pm

Thanks everyone!

Post Reply